We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andaluz

Andaluz
Ranked #281 of 4,015 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hidden gem !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our hotel was at walking distance, so one evening we tried this recommended restaurant. We did not regret it! It proved a real good choice, real Portugese dishes, all made 'à la casa'.
For under fifty euro's we had a three course meal, wine and coffee. Great fish, squid and a spicy garlic oil. Real friendly staff, tried to explain us the details of the menu. We did not understand everything but it turned out great!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zwiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    115
    30
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We visited twice on our short trip to Lisbon.

First visit was a Thursday lunchtime. There were 5 of us looking for a decent lunch to keep us going before heading off to Benfica!

Had the usual bread, olives and cheese when seated followed by Portuguese Soup which was a vegetable soup and absolutely delicious (€1.50!) followed by various main courses. I had Pork with potatoes and vegetables which was amazing. My friend had the Bacalão which was also divine. We all had dessert and coffee and our bill equated to €15 each. Oh and that also included 2l of wine!

We decided to go again on the Friday evening when it was just the pair of us - again bread, olives etc. I had salmon which was grilled with boiled potatoes and veg and my husband had piri piri pork steaks followed by dessert and coffee and accompanied with wine again and was €20 each. For the quality of the food and service this was amazing value and I will definitely be going to Andaluz when I return to Lisbon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nixon1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really nice local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Went for lunch there and we had a gread fish dishes the. Was really good. I even finished my dish before my girlfriend and the waiter brought her more food so she wouldn't have to watch me eat. Staff really nice and friendly and top service. Been to many local Portuguese restaurants in the year I have been here and This one is one of the top ones. Plus food is cheep.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Olios91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Traditional home made food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

An excellent place for a casual lunch or dinner. The only negative aspect is the loud sound inside. All the rest is very good. Don't expect luxury food or service. But expect very friendly staff (most of which are co-owners) and good, simple but very tasty food. One of the best price/quality choices for day to day eating when in Lisbon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gosto_de_comentar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wont go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Food is poor but staff friendly. €30 for one poor value watch the add ons like bread butter olives cheese if you don't want send back or get charged.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney2527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andaluz also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing