We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay at in Lisbon”
Review of The House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The House
Ranked #40 of 259 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2011

The House and Lisbonne: definitely love at first sight. Me and my husband stayed at The House 3 nights at the end of February and everything was just as we wished. The location couldn't be better, the building is situated in a nice and calm neighborhood. We can just hop on on one of the major and most well-known tram lines (28 & 25) and can get straight to the downtown. Other than that there is a nice garden and basilica just few minutes of walk from The House. The rooms are spacious, very clean, nicely decorated with great beds, so you sleep just like at home. Fransisco and the girls are more than helpful, always available if not in person than on the phone. From the rooftop terrace there is a breathtaking view on the city and you can see many of the greatest monuments. It is really great, especially when the weather is warm and the sun is shining. So staying at The House is a real experience that no hotel can provide. The next time I go to Lisbon, I will definitely book one of Fransisco's rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Szekelyany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 498 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2011

we stayed at the house, lisboa for a week in feb.
the place is very well located, clean, new, astonishing roof-view equipped, warm but above all, it is what the owner/manager francisco (and his colleague girl) is doing out of it that is amazing..
little chocolates on the bed on the arrival day, chitchat to understand what we'll expect during the stay, always available but discreet.
we had one little disagreement that was so small we kept it for ourselves for the stay; francisco was disappointed we didin't tell him. this man has plan for service, and make his customers happy, and no joke, he did it. he made my last stays in major hotels (for work) look service-dull.
on the breathtaking view from the terrace, a minibar is available, francisco only requires that you write what you take. he means trust, and it just feels good.

we felt good everytime we came back from the days out. i hope the expected success he ill definitely have will not alter his sense of service and his kindness.

we'll definitely go back and/or send f&f there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jerome_america
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

'The House' is the fourth floor of a town house situated in a nice residential area of Lisbon, a short ride to the centre of the city by tram, which stops a couple of minutes walk away.
The furnishings are contemporary, and the rooms and bedrooms spotlessly clean and comfortable. The partly enclosed terrace at the top has magnificent views over the river Tagus and Lisbon. One of the bedrooms, a floor lower, has its own small balcony with a similar view and is worth paying the extra for. Francisco, mine host, was most charming and helpful and anxious to make our stay in Lisbon memorable, with many suggestions.
A couple of pieces of advice for arriving – our taxi was unsure of the exact location. Have a Google map of the location available to show the driver before he sets off. There is no external signage when arriving and you have to look out for the building number. Entry is by loudspeaker bell push with the name beside the top button.
We stayed 4 nights and would stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quilvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed for two nights at The House in Lisbon. Francisco, the owner, was extremely helpful and explained us the way around Lisbon nicely. The rooms are spotless clean, very tastefully and stylish decorated. The same applies to lounge and breakfast room. The best part is the upstairs terrace with a stunning view (see picture) over Lisbon. Needless to say that The House has a small bar up there and one can enjoy the sunset with a glass of port wine. This is B&B at its best.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andre3368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

This was my third trip to Lisbon in the last year, but by far my favorite place to stay. Francisco and Joana were helpful and accomodating. Francisco took our last minute reservation and accomodated an early check-in. Joana was informative and helpful. Our room was comfortable, with an adjacent, but private bath. The views from the deck are breathtaking, the hotel was redecorated recently and is tastefully elegant. We saw the best Fado on this trip at Sr. Vinho which was a five minute walk from The House.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed at The House for four nights and would go back in a second. Francisco and Joana were amazingly helpful and generous throughout the entire experience. From making my travel plans to arriving in Lisbon to enjoying my stay, I couldn't have asked for better hosts. They even provided a very welcomed (and substantial) breakfast when I arrived at 9:00 am! The House is right at the Basílica da Estrela, a block and a half from two trams (including Tram 28) and multiple buses, and a five minute walk from the Rato subway station. And the terrace is a gem! One night, I sat upstairs in the enclosed area and watched night fall over Lisbon. It was bliss!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My stay at TheHOUSE in late November was just wonderful! The location is fantastic - walking distance of Bairro Alto and Baixa and the staff made superb recommendations - that made me feel like a local and not a tourist just following the ordinary tourist trail. The rooftop terrace is AMAZING - had drinks there every night enjoying the view over Lisbon. The city is great, but the reason I'll keep coming back to this city is TheHOUSE - it is like a home away from home! Thank You!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salandsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Lapa
Lapa 82 - Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#15 of 259 in Lisbon
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#36 of 259 in Lisbon
613 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House

Address: Travessa do Pinheiro 11 4th Floor, Lisbon 1200-763, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $66 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In what used to be a big family's home in the best neighbourhood in Lisbon, The HOUSE is a "boutique B&B" that offers its guests a sophisticated but relaxed ambiance inside, and a terrace with a breathtakingly beautiful view over Lisboa. Come, you will feel at home in The HOUSE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing