We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel going by star rating and price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis
Ranked #143 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very good hotel going by star rating and price”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location out of city centre but very close to tube line so no problems there. Walk into town is simple and quite pleasant and will take c15-20 mins.
Had room at back on 3rd floor. Very modern hotel. Room cleaned to a high standard daily inc. fresh towels. Agree with previous reviews with regards bathroom door and shower door which is a failure of style over practicality - though a minor fault to say the least. Breakfast not included so no comments on that. Staff were pleasant enough but typical Portuguese - I.e. no over the top US style customer service. All in all very good value and location was not a problem in the slightest.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jh196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    326
    113
    21
    15
See reviews for
72
367
40
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel provides the basics.....a place to sleep. The inside is very small but clean. The bed is comfortable. When we arrived at the room the lady behind the desk said that it was too early for us to check-in but we could leave our bags. She showed us to a cupboard and then let us put our bags away. The staff are not rude but they are not very warm. The room was very small and faced a block of residential flats. The room is constantly hot and the aircon blows out warm air. We had to have the window open all night but it was very noisy all night and in the morning you could hear the children from the preschool next door. The breakfast is a joke...some bread, awful coffee from a machine and cereal. About 1 minute from the hotel there is an amazing bakery. Overall, I would stay here if I was just looking for a place to sleep but not if you're looking for the holiday experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We cannot believe this place is award-winning and has such good reviews! Please do not stay here, if you can avoid it. You are much better off getting an apartment (through Airbnb or the like) in a better location for the same price, like we have on two other recent occasions in Lisbon. Why? First, the location is terrible: in a seedy, soul-less part of town. Yes, it's close to the Metro but you will find yourself wanting to get straight in and out of the area. Secondly, our room didn't have WiFi - even though our booking confirmation clearly stated it would. Thirdly, the customer service is AWFUL. I needed to do some work on my laptop and so I really needed WiFi in our room. I asked reception what could be done and they firstly denied repeatedly that I didn't have WiFi and then finally conceded that I didn't but said nothing could be done. When I mentioned it again the next morning, they said they would follow up but never did. Fourthly, the bed is small and very uncomfortable. Finally, the bathrooms smell terribly. In sum, it looks good for the price at first glance but it has many issues under the surface. I suspect the people who have given it good reviews don't know what other better options are available in Lisbon for this price. Please look around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Both my partner & I are absolutely shocked that the Luxe Hotel Lisbon could ever be the Travelers' Choice® 2013 Winner. This award was the primary reason we chose the Luxe. We wish there were a way to challenge this award and request it be withdrawn. It is not in any way deserved!

We arrived early in Lisbon aboard a transatlantic cruise from San Juan, too early to check in, but we wanted to try anyway. Upon our arrival we were allowed to leave our luggage in a back closet and were told to return after 2pm. We arrived back at the hotel around 3pm to a swift check in.

On the surface the hotel is quite nice, but it didn’t take long for us to begin to dislike the entire experience. Lisbon was having a very warm spring, and as a result our room was quite hot. We switched on the air and waited. And waited. Our room never cooled off at all. We reported the problem to the front desk. They promised to have someone look at it that afternoon. After about two hours of heat, with no one showing up, I went down to the front desk again to see what the hold up might be. We were then told that it was too late in the day and no one would be coming until tomorrow. I inquired about switching rooms, only to be told they were completely booked.

The following day on our way out, after a very hot, sweaty and uncomfortable night, we reported the problem again to the front desk. Again they promised to have it taken care of. This back and forth went on the entire four-night stay and never once did we have A/C. Each time we asked we were given a different story, including twice being told that the A/C had been fixed – it had not. At one point I asked what we were to do about the temperature in our room, the rather rude young woman at the front desk said, “You could open a window”. Well then, that’s what we’ll do. But that was no help. There is no way of cross ventilating the room to bring in any cooler evening air. I finally demanded a fan, which they brought. We were able to sit the fan directly in front of the window and cool off the room. But this only worked at night, part of the day the sun shone in our window necessitating the curtains be drawn.

Don’t get me wrong, we’re not by any means hotel snobs. Over the years we have stayed in camps, dumpy budget hotels, hostels, etc. However, when a hotel advertises something, I expect it to be honored, and not given the runaround. We would have left after the first night, however the hotel was prepaid in full with Citi ThankYou Rewards points. So we stuck it out.

Now, for the best and worst of the rest:

Upon entering our room for the first time we noticed trash on one of the nightstands, presumably from a previous guest. The only bar of soap was used and wet, again probably from the previous guest. There was no fresh replacement soap anywhere to be found.

The shower, while reasonably spacious, is poorly designed. The faucet handle controlling the water is more suited to a sink or tub, it juts out into the shower and as you’re moving around you will inevitably give it a knock, which then produces scalding or freezing water. The shower door did not close all the way and there was no way to latch or secure it closed. No matter how hard or how gently the shower door was pulled closed it always opened about ¼” to ½” to let water run all over the bathroom floor. We had to use extra towels to soak up the water.

The mattresses were hard as a rock; it felt more like sleeping on the box springs than a mattress.

The Luxe is located just outside the historic city center in a quiet residential neighborhood, but only a few minutes walk to the metro.

The day clerk, and the afternoon/evening clerk both acted as if they were bored, neither really seemed to care. The stay could have been made a bit more bearable had one of them actually cared, or at least pretended to care, or pretend to be interested.

On the up side, breakfast was a small, self-serve continental style served in the basement. Simple and a bit spartan, but it was more than enough to get you going in the morning. The best part of breakfast was the lovely A/C; we tended to linger at breakfast just to cool off. Wi-Fi worked wonderfully throughout the hotel as promised.

A couple of days prior to checking out we arranged and prepaid for a shuttle transfer at 8AM to the airport for our flight home. Being a Saturday morning we were told the trip should only take about 15 minutes, more than enough time to meet our 2-hour advance check in. Ten past eight, no shuttle. A quarter past, no shuttle. The hotel began to call the service to find out the reason for the delay. Repeated calls to this company went unanswered; the phone just rang and rang. While the Luxe is not to be blamed directly, they do have some culpability for partnering with a seemingly irresponsible shuttle operator. At about 8:30AM the overnight clerk, whom we had met for the first time that morning, was getting off work. I believe his name is Victor. He apologized for the delay, and said they were trying desperately to call the service. What happened next was a pleasant surprise. He offered to drop us off at the airport on his way home from work! We accepted, and away we went. We gave him our prepaid shuttle coupons in hopes he could cash them in and keep the money for himself. We certainly hope he received this money! He deserves that and more! Victor was the only person in our entire stay to offer a word of apology. He went out of his way when he didn’t have to, and gave us much needed help. Victor was the bright star in an otherwise abysmal stay.

Too bad the Luxe can’t clone Victor. He could teach the others a thing or two about service and compassion.

Room Tip: A tip to choose a good room? Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RandyRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is good value for money but my stay was spoiled by unpleasant experiences with the hotel staff. Most staff on reception while not friendly were efficient, except for one young man who tutted every time he was asked for assistance. A cleaning lady smashed a bottle of perfume, reception staff informed me that I would be recompensed. However at checking out, the manager informed me that the money would be taken out of the cleaner's salary, now i understand why she was crying all morning. Needless to mention I said not to punish the cleaner but the experience left an unpleasant taste in my mouth, if the manager had offered me a voucher or something like that I would have been satisfied but I felt that he was bullying me into not looking for compensation. My room was very small and the toilet smelled. In future I would prefer to pay a bit more and have a more satisfying hotel stay

Room Tip: I was in a single room 703 which was tiny, with a smelly toilet. Ask to see your room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maimurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very petite and cute hotel. We like it. Clean and tidy too!

It is conviniently located at a walking distance to the city centre; or if you prefer, the metro is just two minutes away.

Recommended for shorter stays in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

New build, so tidy, smart and fresh. Rather "compact". Breakfast room and lobby "bar" only. Very modest choice in each Third floor room was small with very limited storage space, one chair, constantly gloomy/dark because faced an inner courtyard backing onto residential flats into which one could not avoid peering - and vice versa. Quiet with safe and fridge, but inadequate and noisy air conditioning which could not lower the room beyond 24oC. No kettle. Reception staff are somewhat inexperienced.
Working district showing depressing dereliction, trashed surroundings and graffiti scrawled buildings. 2 miles out of main centre but well served by Metro and bus.Easily walkable downhill straight to town in about 20-30 mins. Just adequate as a base for a short visit to Lisbon.
Truly excellent, reasonably priced, very friendly, great menu restaurant "O Vitral" - patronised by locals -100 metres (turn right) in same street. Lunch in town at least once in "Trigo Latino" Rua Terreiro do Trigo it really is a gem and close to (but not involved in) the tourist trap routes.
Lisbon is very hilly with slippy, uneven pavements and crazy traffic. AVOID, AVOID,AVOID(!) tourist buses and trams (buy standard cheap travel card from any metro station and top-up as necessary) and jump on and off metro/trams/buses by planning yourself, using local street/route plans. (Found DK's Ten Top Tips/Lisbon Guide pretty sparse and disappointing.)

You must see:
Gulbenkian Museum (walkable from Luxe)
Mosterio de Sao Vicente de For a
Carmo Ruins
Museu Nacional de Arte Antiga (but take a taxi/bus as walking there is through some ghastly districts)
Although the weather was stupendous and the people (mainly) friendly we won't be returning.

Room Tip: Floors 6/7 for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gadflyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Turim Restauradores Hotel
Turim Restauradores Hotel
#122 of 251 in Lisbon
854 reviews
Lisbon City Hotel
#162 of 251 in Lisbon
516 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#147 of 251 in Lisbon
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#74 of 251 in Lisbon
1,948 reviews
Hotel Travel Park
#108 of 251 in Lisbon
745 reviews
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#59 of 251 in Lisbon
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis

Property: Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis
Address: Rua Passos Manuel 28, Lisbon 1150-260, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxe Hotel by Turim Hoteis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing