We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The House
Nearby Hotels
$142
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santa Justa(Lisbon)
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$252
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$173
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$283
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel(Lisbon)
$186
$142
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$299
$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveler rating
422
64
10
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
64
10
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracemaster bedroomhonesty baryogurtbed breakfasta lovely place to staytram stopwonderful citypublic transportquiet areafranciscobasilicaestrellaportugalneighborhoodstylishtaxis
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 505 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I stay in B n B when I travel. This is top notch. I booked the "Playroom" and was told it was one of the smaller rooms. I am travelling solo, but it is good for two people. I can't imagine how big the other rooms are! The rooms is clean and the views from this room are amazing! The terrace is what sold me when O booked here and it is everything the pictures show. Great location. Peaceful! The hospitality is perfect! Great place "The House!"

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soloprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were a group of friends and rented the whole place for us.
The place is great. Feeling like living in a cool nice private apartment.

Fantastic terrace and view : nice place to chill out after a long and busy day in Lisbon.

Location is great : 15 mns walking to Bairro alto.

And the breakfast is great (better than a lot of hotels).

The staff is very nice and welcoming and tries hard to resolve eventual problems (we had invoicing problems thats have been well resolved by staff).

Definitely a good spot in lisbon for a fair price.
AF

Room Tip: Master room is nice, big and have a private terrace with a nice view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Approaching the address a little apprehensively, along a street in a part of Lisbon that feels very much off the beaten track, you probably are getting even more concerned when you go up in the lift to the top of the building. But as soon as the lift doors open you realise you've made the right decision. You'll be welcomed (in perfect English if you need it) by someone friendly, your room will be more than adequate (some are bigger than others), but most of all when you go up to the rooftop you'll see why this has got to be one of the best places in Lisbon to stay in. The charming and knowledgeable owner Francisco, if you catch him, will also persuade you. Go go go!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MattELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

“I left my heart in San Francisco”, sang Tony Bennett.
Lisbon , too, has its trams rattling up and down hills, traffic racing across the 25th April Bridge- which reminds me and many a traveller ,of the Golden Gate.
A good part of my heart has been left in Lisbon and it’s wonderful to go back to The House that had welcomed me on my first Lisbon trip in 2011.
Set on the Estrela hill, just behind the attractive Estrela Basilica, The House, an authentic ex -family apartment, opens its doors to its guests with a smile.
My short stay was in the room I chose and I’m pleased to see the standards appreciated by so many guests are still high. Snowy white bed-linen, fluffy towels, a lovely hot shower .
I lapped up the wonderful feeling of freedom of movement The House offers- comfortable sofas, an attractive conservatory on the top terrace floor, which can be enjoyed day and night in good and bad weather.
I also made a happy choice in going on an excursion to Sintra with two other guests . The drive out of the city, through the more recent high-rise residential areas, was interesting, as our host, Francisco, outlined the reasons behind the development schemes.
Sintra itself, so rich in beauty spots, was seen under a different light, as Francisco helped us to appreciate not only the famous landmarks, but the entire area, giving us tidbits of information on the beautiful villas and their past and present owners.
Our drive back to Lisbon took us through the hills, thick forests and up to a lookout over the Atlantic- magical. A short stop to admire the Guincho beach and then back into town via Cascais.
The House offers its guests not only good quality accommodation but also special opportunities such as an excursion with people who are more than tour guides: their hearts beat in Lisbon , for Lisbon and for Portugal

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The HOUSE is very centrally located; you can walk to the city centre easily from there. If you don’t feel like a walk however, there are nearby trams and buses. From the outside you wouldn’t expect an atmospheric and trendy B&B, but when you enter the HOUSE you know all will be good. It's obvious that a lot of thought has been put into the decor and spaces in the HOUSE. The rooms are clean and have good air conditioning. Francisco, Rita and Catharina were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Both the communication beforehand (by phone and email) as well as the contact on arrival was excellent. They provided us with all sorts of local insider tips. The breakfast was yummy and plentiful and they made our stay comfortable and relaxing. The highlight has to be the roof terrace. The views are so fantastic that it almost feels like you could explore the city from up there, rather than venturing out. Breathtaking. Refreshments are also on offer, which you record on a list which then gets added to your bill at the end. The rooms and service at the HOUSE can be compared to those in a 4* hotel, but on a smaller scale and with genuine personal contact. We felt at home immediately!

Tjalda, Ingrid and Relinde - The Netherlands

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relinde R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews