We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, modern, clean, compact room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Altis Avenida Hotel
Ranked #36 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was exactly the type of hotel we wanted in Lisbon. In a great location, you can walk to many cafe's and a nice big square nearby.

The hotel rooms are not huge, but enough space for bags and bed and a desk. The bathroom was clean, and shower very good water pressure and temperature. (it was bathtub type though).

We stayed 2 nights. There is nearby parking for 20euro per day.

Wifi was free, but a little bit annoying because you had to log in each time you used it, on each device with a different password. But it worked fine once you did that.

There is a metro about 30metres from the hotel, and also a great "Vitaminas" store which has good healthy salads, sandwiches, and shakes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_www
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Spent 2 nights at this wonderful hotel before moving on to Cascais. The top floor restaurant, which is used for breakfast, has great views. We had an excellent evening meal there. Great for late afternoon sundowners as well. Very friendly and helpful staff who have excellent command of English. You can get a tour bus ticket from reception where the staff are very informative. Ideal central location, only 200m from Hardrock Cafe.

Room Tip: Room 604 has a nice small balcony overlooking Hotel Avenida Palace and the Rail Station. High floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundowners968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Located just a few meters below the Avenida de Liberdade, this hotel was just in the perfect spot for all our needs. Just by coming out of the hotel, we were immediately in the Rossio Square and Restauradores Square and just a few minutes from the Rua Augusta. We even able to walk to the St George's Castle – this is around 20 minutes away but then, we are walkers. Also, Rossio Station is right outside the hotel which made our trip to Sintra super easy.

We were also able to enjoy the nightlife in the Barrio Alto & Chiado and tried a different restaurant each night. Again, there was no need to take a cab because everything was close enough to walk.

The Altis has a very elegant décor and everything looked beautiful and well taken care of. And the service! It was just wonderful. I’ve heard before that the Portuguese people are very nice and I was able to confirm it during my stay there. The staff was very open, friendly and always willing to chat with the guests if that is their disposition – no obsequiousness but you could just tell that they were happy to help. When my husband mentioned that we wanted to try different restaurants, one of the waiters recommended 4 different options! (One of them was Sacramento, which was the best restaurant we tried in Lisbon.)

The breakfast was included in the price and it was very good. There was enough variety of breads (for which the Portuguese are famous), cured meats, and all the usual standards of hotel breakfasts. The breakfast is held in the restaurant located in the 7th floor and the view was gorgeous. Definitely a great start of the day.

We also had dinner in the Rossio Restaurant and it was very good with a good selection of wines at decent prices (but then don’t go by me…I’m going by NY standards.)

Now a few cons...the room felt a bit tight considering that the bed was King size (it was probably designed with a smaller bed in mind.) Also, it bothered me that I had to type the Internet password if my iPad went idle just after a few minutes (I think I typed at that password at least 15 or 20 times!)

But those were minor things. I’ll definitely stay at this hotel if I go to Lisbon again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dg_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

A very comfortable hotel, perfectly located for getting around Lisbon, with a metro station and the airport bus stop right outside. We had a superior room overlooking the square and avenida liberdade, which was really quiet despite the bustling street below. The beds were particularly comfortable, and I also appreciated the blackout blinds and the provision of a proper hairdrier. We were also left mini 'pastei da nata', the delicious egg custart tarts, in our room each evening. The breakfast buffet was immense - good selection of cooked food, amazing variety of fresh fruit, yoghurt, pastries, etc. etc. And the views from the restaurant terrace were fantastic. It felt like a good quality, luxurious hotel without being over the top or ostentatious, and was very good value at around £100 a night including breakfast. My only criticism would be the minimal amount of storage space in the room - a bit annoying if you have more than a few days' worth of clothes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplecazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very stylish and comfortable - not very big room, but nice black and white design, good roof shower, windows keep the noise away even if you get room towars the praca, good curtain solutions, Very helpful and nice people in the reception and the restaurant . OK breakfast and nice to sit outside. Free internet. Perfect - but of course, not the cheapest .......

Room Tip: The windows are so tight so no need to be nervous for noise - choose a room with view to the praca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjørn Casper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I spent 6 nights at the Altis Avenida and it was fantastic!
The location is amazing-perfectly located for ease of sightseeing and shopping.
The room was very well appointed and we had an amazing view of the main street in Lisbon.
The rooftop restaurant was charming and the breakfast was incredible!
The food and the views were equally terrfifc.
EVERYONE who worked in the hotel went out of their way to be helpful.
They all did everything they could to make us feel welcome and pampered,.
This hotel is a real find.
I would go back and do it all again!

Room Tip: we looked over the avendia liberdad--great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

All in all, a very nice hotel. It is nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable and the airconditioning control lets you really cool down the room. There is a great terrace dining room on the 7th floor with a good menu and good food at reasonable prices. The breakfast which is included in the rate is excellent.

Contrary to a previous review, we found the staff who speak English, very friendly and eager to please. They helped us on a couple of issues and did so efficiently with a smile.

Our only knock on this hotel is the size of the bedroom and bathroom. When you are living out of a suitcase, the tightness of the room makes it a tad uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,899 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#26 of 255 in Lisbon
996 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#61 of 255 in Lisbon
1,329 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 255 in Lisbon
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Avenida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Avenida Hotel

Address: Rua 10 de Dezembro 120, Lisbon 1200-360, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $155 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Avenida Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altis Avenida Hotel, a five star Boutique Hotel, has an extraordinary location in the Lisbon’s center, Restauradores Square. The Hotel is a listed building with significant historical and architectural importance that was completely renovated maintain intact its original Art Deco façade and elegant stairwells. The decoration is inspired in the 40s, injecting decidedly contemporary urban –chic spirit, where the past and future merge creating a unique charm and glamour ambiance. The Altis Avenida Hotel has 68 rooms and 2 suites throughout 6 floors, some of them with panoramic balcony. The Restaurant Rossio has its location on the top floor, with a large terrace and a privileged view throughout the Lisbon downtown. The Altis Avenida Hotel also offers a meeting room with 50m2 and natural light, a Business Corner and WiFi throughout the entire Hotel. Altis Avenida is a member of the Preferred Boutique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Altis Avenida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing