We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Altis Avenida Hotel
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

When we travel, we always look for a boutique hotel that includes breakfast and WiFi and is centrally located for sightseeing. We were in Lisbon last week, and the Altis Avenida hotel exceeded our expectations.
Our room was lovely and spacious, including a large marble bathroom. . We especially appreciated the ample storage shelf for toiletries and cosmetics under the bathroom sink, and the rain forest shower was great.
Breakfast is served on the top floor with a panoramic view of Lisbon. We were so impressed with the quality of the food and how nicely it was arrayed that we decided to try the (Rossio) restaurant one evening, and it was great. The food was excellent, as was the service- and a the view at night beautiful.
The location is very good. The #1 bus from the airport stopped just a block away, and we were able to walk to many sights during our stay. The train to Sintra leaves from a station right across the street, and there are metro and bus stops just steps away. It ended up that many of our dinner reservations were in the Barrio Alto neighborhood. Some might find the climb up the many steps too challenging, but we liked being able to walk to and from dinner (just 15-20 minutes or so each way).
The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAVoyager1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    372
    73
    13
    3
See reviews for
216
677
48
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Last November, I found myself in a Lisbon hospital with a colleague who was unwell and booked into the Altis Avenida at midnight.
1 the staff were friendly helpful and efficient.
2 the restaurant food was tasty and the menu had a wide range to satisfy most tastes.
3 the beds were very comfortable with good quality sheets, pillowcases etc. electric blinds operated from bedside was a bonus.
4 the bathroom was well appointed and well equipped.
5 the room and indeed the whole hotel was spotlessly clean.
6 the central location is great for shops restaurants and exploring the city by foot or tram.
All in all a great place to stay. I would definitely go back next time I have to go to Lisbon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location for getting around and the metro just a few minutes walk away also only a short ride from airport. The hotel is very nice the room I had with balcony was very clean and comfortable and all the staff I came across were very nice and very helpful so a big well done to all of them. The only thing to let this hotel down was the breakfast, to put it in a nutshell it was COLD not warm not hot just simply cold and could not be eaten as far as I was concerned which is a shame I did comment on this and was brought different scrambled egg which yes was cold once again so gave up, I would say if you enjoy your breakfast you will be disappointed here apart from that this place was spot on, would I stay here again probably not only due to that breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliff48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was an excellent experience. Truly good hotel in every sense: polite / friendly / helpful staff, well located and great quality throughout. I fully recommend staying there, as we only have positive comments and memories from our time in Lisbon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snufkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feed-back! We appreciate that you shared your experience on this important platform with the rest of the world! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The Atlis Avenida is a lovely hotel. We had a very nice 3 days staying there - the beds were large, lovely and comfy and the bathroom was spotless. We were lucky enough to have a room with 3 windows which was wonderful. A nice selection for the buffet breakfast and very helpful staff make this hotel a very good choice! Ideally located for first time visitors to Lisbon.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Se18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Comfort & cleanliness - two key words for running a quality hotel! I am glad that you felt well accommodated and thank you for your preference! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is an excellent hotel centrally situated for tourists such as my wife and I. Indeed my wife took great advantage of the proximity of the many designer outlets close by. A particular strength is the wonderful views from the 7th floor terrace restaurant.

Our room was modern clean and spacious, and most of all, the staff were all very pleasant and approachable. This was very good because I was ill and detained in bed with a virus and nothing was too much trouble for them. In particular the restaurant staff took extra special care of my wife who was forced to dine alone on the evening we stayed. She was very complimentary about the quality of the food and service in the restaurant, and we will certainly be returning to the hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian5910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights in this stunning hotel and enjoyed the outstanding customer service, multilingual service, central position (you can literally walk everywhere), rich breakfast and clean room. Everything looks very clean and new. A special mention to the staff that was very friendly and always helpful. Don't miss the sunny terrace overviewing Bairro Alto. We would definitely be back and recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sgiudici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments on the quality of our hotel with special emphasis on our customer service! It is a real joy having this kind of feedback! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,551 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#12 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#23 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Avenida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Avenida Hotel

Property: Altis Avenida Hotel
Address: Rua 10 de Dezembro 120, Lisbon 1200-360, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Avenida Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altis Avenida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing