We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B with view”
Review of The House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The House
Ranked #40 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our one night stay was too short and at the end of our trip to Portugal. Needed to leave early for the airport and the young woman at reception offered to make us a breakfast on a tray. We ate this on our balcony overlooking the river and castle. The rooms have names, and ours was called the 'Dressing Room.' Ask for it.
Great neighbourhood with lovely park. No need to leave really, unless you are driven to sight see.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 501 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

The House is a great stay if you plan a city trip.
We booked the playroom who was a bit small, but a room with a perfect view over Lissabon.
For a city trip you need just 3 things... a bed to sleep, a good location for starting different trips and a good service in your Hotel that you get a lot of important informations for your trips or for restaurants and so on. The House has all of it. Located close to the Basilica Estrela (which is absolutely worth a visit! especially the terrace of the church) you can start easily to every destination you want.
Katarina and Francesco were so friendly and gave every guest the feeling of being home.
Great breakfast as well.
We have nothing to declare and can absolutely recommand this Bed & Breakfast.
Hope we are coming back one day :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny_von_Block
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife, daughter (adult) and I stayed at The house for three nights in May 2013. Our room was quite large with a balcony and some nice paintings, the bathroom was separate from the room but used by us only. The breakfast was simple but adequate, the highlight being the fresh orange juice. Everything was clean and the staff were great particularly Catarina who was very helpful when I had trouble printing my boarding passes. The location is quite good, not all that central to the main shopping area but this is easily reached by tram, it's also walkable. There is a number of good restaurants within walking distance and the terrace at the top is a great place to relax and enjoy a glass of wine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen_Whitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A wonderfully warm welcome, extremely friendly and helpful staff, a comfortable room and a good breakfast.

The view from the terrace is incredible and they have an honesty bar so the service never stops.

Would stay there again in a heartbeart and in fact we almost certainly will.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable spacious accomodations and reasonably priced. We had the Master Bedroom and the private bath is down the hall. The bath robes and slippers were appreciated. They helped us with dinner and taxi reservations, and gave us helpful advice in getting around-nothing was a problem for them! One of the staff even called the sightseeing tour bus to see if it stopped at the cathedral nearby! And for the icing on the cake, they surprised us with a bottle of wine for my birthday. Although this property is not in the historic centre, the view is spectacular; do not hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RingetteBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights at The House and we must say that the views really are the reason why this is rated high in Tripadvisor. We stayed in the Dressing Room and we had our own balcony with views over the Tagar and the surrounding city of Lisbon. Absolutely beautiful! The rooftop Terrace is the main feature of this property. Scattered tables and chairs should you wish to sit and have coffee or an evening aperitif and enjoy the wonderful view. Or you can sit inside the conservatory on cooler evenings and still enjoy the view! There is a well stocked bar with an Honesty system where you just write your name and what you have taken. My only gripe is the charge of 1.50 Euro for a tea bag - thought that was a bit over the top as with all our travelling and staying in Hotels/B&B's/Guesthouses around the world, we have never ever been charged for a cup of tea! Just thought I would mention that as if you are a big tea drinker (like me) it would be worth bringing your own tea bags ;) Francisco was very nice snd Rita was very helpful as we had problems with our Apple Charger and had to get a new one. So she kindly charged our phones and IPad for us. The rest of the staff probably need to smile a bit more ;) Breakfast is basic and continental but quite adequate, however, more choice of fruit would of been nice. They will cook you bacon and eggs if you ask them to. This is not written anywhere - so just ask and they will do it for you. Its location is in the quieter area of the city - however very close to the infamous 28 Tram and lots of restaurants close by. As mentioned - it's the view that makes this Guesthouse - without that I would of rated it a 4.

Room Tip: Book the Dressing Room for the view and the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussies10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had four days in Lisbon to celebrate a family birthday and were very happy to stay at the House! We had the Grandfather Suite and the Television Room and that worked well for us. Very friendly service, geat breakfast and nice and clean. We would like to come back one day, and would recommend The House to our friends.
The Fougner Family

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#10 of 262 in Lisbon
724 reviews
Lapa
Lapa 82 - Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#38 of 262 in Lisbon
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House

Address: Travessa do Pinheiro 11 4th Floor, Lisbon 1200-763, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $59 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In what used to be a big family's home in the best neighbourhood in Lisbon, The HOUSE is a "boutique B&B" that offers its guests a sophisticated but relaxed ambiance inside, and a terrace with a breathtakingly beautiful view over Lisboa. Come, you will feel at home in The HOUSE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing