We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boozy afternoon”

Wine Bar do Castelo
Ranked #46 of 4,140 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $56
Cuisines: Portuguese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Description: Winebar and Wine Shop, more than 150 Portuguese wines by glass, excellent collection of old wines, XIX and XX century Ports and Madeira wines. Great selection of Portuguese cheeses and fine charcuterie. Opens daily 13h-22h. Cosy and casual atmosphere. Located near the main entrance of the Lisbon Castle of Sao Jorge.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Boozy afternoon”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We popped in for a tapas lunch, having found them on Facebook, but 3 hours later when we are on the 20 euros a glass port we are still here. Cannot fault the hospitality or the knowledge, or the passion for the wine. The tapas was fantastic too.

Helpful?
3 Thank 613DawnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    888
    211
    45
    21
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a lunchtime”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We booked online a few days before and on the day got the bus from the centre of lisbon to the Castillo. We went to the bar, introduced ourselves and within minutes we were laughing with the sommelier and enjoying great wines and great hospitality. Two hours flew by and we were privileged to try a 1955 port, on the house, and then to hold a bottle of port dated 1798, still unopened. Food and wine all excellent. One of the best things to do in Lisbon!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank jwctravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I'm normally wary of places that are really close to big tourist attractions but this place was a lovely surprise. It's very close to Castle S Jorge and is perfect for a little afternoon break following a wander around the castle.

We found this place by accident but was one of the highlights of our trip to Lisbon. I think the reviews speak for themselves, the staff are lovely! They made us feel welcome and were willing to take time to walk us through their wine selection, including allowing us to sample a number of wines before selecting what we liked. The wine was delicious and we also went for the cheese and meat platter which was perfect with the wine. The staff also explain the different cheeses.

Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank catoregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING.”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Incredible people working here... kind and attentive. The food is out of this world... what cheeses and charcuterie! The wines are delicious and the staff help you choose. I had an incredible time here enjoying the place, the food and the drinks. Will come back for sure.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TheGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place I went to in Lisbon”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We went here after a rainy trip around Castello de Jorge. We had heard about the bar in our guidebook. It lived up to the hype. The service was unbelievable, wine was fantastic and the cheese and meat plate was wonderful.

If you visit Lisbon this place is a must.

Helpful?
5 Thank jcgottli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Bar do Castelo also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Wine Bar do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing