We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Avenidas
from $110.67
More Info
from $88.54
More Info
from $13.83
More Info
from $55.34
More Info
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
249
17
4
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
249
17
4
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half day tour pena palace teresa nature driver sintra pedro information tours portugal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 276 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Riu picked us up early and that was a clear sign of the amazing day ahead of us. Riu was extremely professional and spent as much time at each location as possible. Let me emphasize right now that this is a private tour and you are not with any other couples or individuals. Riu had a great itinerary set out for us and we received an email the day before allowing us to choose the locations we wanted. We visited the Pena Palace, Sintra City Center, Quinta da Regaleira, Park and Palace of Monserrate, Cabo da Roca, and Boca do Inferno. Note that Riu did not come with us at Regaleira, Monserrate or Cabo da Roca. Those stops were time for our own exploration. Additionally, most of the entrance tickets were included, but be sure to check with the company beforehand in case you want to book any non-included tickets online. One of the best stops was the City Center, where Riu helped us grab a sandwich, drink the local liquor (Ginja), grab a famous pastry and see how tiles were made and pained. Throughout the day, there was no time table, pressure or stress. Riu gave us as much time as we wanted at each location and stopped along the coast for additional pictures. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a full day of exploration. Riu was with us for nearly 10 hours and continued telling us about Lisbon on the return trip. My only complaint is that I was unable to visit the Moorish Castle, although, there was an amazing view of it from the Pena Palace. To summarize, professional tour company, great experience, recommended 100% for all!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank seanlO7784TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSalemaR, Owner at Avenidas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words. We're glad you liked the tour, even more so that you enjoyed Sintra and Rui's company as much as you did!
Hope to see you soon!
Here for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

What can I say, everything about this day trip was incredible!

Our guide (and driver), Cesar, was incredibly thoughtful and friendly. He walked us through each of the palaces and locations at our pace and we really felt that the tour was centered around the clients.

If it weren’t for Cesar, we never would have found the pastries aptly names the pillows of Sintra!

I will say that the skip-the-like tickets is completely a convenience option, especially if you’re a student. The majority of the places we visited were $8 entry per person. While we did go during winter (and noting that fares are most likely lower in winter than in summer), we loved the convenience of having our entry ticketed paid for.

If I were to change one thing, I wish that we had more control over the itinerary beforehand so we could allow more time for some places, less for other, etc. That way, the tour could really be private and feel much more intimate and personalized.

This is 120% recommended for anyone visiting Lisbon!

Thank benkahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSalemaR, Owner at Avenidas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words Benkahan. We're glad you liked the tour, even more so that you enjoyed Sintra and Cesar's company as much as you did!
Hope to see you soon! And if you want a completely personalized tour, just email us and we can make that for you!
Here for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

We made our tour with Tiago and had a great day! Sintra is amazing, so many beautiful places to visit and Tiago was extremely helpful and nice with us, felt just like family!

This tour is definitely a must if you are visiting Lisbon and the professionalism shown by this company was very high, I fully recommend them.

My only feedback is that they didn’t told me that they could buy the tickets in advance for us, it didn’t hinder us much as I bought them online on the way but this could be an issue if you are unprepared or don’t have cellular data/internet access. So make sure to ask them to buy tickets in advance for the places you really want to go.

Thank Brunobrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSalemaR, Owner at Avenidas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words Bruno. We're glad you liked the tour, even more so that you enjoyed Sintra and Tiago's company as much as you did!
Hope to see you soon!
Here for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

We booked an airport transfer in good faith direct from their website a day prior to travel, making sure to include our flight details and contact number. Received a confirmation e-mail from Avenidas for the booking, and payment was taken from the card used.

Upon arrival in Lisbon airport no driver was there. We waited around and checked multiple areas, but no sign. Called the office number from their confirmation email and nobody answered. A further follow-up e-mail has also not been replied to - over one week from the date.

We are now going through the hassle of a chargeback with the bank. A complete waste of time and terrible experience to say the least. Avoid.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank ideal-standard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSalemaR, Owner at Avenidas, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

Dear Ideal, it is unfortunate that you experienced problems with your booking with Avenidas. However, it seems very harsh that you taint our good name with a 1* rating, when you did not experience our business at all. We did not receive the booking from your end and responded to your e-mail inquiry as soon as was possible to clear the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

Our tour guide Terese went out of her way to customize our trip.
We booked this tour for our last day in Portugal. It was the perfect ending to a perfect trip.
I cannot say enough kind words about our guide Terese.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank 411lucindab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSalemaR, Owner at Avenidas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words. We're glad you liked our services and our amazing driver Teresa.
Hope to see you soon!
Here for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews