We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altis Avenida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altis Avenida Hotel
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed for only one night. The staff was very kind and helpfull. The hotel is very well located. I don't like the rooms decoration, but everything was very clean and in perfect condictions. Our room has a nice view of Rossio Station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chmcsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Guest Relations Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your positive comments, I was very happy to hear that your experience at the Altis Avenida Hotel was enjoyable! Hoping to welcome you back to Lisbon and to our hotel one day, I remain yours sincerely, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    362
    73
    13
    2
See reviews for
211
655
47
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Altis Avenida is ideally situated just off the central square of Lisbon, perfect for transport restaurants and shopping. Once inside you wouldn't know how busy it is outside; although our 'classic' room had a good view of the castle there wasn't much else to see but backstreet rooftops. The room was adequate in size, with a good sized king bed filling most of it and the bathroom was excellent, especially if you like showering! We only ate breakfast in the splendid rooftop cafe, but the views up the Ave da Liberadade were superb. Staff could not have been more helpful, especially our porter who welocmed us to Portugal. Although we didn't use it, there is the ability to use the sister hotel's leisure facilities, however, there is no airport shuttle. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if staying in Lisbon again, thank you Altis Avenida!

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms immediately below the restaurant due to the sound of chairs moving in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FADEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
True, one of our unbeatable caracteristics is our fantastic location! That, in combination with the high level of operating standards and the "personal touch", is definately the best reason to choose the Altis Avenida Hotel! Thank you for having chosen us, it was great to have you as our guests! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a really great hotel...very modern and well appointed. The employees were all great. They were really friendly and helpful with any and all touristy questions we had for them. The buffet breakfast was good with a nice view. Would definitely stay here again if I was visiting Lisbon.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, it will be our biggest pleasure to welcome you back to the Altis Avenida Hotel one day! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed there late January for a long weekend break. This is clearly one of the best options to explore this magnificent city. Location is just perfect, right on Restauradores Square, within walking distance to major tourist attractions in the city center (Rossio Sq, Figueira Sq, Chiado district, Elevador Santa Justa, Liberdade Ave). Plenty of local restaurants and coffee shops around, Starbucks across the street.

The building is pretty old but guest rooms and interiors look modern and freshly renovated. Despite of busy street outside, soundproof windows will make your sleep comfortable. Beds are big and comfy. For a nice view ask for higher floor room overlooking Restauradores Square. Guest rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean. My overall impression of the housekeeping was more than positive. Bathroom was very clean and functional, but rather small with a tiny sink. This could be a nuisance for two adults sharing a room, but it was ok for single traveler.
Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, exceeded my expectations. They don’t have a concierge but all receptionists were extremely competent and were always ready to help and give all sorts of advice or directions. Free WiFi available, the speed and quality was more than decent.

The only downside is that the hotel has no spa and fitness, which is a little bizarre for a 5 star. The only option is a spa center at their sister property Altis Belem, which is: a) not free, b) will take some good 15-20 minutes by car and c) requires prior reservation. For some strange reason the sister hotel doesn’t offer any preferred access for Altis guests, only a discount. In my case it was fully booked (late January!).

Hotel restaurant is a little pricey but generally good. Great rooftop terrace!

Would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone exploring Lisbon.

Room Tip: Higher floor, street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slartibartfast73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on your recent stay with us. We were very satisfied to hear that you enjoyed most of our services. We would also have loved to have a SPA, however, being located in a historical building, there simply wasn't any space in order to implement such an area. Our sister property, the Altis Belem, on the contrary has a 1500 m2 amazing SPA, which is definately worth a visit and can be combined with a sightseeing trip to the Belem district! Thanks again for your kind comments, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I'm pilot and I see many hotels in my live I like this hotel and I rcomanded it for all it locate in town center rooms nice and have good view breakfast was nice and people are works here so kind the internetbwas fast and strong

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Salem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! Hope to welcome you back on your next stop-over!
Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I moved to Altis Avenida after moving out from another hotel that was a real dissapointemnt. And what a choise this was. A real 5 star hotel, full of lux, best location ever, room make up twice a day, all the personnel extremely helpful and professional with a personal touch. I cannot fail this hotel in anything. And I am really difficult to please. If I have to propose some areas for improvement, that would be the breakfast which could be a bit reacher (though quality wise it is very good) and the numbre of TV channels. Highly reccomended both for business and for leisure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bon_Viveur_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Gerente at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Chris,
it was a pleasure meeting you and making you feel welcome! With nice persons like you are, that is an easy task, anyway :)
Should you ever come back to Lisbon, I hope you know where to go first :)
Take care & kind regards, Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed one night in the corner suite and what a view! The 1940s style was luxurious and bathrooms were great. We could watch tv or eat in the separate sitting room and balcony wrapped the whole suite. We got a great deal and were really looked after during our short stay. It's right in the heart of Lisbon, near the obelisk and next to a very popular restaurant which we enjoyed some traditional Portuguese food at, Pinoqios. Don't forget to grab a drink at the amazing bar on the 7th floor! I'm coming back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badman-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Gerente de recepção at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are going to be waiting for your return and this time, for a couple of more nights, please! Thank you for letting us know, how much you enjoyed staying with us. These kind of comments give us the motivation to do our very best every day! Kind regards, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,496 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Rossio
My Story Hotel Rossio
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Avenida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Avenida Hotel

Property: Altis Avenida Hotel
Address: Rua 10 de Dezembro 120, Lisbon 1200-360, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Avenida Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Altis Avenida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing