We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don´t stay anywhere else!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Lisbon Hostel
Ranked #142 of 248 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don´t stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

If I could go back and re-rate hostels that I have given 100s to in the past, I would, because they don´t deserve a 100 after staying at this place. The staff was INCREDIBLE (helped me book future trains, etc) and the actual hostel was like a nice hotel. You couldn´t get at a better location. LITERALLY overlooking the center. No questions, don´t stay anywhere else in Lisbon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaChick08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santander, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We were a group of 4 friends, we stayed there during Easter holiday and we found it great. The staff is very nice and helpful, the place is very cosy, nice decoration and well organized. We shared a 12 mixed dorm, the beds are very comfortable, with lockers just below them. Bathrooms are clean, various available (separate showers for men and women, toilets and toilet+shower). The kitchen was great, including all facilities. You can enjoy a great view from the breakfast room and the living room. Breakfast was basic (coffee, tea, butter, marmelade, cheese), but good, especially the bread. Free access to internet 24h, 2 computers available. The location of the hostel is also very good: next to the tram station, metro and just at the beginning of the area with bars and night life. After the night spent at this hostel, we went to 2 other hostels that had nothing to do with this one in price/quality, cleaness, location. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to any young traveller.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonimo085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2011

I really could not fault this hostel! We stayed for five nights and the staff made us feel welcome and could not do enough for us. We had the whole hostel to ourselves and so were able to use the hostel as our "home" for those five days. We were able to use the good cooking facilities and relax in the spacious lounge. We were central to everything we wanted to do in Lisbon and only a ten minute walk to the train for travelling out of Lisbon. If there was one criticism there are not enough toilets when the hostel is full, however the advantages far supassed the disadvantages and the hostel was spotlessly clean. A real find!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cullisjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

One of the best deals i had in months of hostels was this one. A desginer hostel which is at first a bit hard to find....but when you get there it is more like a hotel. That had the drawback that it felt a bit too formal for my taste, but the quality of the bed, breakfast, free wifi and lockers makes it all up.

There is but one negative point to make. Since this hostel is located on a lively square it does get noisy because people outside party on.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WouterBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Royal Lisbon, a smart hostel because its really well located - in the entrance of the bar s area. Another point is that the rooms are nicely organized, with the possibility to stock your bag in a locker just under the bed! Also, you have the possibility to meet nice people in the rooms and at the entrance of the hostel!!
So, dont hesitate one second, come in Royal Lisbon!

Sebastião de Belgica

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastiao_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#149 of 248 in Lisbon
535 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Happy@Chiado
Happy@Chiado
#103 of 248 in Lisbon
61 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#15 of 458 in Lisbon
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Surf in Chiado
Surf in Chiado
#113 of 458 in Lisbon
12 reviews
PH in Chiado
#212 of 702 in Lisbon District
66 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Passport Lisbon Hostel
Passport Lisbon Hostel
#117 of 458 in Lisbon
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lisbon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lisbon Hostel

Property: Royal Lisbon Hostel
Address: Praca Luis de Camoes nr 22 30 D, Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre , Encarnação
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 248 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our kitchen is a serious affair, designed for people that like to cook, so the food at Royal Lisbon is a good match for the dozens of restaurants in nearby Bairro Alto or Bica. At Royal Lisbon you will feel at home. The beds are comfortable and include a spacious locker to fit all your belongings. The sitting lounge has a grand view over the busiest "plaza" in Lisbon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing