We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star service and view”
Review of The House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The House
Ranked #39 of 238 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Five star service and view”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We returned today from four fun filled days in Lisbon, with many magical memories resulting from our stay at The House. Previous reviews have already captured the essence of the place, with the tranquility and view from the rooftop terrace the pinnacle of The House's success. There are two other reasons however why this B&B warrants five stars, the owner and staff. Francesco, as owner, prides himself in making The House a 'home away from home' for his guests. He genuinely wants all his guests to enjoy his family home and we certainly did. We also loved our 'change the world' conversations over breakfast and Francesco has ensured we are a lot more knowledgeable about the people and places of Portugal than when we arrived. Pilar, Francesco's assistant, exemplifies further the effort all the staff at The House put in to ensure only good memories. Pilar, booked our restaurants and taxis and more impressively asked for feedback on how they could improve further on the service. With such commitment to continuous improvement this is one house that will only improve with age. Despite, one or two tiny imperfections in the rooms (each of which were quickly forgotten) this is a house that makes you feel a part of its fabric. THANK YOU

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andricScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcpcc1, Owner at The House, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear AndricScotland,

Thank you very much for such a splendid review. It means a lot to me, especially as August was, for logistic and staff related reasons, a very difficult month here. I am very happy that (almost) everything went unnoticed, even if in fact I consider that everything was not according to our usual standards. That you entitle your review like you did under these conditions means a lot to me!

I too enjoyed our little chats, I hope we get the chance to change the world again in the future. As long as I don't go into politics :)

Thank you,

Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    57
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
77
250
44
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My sister and I stayed at The House for 10 days in August and we had a brilliant time! Pilar, Francisco and Miguel were very welcoming and helpful and always went an extra mile to make our holiday easier by suggesting places to visit and eat, giving detailed information on local transport and chatting at the end of a sightseeing day to know how things went. You don't need to take a guide book to Lisbon if you stay at The House as you wouldn't have more updated information on the city than the one you can get from their staff. We stayed at the Girls Room, very clean (as the whole hotel is), quiet and comfortable, with an ensuit bathroom. Breakfast was excellent with fresh bread, cakes, fruit, juice and great coffee! The House has the perfect location: away enough from the busy centre for a good night sleep but close enough to reach the places you want to see, especially by taking the 28 tram. The icing on the cake is the roof terrace: the city views with the river in the background are breath taking! But you would have to try this for yourself... I can't wait to go back with my husband.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaUK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcpcc1, Owner at The House, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Google Translation
Cara Carla,

Muito obrigado pela sua review tão simpática e generosa!
Todos aqui tiveram um gosto especial em ter você e a sua irmã connosco todos esses dias, eu especialmente.

Ficamos à espera que volte com o seu marido então, mas se quiser trazer os seus filhos eles também serão muito bem-vindos!

um abraço amigo,

Francisco

PS - A Pilar e o Miguel enviam um abraço para ambas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at the house for 3 nights and it was way too short. It should really be renamed "The Home" as you really feel the warmth and comfort as soon as you arrive. We stayed in the playroom which was modern and had great views over towards Alfama and the water. All the previous reviews rave about the rooftop common area and terrace and for good reason too. It provides amazing sweeping 360 degree views that would rival any Miradouros in Lisboa. The honesty fridge stocked with any beverage you need is a nice touch. You get free wifi and breakfast included. The location is perfect as you are in a quiet street close to Estrela Basilica, yet close to the famous tram no. 28. But the stars of the show are the people here. Wonderful Pilar made us feel right at home and Miguel provided good local tips that were spot on. Make sure you eat at the traditional portugese restaurant just around the corner called Churrasqueira O Lavrador. Can't wait to come back to the house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoda33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was, without a doubt, the nicest place I have ever stayed in throughout my travels in Europe. The House felt less like lodging and more like a home. Everyone was wonderfully friendly and helpful, the room was clean and spacious, and the rooftop terrace was AMAZING! A perfect place to unwind after a day filled with climbing up Lisbon's many hills. Do yourself a favor and stay at The House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcpcc1, Owner at The House, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Cara,

Thank you very much for your review. Being considered the best place someone ever stayed in Europe is an amazing compliment!
We all hope you do find the time to come back one day.

All the best,

Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

TheHOUSE is a perfect place when staying a couple of days in Lisbon. The personnel is very friendly and very eager to make sure you get anything you need (to know) in Lisbon. The rooms and common areas are tastefully decorated and you're free to use whatever you like. The common living room en roof terrace overlooking the city really adds to the enjoyment of our stay. Good breakfast.
This place is highly recommended, very centrally located, very close to tram 28 and all kinds of restaurants (Rua de Esperanca has a couple of good places), free wifi and free parking.

Room Tip: The ´Television Room´ has a nice terrace, but is not recommended when you are a late sleeper, consid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnkwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcpcc1, Owner at The House, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Jnkwn,

Thank you for your review. It is always nice to have such positive comments on TheHOUSE.

I am sorry that perhaps you didn't sleep as well or as late as you might have been hoping for. Next time please let us know while here, it would have been easily fixed: you see, the TV room is part of the Grandfather's suíte so, had I known you were having this problem (in fact if you sleep with the window and/or shades open you will overhear other guests having breakfast), I would have changed you straight away to the other side and can guarantee that you would have slept later. It is actually ironical this situation: guests always praise the beds and not having hours for breakfast as something that adds to their sleep quality.

For prospective guests: if you come and something, anything, is not to your liking, please let us know straight away. The worst possible outcome is that nothing can be done; chances are we will be able to fix it.

Best regards,

Francisco and TheHOUSE's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here mid May. Was one of the best holidays I have been on. The staff were all fantastic, recommending brilliant restaurants and even booking us tables. Showing us routes on the map and always being there to offer any kind of help.
The House itself was lovely (walls are a little thin but thankfully the loved up couple upstairs left after our firtst night!)
Perfect breakfast, excellent location, very good price (we had the grandfathers study special)
Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We swapped rooms during the stay and both the Grandfathers study and the Playroom were both excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Wonderful stay, Francisco, Pilar, all the staff is kind and they help you to feel like at home; but this is an home (or a House...) in a great location too, listen their suggestions, for everything, and to eat in nice places, not for tourist. The House is clean, the breakfast is very good, and last, but not least...the terrace is stunning!!! I hope to see you soon again!
Valerio

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cigno_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fcpcc1, Owner at The House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Cigno_82,

I was very sorry to not say goodbye in person in the end.
I'm very glad you really liked staying at TheHOUSE, thank so much for your review.

See you back one day,

Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#8 of 238 in Lisbon
674 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vila Garden Guesthouse
#26 of 238 in Lisbon
93 reviews
Lapa
Lapa 82 - Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House

Property: The House
Address: Travessa do Pinheiro 11 4th Floor, Lisbon 1200-763, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In what used to be a big family's home in the best neighbourhood in Lisbon, The HOUSE is a "boutique B&B" that offers its guests a sophisticated but relaxed ambiance inside, and a terrace with a breathtakingly beautiful view over Lisboa. Come, you will feel at home in The HOUSE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing