We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best B and B I have stayed in”
Review of The House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The House
Ranked #40 of 246 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best B and B I have stayed in”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My son stayed here some months ago and raved about it so I thought I would go and try it out.
It was terrific! Tremendous personal service from the landlord and his staff. They made a point of asking how could they help us. Advised us on where to eat, what things to see etc.
We stayed in the master bedroom and had our own private terrace with a view over the roofs of the town. The main terrace was wonderful - an outdoor area with good terrace furniture and an indoor area, fully glazed with sofas etc. drinks were available on an 'honesty basis'.

The breakfast was excellent and if I wanted bacon and eggs they were provided. the landlord made a point of sitting with the guests at breakfast so as to get to know the wills and wants of the customers.

Could not rate it highly enough. Will return.

Room Tip: could not fault the master bedroom,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samuelmcmeekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    60
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
78
252
45
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in this B&B for 4 nights and couldn't have chosen better. The place was of great value. We loved the design of the whole place. Especially that great fireplace in the living room and the old pieces of furniture around the house. Very stylish indeed! The breakfast was kept simple, but good. If you are after hot breakfast, you can ask for scrambled eggs and bacon.

The roof terrace was the icing on the cake. You couldn't ask for a better place to relax after a busy day exploring what Lisbon has to offer. You could help yourself from drinks they stored there and just had to your name down on a list with what you consumed. I really appreciate when owners trust me like that.

I also would like to mention the attention we received from Pilar, Francisco and Miguel. Thank you again for making our stay so good.

Note on my rating: I rated sleep quality as 'very good' instead of 'excellent' only because it was a little noisy during the nights, but you are in a city after all, so you need to be prepared. Rooms are also rated 'very good' instead of 'excellent', because of the slight smell issue from the bathrooms. It didn't particularly bother us, because we didn't spend that much time in our room, but some people might be more bothered. It's really unfortunate that nothing can be done about it (I think the note on this from the owners was very attentive!!), because otherwise this place would be 100% excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dublinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were very fortunate to find "The House" on the internet, and were certainly glad we did, as it was more than perfect , in every way. Francisco and his brother, Miguel ( we did not meet Pilar) were very hospitable, and helpfull, in every possible way. It was as though we had known them both for many years.
We spent four nights there in August, 2012. The location was perfect, and close to all modes of transportation. There is a little "corner" store about a one minute walk from the front entrance, where you can purchase snacks, drinks, etc., as well as a "convenience" store about the same distance in the opposite direction.
Our room, "The Dressing Room", was great, very clean, with all the amenities required, a very comfortable bed, and it had a wonderfull balcony, with a great view of the river and the city.
The breakfast included bacon and eggs, which is unusual for a European B&B, we thought, as well as the usual continental breakfast items, and you did not need to worry about the food running out !
The roof top terrace was also a big plus, with it's "on your honour" bar, that included beer, wine, and liquors. The view from it was fantastic, especially at night, with the lights of the city.
We did day trips to Sintra, Cascais, and Belem, using public transportation, with no problems whatsoever.
As we are avid walkers, the location of The House enabled us to see many interesting local sights, such as the Estrella Bascila, the park across from the Bascilla, and The English Cemetery.
Francisco recommended several good restaurants within walking distance, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The meal and drink ( wine especially ) costs were very reasonable, especially Labrador, a family style Portugese restaurant.
We certainly would recommend The House Boutique B&B to anyone thinking of visiting Lisbon, and it definitely will be our choice of accomodation, if we are to make a return visit, in the future, which we hope to do.
Thank you very much, Francisco, from your Canadian friends, Bonnie & Don !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal;
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The staff made our stay unforgettable. Pilar and Francisco are very friendly, and they give some very good recommendations, for both restaurants and places to see. They gave us a super warm welcome in their gorgeous B&B. What a nice touch to provide drinks on the awesome terrasse, with an amazing view! The B&B is very well located, right next to the Basilica, making it easy to reach publilc transit and return by Taxi if desired. The breakfast were very good and the internet connection worked without a glitch. We loved Lisbon, and 3 nights were a bit short for us to see all the interesting stuff. For sure, we'll book again at The house when we come back to beautiful Lisboa.

Room Tip: The "TV room" can be a bit noisy in the morning if you leave the patio door open at breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucPMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We felt at home in the House. The staff is friendly, they will give you useful tips, they make sure you will have everything you need for. Our room (master bedroom) was very spacious and even had a huge balcony. The bathroom (private) was outside, so if this is something that would bother you, book another room. The breakfast room is also a place to relax and watch some tv. But ofcourse, what makes this place unique is the big roof terrace. Just sit, relax, have some wine and have a chat or a siesta. The beds were also very comfy. The House is located in Estrella, just 2 minutes from tram 28 or 5 euros with the taxi to downtown Lisbon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is the place to stay in Lisboa! Pilar, Francisco, and Miguel were very helpful on things to do and places to eat, and very accomadating when my flight came in late on the day I was to arrive. My room was so comfortable and my view of the city out my window was just beautiful! I would come back again and stay longer! Great place to stay if you are a solo traveler!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NME60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The House is a fantastic place. The staff is very friendly and helpful, which already starts before you arrive as they provide you with very useful information on whatever topic you are looking for. They take the time for you, and make you feel comfortable, and provide you with very useful tips on what to do once you're there. Not the usual touristy stuff, but the "nice" things - like really great places to eat, as the locals would do. Last but not least, the rooftop terrace is the most amazing feature of the hotel - you overlook the whole city while enjoying a cool glass of whine from their fridge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#9 of 246 in Lisbon
679 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Lapa
Lapa 82 - Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#12 of 246 in Lisbon
610 reviews
Vila Garden Guesthouse
#26 of 246 in Lisbon
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House

Property: The House
Address: Travessa do Pinheiro 11 4th Floor, Lisbon 1200-763, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In what used to be a big family's home in the best neighbourhood in Lisbon, The HOUSE is a "boutique B&B" that offers its guests a sophisticated but relaxed ambiance inside, and a terrace with a breathtakingly beautiful view over Lisboa. Come, you will feel at home in The HOUSE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing