We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Fado doesn't grip you here, it won't...”
Review of Sr. Fado de Alfama

Sr. Fado de Alfama
Ranked #76 of 4,146 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $67
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Description: On off the least pretentious of Lisbon's Fado restaurants is also one of its finest. Hosts Duarte Santos and Ana Marina treat guests as family and the homely ambiance is warming and inviting. The homemade gastronomy is noted for its textures and flavours and generous portions, with the seafood cataplana (stew) a much-lauded feast. The menu is limited, but here it's all about the quality of the food. As for the entertainment, this is local fado at its most authentic -- the singers and musicians have known each other for years, and the performance is heartfelt and genuine. Quite often, diners are invited to join in which makes the evening truly memorable.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If Fado doesn't grip you here, it won't...”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Seeking our inaugural Fado experience, we came here thanks to Tripadvisor reviews. And we can only echo sentiments described by others visiting in July 2014 and our evening were truly special and intimate thanks to Marina and Duarte. BRAVO!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Per J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    185
    46
    16
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful, intimate evening”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is a small, almost home-like atmosphere, more like visiting friends than going to a restaurant. Be prepared to meet new people (from all over!) and joining in. A reservation is probably a must in tourist season.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A top 10 evening in my life...”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a very special place. Duarte and his family invite you into their home, feed you a fabulous meal, and then put on a 3 hour fado show. You cannot get an evening like this anywhere else. Not to mention 3 courses, wine, coffee, after dinner drinks and the show for 52 euros!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank blueghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One night at Sr. Fado”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

By visiting this very pleasant and friendly accommodation in a privileged area of Alfama, I was super satisfied with everything about this night. From the great treatment given by Dona Marina and Mr. Duarte (owners of Mr. Fado) to the food, that in my opinion, was 5 stars, very well made and typically Portuguese. Around 11pm begins Fado. Mr. Duarte at Fado's viola, and Dona Marina singing. Marina has a powerful, beautiful voice and everything she sings comes out with a lot of feeling. As a conclusion, I can say that in Sr. Fado, Fado actually happens. I surely will be back!7

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Filipe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm beach
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The truest place in Lisbon”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Love Fado,but l like to go to Fado and eat well, something that is difficult to combine the fado houses in Lisbon. Good fado and good food at reasonable prices is one thing that is not easy to find. After visiting several houses of fado, finally found on that satisfied me in every way! Sr. Fado in Alfama! Great food, either in cooking or in amount which is more than we can expect. Excellent and great Fado familiar and homey atmosphere. I went back the second time and will not be the last, because l feel at home here,and l can not understand how anyone can enroll, for the sole purpose of harming this couple as hardworking and struggling for live and customs. May God keep you , Marina and Duarte, for what they do for your culture and that God will give them strength to continue

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cordeliacristea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sr. Fado de Alfama also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Sr. Fado de Alfama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing