We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Had A Lovely Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The House
Ranked #36 of 231 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“We Had A Lovely Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. We thought everything was lovely--the breakfast was above average, the receptionists (when available) were friendly (Pedro was great), and they were always helpful with suggestions. The rooms are clean, although small.

I actually really liked being away from the center of town--it's not very far from the hustle and bustle, and in actuality, it's right at the beginning of the most famous trolley next to the Basilica, so you can always get a seat. The view from the terrace is unbeatable.

I did not love the smell of the pipes.

As an additional feature, it is very close to a wonderful restaurant that was featured in the New York Times a couple of years ago, La Tasca de Esquina. The food there is wonderful, and we got to walk there from the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmherstBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcpcc1, Manager at The House, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Amherst Sparrow,


Thank you so much for your lovely review.

I am sorry that not everything was perfect. That is what we aim to offer our guests and we are always disapointed when it doesn't happen that way.


I am however glad to inform that we are finally going to be able to have some proper work done in the bathroom. We have had apparently random problems concerning smell in the bathroom of the room you stayed in. The reason why we haven’t been able to address it properly before (even though we tried a number of suggestions from different professionals that either seem to work for some time or at least minimize the problem) is that I don’t own TheHOUSE; I only rent it to my family. Therefore for us to undertake major work inside walls is impossible until we get permission from the landlord. We finally have that so, the next time you come, everything will be fine. Perhaps we will deserve a five star review then. In the meanwhile, please accept my apologies.



Best regards,


Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    57
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
76
248
44
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Trip Advisor recommendations are usually pretty much on target but how this place ever was ranked so high is beyond us. This was our worst experience in Portugal. While they were informative and prompt when we made the reservation, it took them two days to answer an email when we were in Portugal – and it went downhill quickly from there.

We were told in advance that the check-in folks would be out between 1 and 3 p.m. We got there before 3 and no one showed up until about 3:20. Fortunately, the housekeeper let us in so we weren’t standing on the street. The staff, when they were there, were quite nice and friendly, but not all that knowledgeable about local sights and events. After about 8 p.m. there was no staff available so you were on your own if there was a problem.

The rooms used an old fashioned lock and sometimes it took us about 5 minutes to get into the room and lock the door from the inside. When the toilet didn’t flush, a staff person came in, pushed the top of the toilet to get it working again, and admitted it was a regular problem. There was also a sign near the toilet that said some of the toilets may have a bad smell because of old pipes. That wasn’t a problem in our room, however.

The rug in the room was dirty, new towels weren’t put in each day unless requested, the breakfasts were nothing to write home about (no hot food and they even cut the croissants in half so they would go further), the shower curtain was dirty, the soap dispenser was rusty, and the dried flowers in the bathroom were dirty.

On the positive side, the views from both the room and the terrace were outstanding and the location, while not close to downtown, was convenient as the #28 tram was close by and that takes you to about everyplace you’d want to go.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigflak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcpcc1, Gerente at The House, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
5/11/2013

Dear BigFlask,


We have just received your review.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at TheHOUSE and am currently looking into all the details of your review. I have sent you a message in order to fully understand everything, and wait for your reply in order to be able to answer your comments in full knowledge.

Thank you in advance,
Francisco



13/11/2013

Dear Bigflak,



It has now been more than a week since your review was posted on tripadvisor and our own website. The moment we got it, I immediately wrote to you asking for more information so we could understand what the problems were and make sure that next time they wouldn’t happen. Even though it is obviously a very damaging review (on account of it we have just dropped on the rankings), I opted to wait for your response so that we could give, both you and the trip advisor community, the best possible answer. You haven’t replied back and I think it is a shame that somebody is so quick to give very negative public feedback on a business without doing it privately first it is, at the same, unwilling to help us.

In any case, the room is supposed to be impeccable when the guests arrive and, because it was not the case, please accept my apologies. If I had been told about it when you arrived, we would obviously have changed it on the spot and we would both be better off. Sometimes things are not the way they should but it is impossible to change it without knowing about it.



TheHOUSE is not a hotel, it does not offer some of the services a regular hotel does. This includes magnetic cards for the doors, 24hr service (although we always have somebody less than 10 minutes away for any emergency, obviously), safes in the rooms… If you want fresh towels everyday please ask for it and, if all this doesn’t suit you, please go and stay at a place that does. It will be better for you and it will be better for us. This applies also to everybody that would rather complain anonymously afterwards on the internet instead of informing us and have whatever problems solved in timely fashion.

What it is and what we offer has been properly described by hundreds of reviews from all over the world so I won’t go into that. I just need to clarify that, when we can’t have the smaller fresh croissants and have to serve the bigger ones (problems of working always with daily products), we do chop them in half. It was actually a guest that suggested it to me when he noticed that many people didn’t finish them and they were going to waste. I liked the idea and am keeping it but, just to be completely clear about it, you can take both halfs of any croissant and more.



Best regards,

Francisco Cansado Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I stay in B n B when I travel. This is top notch. I booked the "Playroom" and was told it was one of the smaller rooms. I am travelling solo, but it is good for two people. I can't imagine how big the other rooms are! The rooms is clean and the views from this room are amazing! The terrace is what sold me when O booked here and it is everything the pictures show. Great location. Peaceful! The hospitality is perfect! Great place "The House!"

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soloprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I stay in B n B when I travel. This is top notch. I booked the "Playroom" and was told it was one of the smaller rooms. I am travelling solo, but it is good for two people. I can't imagine how big the other rooms are! The rooms is clean and the views from this room are amazing! The terrace is what sold me when O booked here and it is everything the pictures show. Great location. Peaceful! The hospitality is perfect! Great place "The House!"

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soloprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were a group of friends and rented the whole place for us.
The place is great. Feeling like living in a cool nice private apartment.

Fantastic terrace and view : nice place to chill out after a long and busy day in Lisbon.

Location is great : 15 mns walking to Bairro alto.

And the breakfast is great (better than a lot of hotels).

The staff is very nice and welcoming and tries hard to resolve eventual problems (we had invoicing problems thats have been well resolved by staff).

Definitely a good spot in lisbon for a fair price.
AF

Room Tip: Master room is nice, big and have a private terrace with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Approaching the address a little apprehensively, along a street in a part of Lisbon that feels very much off the beaten track, you probably are getting even more concerned when you go up in the lift to the top of the building. But as soon as the lift doors open you realise you've made the right decision. You'll be welcomed (in perfect English if you need it) by someone friendly, your room will be more than adequate (some are bigger than others), but most of all when you go up to the rooftop you'll see why this has got to be one of the best places in Lisbon to stay in. The charming and knowledgeable owner Francisco, if you catch him, will also persuade you. Go go go!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MattELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

“I left my heart in San Francisco”, sang Tony Bennett.
Lisbon , too, has its trams rattling up and down hills, traffic racing across the 25th April Bridge- which reminds me and many a traveller ,of the Golden Gate.
A good part of my heart has been left in Lisbon and it’s wonderful to go back to The House that had welcomed me on my first Lisbon trip in 2011.
Set on the Estrela hill, just behind the attractive Estrela Basilica, The House, an authentic ex -family apartment, opens its doors to its guests with a smile.
My short stay was in the room I chose and I’m pleased to see the standards appreciated by so many guests are still high. Snowy white bed-linen, fluffy towels, a lovely hot shower .
I lapped up the wonderful feeling of freedom of movement The House offers- comfortable sofas, an attractive conservatory on the top terrace floor, which can be enjoyed day and night in good and bad weather.
I also made a happy choice in going on an excursion to Sintra with two other guests . The drive out of the city, through the more recent high-rise residential areas, was interesting, as our host, Francisco, outlined the reasons behind the development schemes.
Sintra itself, so rich in beauty spots, was seen under a different light, as Francisco helped us to appreciate not only the famous landmarks, but the entire area, giving us tidbits of information on the beautiful villas and their past and present owners.
Our drive back to Lisbon took us through the hills, thick forests and up to a lookout over the Atlantic- magical. A short stop to admire the Guincho beach and then back into town via Cascais.
The House offers its guests not only good quality accommodation but also special opportunities such as an excursion with people who are more than tour guides: their hearts beat in Lisbon , for Lisbon and for Portugal

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Vila Garden Guesthouse
#22 of 231 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#8 of 231 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lapa
Lapa 82 - Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 231 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House

Property: The House
Address: Travessa do Pinheiro 11 4th Floor, Lisbon 1200-763, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In what used to be a big family's home in the best neighbourhood in Lisbon, The HOUSE is a "boutique B&B" that offers its guests a sophisticated but relaxed ambiance inside, and a terrace with a breathtakingly beautiful view over Lisboa. Come, you will feel at home in The HOUSE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing