We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotl in a brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Altis Avenida Hotel
Ranked #37 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice hotl in a brilliant location”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had a three day break in Lisbon at the Altis Avenida. Very much a fashionable boutique hotel in probably the perfect location from which to explore Lisbon. Breakfast was the usual buffet style with fairly limited selection. The cooked items were fairly unimpressive (bacon on the first day but not on the second or third, and extraordinarily pink sausages. Scrambled egg a little tired. But fresh fruit and freshly squeezed juice and a small but excelent selection of baked goods. Very continental.

The rooms were very nicely furnished and the cleaning etc was faultless. Shower wonderful as was the bed. If we had one real problem it was that the lighting everywhere was incredibly "discreet" to the point where we struggled sometimes to find anything in the room. The reading light was a bit of a joke. But we're in our late 50s now, maybe it was just us.

Oh, and there was no marmalade for breakfast. Obviously one wouldn't expect such outlandish items such as marmite, which we all know is only tolerated by the insane, but no marmalade when the trees are laden with oranges??!!

But this really is a very nice place and if you have no issues with "discrete" lighting I would thoroughly recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: We had a very good deal via British Airways. Check out their inclusive fares which seem to offer rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinjcallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    402
    76
    14
    5
See reviews for
241
714
52
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West orange , NJ
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

very nice hotel in the center of the action with lots of good places to eat nearby, great location and friendly people too, the only thing bad is parking around the hotel as we had a rented car and was hard to get parking. Very comfy beds ,Rooms are comfortable

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caliperdigao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Booked via HRS, we wanted to offer ourselves a luxury Hotel at the price of 185€/night...the result is a simple room...nothing special at all. Impossible to open the window because of the fish restaurant smell on The street below :-(
Good point is The kindness of the employees

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Wellhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
I am sorry to hear that we weren't able to meet your expectations. Although I have to say that in my opinion, our "value for money" factor is well balanced. Take care & kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Altis Avenida is a professionally run hotel best for when you are travelling for business. The coziness and calming atmosphere is gives to its guests are the best for when you are in Lisbon for work. I would suggest this place because of their very comfy beds and had big closets. I didn’t unpack because I was too lazy packing an dunpacking but I wish I did make use of the space they had though. The hotel is a grandeur to look at from outside at night. Wonderful breakfast buffet wide an assorted food choices.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review. As we don't have as many Business Travelers as Leisure Travelers, I am very satisfied to receive feed-back from a different angle. I was particularly pleased when hearing that the cozy atmosphere of our hotel had such a positive impact on you after a long day at work. I also appreciate your compliments on our breakfast as well as our comfy beds! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed this past weekend for a long weekend. The hotel is very well located and within walking distance of most city centre attractions. The team at the desk we found to be very helpful, particular mention to Walter. Rooms are comfortable and provide all required amenities. Was perfect for a short stay. We didn't take breakfast as the city is full of quality cafes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you very much for preferring the Altis Avenida Hotel for your city break in Lisbon. Your kind comments on our front office staff will be shared with them. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the central location of our hotel. Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a superb hotel in the heart of the Baixa in downtown Lisbon. It's a good comfortable hotel but the thing that sets it apart are the people. At check in we felt we were being welcomed rather than processed, when someone asked "is everything OK" you felt they were actually interested in the answer.
Our room was fine we didn't find it small unlike some of your other reviewers.
If I have one criticism it is that the restaurant food didn't quite live up to the rest of the hotel. The waiting staff were good and friendly but I felt the food had something lacking. Breakfast also did not meet the same standards as the rest of the hotel. More often than not the warm food was lukewarm verging on cold and was not replenished as often as needed.
These points shouldn't be allowed to detract from our overall stay and we will definitely be returning for our next trip to Lisbon

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadlettJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
The people make all the difference, and that is in every area that envolves customer service. I am more than happy that you felt the way you did, thank for sharing this great comment with us! Sorry to hear that you rated the quality of our restaurant slightly below the other standards of the hotel. I hope that you will feel differently on your next visit! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Travelling on business, with a group of exacting colleagues from around Europe, we found this hotel to provide unusually excellent service. Breakfast offers a wide variety of options and attentive but not overbearing staff; there is a pleasant meeting room; comfortable beds (with excellent pillows... important!); all the features I needed to enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 251 in Lisbon
2,727 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#20 of 251 in Lisbon
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,525 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
PortoBay Liberdade
#23 of 251 in Lisbon
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Avenida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Avenida Hotel

Property: Altis Avenida Hotel
Address: Rua 10 de Dezembro 120, Lisbon 1200-360, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Avenida Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Altis Avenida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing