We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent evening”
Review of Sr. Fado de Alfama

Sr. Fado de Alfama
Ranked #75 of 4,183 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $67
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Description: On off the least pretentious of Lisbon's Fado restaurants is also one of its finest. Hosts Duarte Santos and Ana Marina treat guests as family and the homely ambiance is warming and inviting. The homemade gastronomy is noted for its textures and flavours and generous portions, with the seafood cataplana (stew) a much-lauded feast. The menu is limited, but here it's all about the quality of the food. As for the entertainment, this is local fado at its most authentic -- the singers and musicians have known each other for years, and the performance is heartfelt and genuine. Quite often, diners are invited to join in which makes the evening truly memorable.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent evening”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our evening of dinner and fado at Sr. Fado was very enjoyable! Guests arrived every 15 minutes so no one had to wait too long for service or food. The cataplana was very good and the atmosphere cosy. Duarte and Ana Marina were such friendly hosts and listening to the music was a great experience. We left at 1.30 am and they called us a taxi, so it was no problem getting back to the hotel. All the tables were reserved, so remember to make a reservation. Highly recommendable!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pikkuaalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Owner at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
dear friends

Thank you so much for your words and recommendation, but above all for your presence and sympathy.
hope to see them again one day

a big hug and until forever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    186
    46
    16
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“wow what an awesome experience”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

make reservations for two for 8:30 pm we were the last to arrive wow what service Duarte and his wife Ana Marina she can cook that cataplana was the best sea food i ever have in my life, we were their until 2:am listening to the fado singer they keep coming i was wow this not going to end. It was so much fun, this one in the time life experince you must go, but go with time and open mind and with a intentions to enjoy one awesome evening. The details the explanation of what they are doing for does that doesn't speak portugues, The amazing sevice and the atention is like you were invited to a aprty at their dinning room them they sang for you, we were the guests of honor,i got a CD excellent music, I want more cataplana Ana Marina and you guys erve us alot of food the dessert excellent, next that come to Lisbon love to come and see sr, Fado again, This is a one time in life event you must go. I recomended

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank herenio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Owner at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
dear friends

your comment makes our hearts full of joy. thank you so much
We will be here to receive them again whenever they wish
a great big hug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An evening to Remember”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were introduced to Sr. Fado and Duarte, Marina y Company courtesy our friends Mark and Andie. What an introduction. The Cataplana seafood was something my husband Pat and I had never experienced and we thoroughly enjoyed it - and managed to eat the entire large serving.

Since Mark is special friends with Duarte, we felt, by proxy, special as well, and it made the evening extra enjoyable, but all guests would feel special in this intimate space. We were not particularly knowledgeable about Fado music and the hosts gave a nice about the genre and then got right down to singing and playing. We had a real treat as we did not have a large number of singers that evening so Duarte sang as part of the evening along with an incredible tenor gentleman. Marina sang, her vocal power was incredible and her passion was so heartfelt you wanted to cry. Very moving.

Another fun side note for us was the hosts had everyone introduce themselves and we had mutual friends in common with some other guests from another country. It really is a small world after all!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JFlanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Owner at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
dear friends

Thank you for your presence in SR. Fado in the Alfama and they rated. It was a great pleasure to welcome you here in RUA DOS REMÉDIOS 176 in ALFAMA. + I take here also to warn officials who authorized the Tripdvisor a fraud and let someone enter the Profile Sr. Fado Restaurant Typical of Alfama, and who made the change in profile, from changing the address, the name and telephone numbers of the targeting site, thus usurping, all comments pertaining to sr. Fado restaurant Alfama, Tripdvisor and conniving.

So Tripdvisor not strange? Sr. Fado is registered in tripdvisor since 2010 and maintains activity on the site, giving answers to customers and changing photos. Then and tripdsor not strange that someone entered the domain of Mr. Fado Alfama with another IP number. Take both breast fraud and allow such a thing?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“The best in Lisbon for Fado”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Probably this is the best place in Lisbon for FADO + Dinner.
Although most of the places in Lisbon are very expensive, the price for Sr. Fado is reasonable comparing to the others.
Located in Alfama, in a narrow street, the service is good, the food great and the atmosphere awesome.

You should try Sr Fado if you are up to dinner + show.
Reservation is highly recommended.
Expect a long night (from 9PM to midnight at least), don't go if you are in a rush.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GFLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Proprietário at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
dear friends

Thank you very much, for your willingness to evaluate Mr. Fado
but not least, our thanks for being with us. your words create a great incentive to continue

a hug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Sr. Fado, spectacular restaurant in Lisbon, located in the Alfama district. There are no waiters and the meals are made and served by the restaurant owners, Mr. Duarte and his wife Ana Marina. The traditional food of the restaurant is Cataplana of seafood ( typical portuguese food), but the are other options. After the dinner Mr. Duarte, his wife and some friends singing beautiful fados.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff_Silvestrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SrFado, Proprietário at Sr. Fado de Alfama, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
dear friends

Thank you very much, for your willingness to evaluate Sr. Fado
but not least, our thanks for being with us and make sure we're richer because we have more friends ...
a big hug and always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sr. Fado de Alfama also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Sr. Fado de Alfama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing