We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but not a 5* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Altis Avenida Hotel
Ranked #32 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
waw
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great location, but not a 5* hotel”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I dont know other hotels in Lisbon, maybe there is nothing unusual in giving 5 stars to a 3-4 * hotels...The rooms are small, the bathrooms even smaller, no space for cosmetics, not one hook to hang a coat, no space for luggage. Breakfast avarage. The hotel "has" a parking possibilities - yes, but in a public Parkhaus in the neighborhood. The location is perfect for visiting the city, but gets very noisy at night. No spa, no pool.

Room Tip: Rooms are different size and shape, ask for a bigger one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maledi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    396
    75
    14
    5
See reviews for
232
710
52
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
romania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here for a week in 2011. It was a great stay. The hotel is decorated art deco and they did a very good job at it. The hotel is just in the center of the city so if you want to go shopping you don't have to travel far. The bathroom is well fitted, large and has everything you would want and more (loved the small soaps). Everything is of good quality and clean. They have a bathrobe and slippers that even match the carpet in the room. The one useful thing I found was the black window rolling shades which darken the room completely because the weather in Lisbon is very sunny. Another nice thing was the small pastes de nata they put on the nightstand in the evening - delicious and thoughful. The breakfast is very rich and varied. The location of the restaurant is on the terrace of the hotel so the view is nice. I saw that they also have a spa but I did not visit that.The personnel is helpful. I recommend this hotel for a confortable and relaxing time in Lisbon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharmelsheikhRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed the decor of the hotel and picked up on some of the decoration details.
It is very rewarding to hear that you felt comfortable and well taken care of during your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Kind regrads, Julia Campos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is located on a touristic landmark, Praça dos Restauradores, near the subway, cafés, restaurants and many others thing you may need around.
Our room was right in front of the Praça and was clean, sofisticated and spacious.
The staff arranged all the tous we needed, taxi and newspapers.
We stayed for 2 nigths and it was a pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very nice hotel with a top location in the city area. Clean, modern room, great breakfast in the top floor. Good service, most of the staff was very friendly and services minded (but not all of them).

Can highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niqlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wow this hotel is amazing, really good service, helpfull staff except for one of them in the reception. Really serviceminded staff, very good breakfast with great view from the restaurant terrace. Do you want luxury, good service, great location, perfect breakfast and cleanliness then you have come to the right hotel, this hotel has it all!

Highly recommended in all ways! If i return to Lisbon again I will definitely stay there! You will not regret the choice of hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippimio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, Manager at Altis Avenida Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic feed-back, it immediately created a smile on my face!!! It is nothing but great when you are being atributed the "WOW"-factor, THANK YOU AGAIN!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

very central hotel with good breakfast and very comfortable bed. The only problem is the noise for most part of the rooms, but only if you open the window. Closed it is very silent. It is not really a five star hotel but neither was the price so cannot complain.
I would repeat. Perfect if you want to stay in the Baixa for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngridfromMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in late Sept. for 5 nights after choosing it from reading TA. We loved it! The hotel was nice and clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. We arrived very early in the morning after flying all night. We knew our room wouldn't be ready so paid 50 Euros for a different room for a few hours so we could rest, shower and then head out for the afternoon. It was definitely worth it! The location of the hotel was perfect - across the street from the train station and just a block from Rossio Square and the tourist buses and the metro around the corner. There are so many wonderful restaurants and wine bars within walking distance. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor facing the main street. It was great, not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaskatchewanMag5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,694 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 248 in Lisbon
1,510 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
PortoBay Liberdade
#25 of 248 in Lisbon
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Avenida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Avenida Hotel

Property: Altis Avenida Hotel
Address: Rua 10 de Dezembro 120, Lisbon 1200-360, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Avenida Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Altis Avenida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing