We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beds are fantastic”
Review of The Vintage Lisboa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vintage Lisboa
Ranked #57 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
BLACKPOOL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“beds are fantastic”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is a value for money hotel. The service is good and prices in the bar reasonable for a five star hotel. I was disappointed that the bar with the panoramic view over the city was not open during our stay. This was the main reason I booked this hotel but in the end we still enjoyed our stay. The bedroom we had was large but the bathroom was not my taste. It is semi open plan. The sink area had no door on it, the wet room shower did but you needed to leave your towels outside in the open area - this might be good for those who still have a beautiful body but not as good for those who like me look better fully clothed. The toilet and the shower both had frosted glass doors with no locks. I felt it was syle over utility. However, the bedroom was comfortable and the beds the best I have ever slept in. The hotel is just off the main Avenue at the top of a small steep hill. This was a problem for me as I am not steady on my feet. The location would be excellent for those who drive or have a good pair of legs. We often took public transport to the top of the incline behind the hotel and walked down to it. However, I would consider staying here again because after 4 days I became familiar with the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindamc161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    254
    58
    15
    15
See reviews for
99
456
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The hotel us in an excellent location despite being at the top of quite a steep hill. The rooms are large an well designed with an amazing shower, the only thing missing is coffee making facilities as I do like a coffee when I wake up in the morning. The beds were large and very comfy with excellent bed linen. I did feel the service at the hotel slightly let it down there was one reception staff who was quite unhelpful, we requested an iron 2 days before we left and it never arrived, also there was 1 ? Head barman who I felt was quite rude and refused to provide drinks that we had had everynight previously and were on the menu!!
Breakfast was excellent with great choice and very fresh fruit and pasteries.
The pool area was amazing, clean and very smart large sauna and steam room with a very helpful attandant who showed us round.
Overall an excelllent hotel just let down slighty by some unhelpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueaust76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This modern and intimate hotel is located a couple of blocks off Avenida da Liberdade which made it near the center of action but away from heavy traffic. The nearest metro is about 5 – 7 mins walk downhill. (This can however work against you on your return journey.) If you prefer taking the taxi, be advised that few taxi drivers may know where the hotel is. There is also a supermarket about 6 mins away. The room was beautifully designed and spacious. It even comes with free internet access and even has an ipod docking station. The bed was very comfortable but we found the pillows too soft. The room comes with a shower only. During our stay, we found that the hot water did not work consistently. The free buffet-style breakfast was sumptuous, offering cereals, cheeses, yogurts, fruits, cold cuts, sausages, bacon, eggs (scrambled and hard-boiled), grilled tomatoes and mushrooms as well as various types of breads. The bacons were particularly tasty! Overall, we found the staff friendly and helpful. Upon knowing that we were departing before breakfast was served, the staff even offered to prepare our breakfast in takeaway bags so that we can have them at the airport!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bossanueva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This hotel is located at the top of a hill. Ok. But walk in, feel the class, the modern, the power.
This hotel feels like a hidden treasure.
The staff is welcoming, helpful, and really kind.

The elevator speaks, the buttons on which you press are one of a kind. Now the room, oh wow. Spacious, comfy, cleeeaaan!!! The beds are fluffy, a flat screen tv is waiting for you nicely to be watched. The bathroom is half in the bedroom, with a big shower cabin.
Admit it, it's the room you would want for your dream house.
Now at the -4 level, a heated indoor pool awaits, surrounded by a steam room and a sauna. What more can you ask for?
It's a bit slippery, but be cautious and enjoy the zenery, the cleanliness, and the pleasure of relaxing.

You can't go to Lisbon if you don't try this wonder. Go. What can happen to you?

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandpanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I stayed for two nights at this Lisbon hotel, and absolutely loved it.
Nicely decorated rooms, clean, and with very friendly staff. The small indoor pool is what you need to relax after a day in busy Lisbon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oslo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is a very nice and intimate hotel in the heart of the city, but yet in a reclusive location away from heavy traffic.
The staff was very good.
The room was fantastic, with a very nice bathroom and good beds. The only problem i found was the lack of transparent curtains in the bedroom that allow for the sun to enter, but prevent the outside eyes.
The breakfast was delicious and served in a very beatiful room.
I haven't used the spa.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We have just spent 3 rainy days in Lisbon having stayed at CS vintage. Coming back to the spa after sightseeing has been wonderful. This hotel feels very private & luxurious.
Our spa treatment had to be cancelled due to therapist falling ill. The manager was very helpful and apologetic.
We had dinner in the restaurant-excellent wines- food nicely presented and delicious.

The staff are very friendly and always ready to assist.

Although a walk into town I would definitely stay here again. Quiet location, large spacious rooms and a wonderful bed!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Marques
#21 of 248 in Lisbon
246 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#25 of 248 in Lisbon
849 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altis Grand Hotel
#88 of 248 in Lisbon
833 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vintage Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vintage Lisboa

Property: The Vintage Lisboa
Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca 2, Lisbon 1250-191, Portugal (Formerly Vintage Lisboa Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vintage Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location in Lisbon's city centre, between the two popular districts of Avenida da Liberdade and Bairro Alto, The Vintage Lisboa evokes a contemporary decor with a luxurious atmosphere and five star facilities that include a Spa with the latest in beauty and wellness therapies. The modern room amenities include the latest web technology, free WiFi, sound proofing and whisper AC. Enjoy a unique dining experience in Vintage Restaurant with a range of traditional food and wine selection. Experience the ultimate in comfort and convenience at the Vintage Lisboa Hotel. Your 5 Star SPA Hotel in central Lisbon, with indoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Vintage Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing