We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific introduction to Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Altis Avenida Hotel
Ranked #35 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and the location, service, restaurant, bar and room service were all super. My wife needed a couple of ice packs a day for her ankle and they were delivered in minutes. The best bottle of wine we have had in a while, a 2008 Vale Meao Douro with dinner in their excellent restaurant, simply made our introduction to Lisbon. The breakfast buffet was varied and the service was also friendly and excellent. The location of the hotel allows one to walk most of the central area including a number of streets for pedestrians only. Highly recommended. The only negative is that they do not have a fitness centre but do have an arrangement with a sister hotel about 15 minutes walked away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dera Mr. Lyle,
thank you very much for preferring the Altis Avenida Hotel during your stay in Lisbon. I am happy that you enjoyed our F&B outlets and particularly the great wines that Portugal has to offer! All your kind comments are going to be shared with our staff. Hoping to welcome you back to our hotel one day, I remain with kind regards, Julia Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 1,398 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel is solidly built and has a contemporary feel. The decor is a throwback to 1940s glamor. Very central location in a busy area, making it easy to get cabs and bottled water, snacks, etc. We had an upper floor room looking at the plaza, and even with traffic and nearby restaurants, it was very quiet at night. Spotlessly clean. Nice, large bed. Very good bathroom.

There is a bar and restaurant on the roof with indoor and outdoor seating and views of the city. Pricey, but warm and friendly service. We had breakfast there one morning and the spread they put out was generous, and the staff buzzed about refilling coffees and clearing plates.

Overall a wonderful place in a perfect location. Will not feel like "Old Lisbon" but the other older neighborhoods are a short, inexpensive cab ride away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank All_the_Way_to_Hell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel cannot be faulted. Perfect location in the heart of the city. Easy access to shops restaurants and tourist offices although the reception staff are on hand 24hrs a day and are only too willing to suggest places to go and see. The hotel rooms are very comfortable and very clean the staff in all areas of the hotel are very professional and friendly.This was our 2nd visit back to the hotel and hope to return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Debbie, thank you for your loyalty, I am always especially touched when we were able to create such a positive impact that made a guest return. Here we will remain, waiting for your next visit, eager to be at your service again! Kind regards, Julia Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The reception staff were superb. They had a number of suggestions as to where to go in torrential rain, not all of which were in the guide book
The restaurant staff were ever cheerful even though breakfast time was always crowded and hectic.

The room was comfortable with excellent facilities. The choice of different coloured bathrobes ensured that we always wore the right one!

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony which we didn't really use
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Mr. Richard, thank you very much for preferring the Altis Avenida Hotel. We like to assist our guests with some of our very personal recommendations. I think the key is to suggest places we really know. I am glad that you appreciated the services provided by my Reception Team. I wish you all the best & remain with kind regards, Julia Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

A very smart and comfortable hotel in an excellent location as regards access to shops,restaurants, attractions and transport. The hotel is virtually right next to the underground making it very easy to travel from the airport and around Lisbon.
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and our room,although not large, was very comfortable and clean, with a good standard of furniture and decor. Our 3rd floor room faced the main square and, although there was lots of traffic and activity outside, the room was well insulated and any outside noise virtually inaudible.
The restaurant on the top floor is very plush with great views and offered a very good selection of food and drinks at breakfast, although the room was a little cramped at peak time.
The only addition we would have liked is tea/coffee making facilites in the room.
We would recommend this hotel for its location, standard of service/accomodation and helpfulness of the staff.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will be perhaps quieter if facing the main street although we didn't find this an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Mr. Richard,

thank you very much for writing a review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and services of our hotel. Good news, we are going to implement having tea & coffee making facilities in all of our rooms at the beginning of next year ! So, please come back to have a look yourselves :) Take care & kind regards, Julia Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great Hotel in the heart of the city. the rooms are at a good size, and the beds are very comfortable! Great service, great breakfast! You get around with English very good.
You are close to the districts "Bairro Alto & Chaido" cool for shopping and night life!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Without any doubt, our location is simply the best! I am happy that you had an enjoyable stay and would like to thank you for having chosen the Altis Avenida Hotel for your stay in Lisbon! Kind regards, Julia Campos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A choice location in the city center. Easy access to all of the walking streets, restaurants etc. The staff was courteous and helpful and they remembered our names! The breakfast was very good,even at the extra price it was really worth it since it is in any area with few other breakfast options that we could find.
An excellent choice.

Room Tip: This was on a Hotels.com sale and way worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank studebhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,873 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#26 of 255 in Lisbon
973 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#61 of 255 in Lisbon
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Avenida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Avenida Hotel

Address: Rua 10 de Dezembro 120, Lisbon 1200-360, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $169 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Avenida Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Altis Avenida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing