We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for shopping, poor location for tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residencial Vila Nova
Ranked #36 of 255 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Residencial Vila Nova is at a walking distance from Praça do Marquês de Pombal where you have a metro station, a stop for all the touristic buses and the bus that goes to Freeport (the biggest outlet mall in Portugal).
It's also a walking distance to Cortes Ingles (around 10 min walk) and to Avenida da Libertad where you have all the high-end brands. It is also very close to the airport; we took a taxi from the hotel to the airport for around 12 Euros.
However, the area is empty at night, and there aren't many good restaurants around. So it was kind of scary to walk at night.
The hotel itself is average: room is small but very clean, bathroom is extremely small and the noise coming from the reception at night is very annoying (our room was on the 3rd floor, just in front of the reception).
There is a good restaurant in the same building of the hotel which offers good breakfast at affordable prices.
Not sure I would stay there again!

Room Tip: Not close to the help desk!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALZ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Residencial Vila Nova
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 348 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in a standard room during August. The room was clean and well presented, but it is a small room - a walkway will be blocked wherever you place your suitcase. Having read the reviews I expected this. The room included a hairdryer and an invaluable air conditioning unit for the summer heat. There is a safe in the room but they charge you 2 euros for the code which I felt was a little harsh. The wooden shutters keep any street noise out and I heard little of the other guests in the hotel. The staff on the desk provided answers to questions. WiFi is free but doesn't work in all rooms and so you have to go into the lobby area to use it.

The hotel is 2 minutes down the road from the Marquess of Pombal Square and the same for the metro, which allows for a quick 5-10 minute journey into the centre. There is a small supermarket if you go right out of the hotel and walk for a 5 minutes. There are restaurants in the area (near the hospital) but I would highly recommend the American music burger restaurant which is down the road on the first left.

The main issue I had at this hotel was that I had my contact lenses in a shopping bag next to my suitcase. The cleaner threw these out by accident (though she denied this) and though the hotel paid for a weeks worth, it is still an inconvenience I didn't need on my holiday. This was a shame as other than this, the hotel provided all that I expected. No frills but a room with the basics.

Room Tip: A room 304 or below in the standard rooms is more likely to have WiFi access
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank English_drinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is of good proximity to all attractions.. mostly by walking distance.. it is neat and clean and of modern interior. pricing was very very affordable considering where it lays.
Don't expect extended facilities OR luxury stuff.. just straight to point facilities :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We chose this hotel as we had just one night to spend in Lisbon. We wanted to be close to the metro and pay less. Price/quality ratio is better in this area compared to the touristic center (which is half an hour by walk). But if you are there for touristic purposes, you might choose to pay more and stay in Baxia, Chiado or Rossio. This hotel fitted to our expectations. It was clean, modern and comfortable. The price was reasonable. The gentleman in the reception called a taxi for us early in the morning and was kind. The only negative thing was that we could not find any open supermarket after 22.00 around the hotel. So if you decide to stay there, make sure that you do your shopping earlier or from the touristic center.

Room Tip: We stayed at a room with balcony
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nihal293974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in a gorgeous room, nice modern design. Metro station at the end of the street (1min Walk), 20 min walk to the centre but plenty of amenities around. There's a bar next door that sells bottles of Sagres (Local beer) for €1 and has little snacks, very cheap. Free Wifi and lots of TV channels. En suite Jacuzzi and massive bathroom that was amazing. Bed was huge and comfy with some really soft blankets. Huge room with french doors that opened out onto street view. Nice star on ceiling.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe room and it really made the trip!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BNETravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I decided to go here, based on reviews from this site. When we came here, our first poor impression left the receptions. She wasn't so welcome, it was like she regretted the moment we stepped in through that door.
When we went to our room, it was the same as it was from the pictures, but sooooo small. Wide lens does the magic, so a room small like this one looks huge. :) The shower was a battle for my husband, because (guess) small. There were a bit fungus on the wall plates, but that was the only sanitary flaw. The cleaning lady was great! Our bed was always ready, clean towels, clean room. No complaints for her.
But the reception, oh the reception! So, we came to Lisbon for the first time. We got all the information, and the maps, but of course you will expect from the reception to give you some advices. They did try, but all of they guidelines were wrong. They really don't know their city as much as they should (they do work on a reception). The only person who knew something, was the moody girl, but with her dying voice she was killing our mood so we gave up of asking her any thing when she worked.
One more thing why we decided to stay here was the wireless. Well, a lot of them said that it was excellent. Well, our wasn't!
We were at the end of a hall and there was no signal. Only two rooms that are close to the reception had the best signal, the rest was terrible or no signal at all. I had to walk to the reception to get the connection. So, wireless is terrible!

The apartment is close to all stations, and that is great. Downstairs you have the best pastry shop. We went there every morning for breakfast.

Lisbon is a great city, and you will enjoy it regarding the small bumps on the way as we had.

Room Tip: Only rooms close to the reception are larger, and have wireless.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Croatia_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in a ‘Superior Room’ with a modern and clean feel. It featured a double bed, large mirror, small desk, flat-screen television, (expensive) mini-bar, free kettle with coffee and tea, closet, safe, air-conditioning, Wi-Fi, and a single comfy chair. The bathroom was especially nice: apart from the obvious toilet and sink there was a great shower cubicle with several luxurious options, like a massage shower. Everything looked new, fresh and well-decorated. Our room also had a balcony, but this was tiny, had no chairs, and offered a view on a garbage disposal in a back-alley. The room could be made really dark, courtesy of some heavy shutters in front of the balcony doors.

Staff at the reception desk spoke very good English and was available to help us to, for example, order a pizza or store our suitcases on the day we left. Though the cleaning staff did not speak English they too were friendly and helpful.

Since the hotel is housed on two floors of an apartment building it doesn’t have any facilities. There also isn’t a breakfast room. However, we can strongly recommend breakfast in the café/bakery on the ground floor of the same building: it’s good and affordable. The only downside is that they are closed on Sunday and there isn’t much else in the direct vicinity. However, since the hotel is close to the Marquês de Pombal metro station and Lisbon isn’t particularly large, you can be wherever else you want to have breakfast in no-time.

We did have an episode with the air-conditioning: we couldn’t get it to work on the first night. Thinking we’d just missed something, we asked the receptionist about it. He sent a cleaning lady to help, who figured out that the unit was broken. She was soon joined by another cleaning lady, and together they tried (at length) to push random buttons. They were then joined by someone apparently in charge who repeated the same exercises and spent a lot of time on the phone shouting at people. Although this was great service, and they really seemed to care, all of this was rather unnerving given that none of the three spoke any English, so we didn’t have a clue as to what was going on. After what felt like a long time the receptionist came up to tell us (in English) that they had no idea what was wrong and couldn’t reach the repairman (it was Saturday), and that they also didn’t have any spare rooms. Since they would continue trying, we went to do some sight-seeing. When we came back the air-conditioning was working! We have never been happier, especially not since temperatures rose to 38-40°C in the next days!

We did uncover a slight disadvantage in the following nights: it was very hard to sleep without the air-conditioning on because of the heat. However, it was impossible to sleep with the air-conditioning on because this resulted in (what felt like) a blizzard blowing straight into your face. Still, at least we were able to cool the room down enough to get to sleep, and we would not recommend Lisbon in summer without air-conditioning!

To summarize the good: our room and bathroom were modern and clean, staff was friendly and helpful, the hotel location is good, and there is air-conditioning. The slightly less good: the balcony was useless, the air-conditioning would have been better placed elsewhere than straight above the bed, there are no facilities, and you have to go out for breakfast. Still, we can recommend this hotel as being quite good for the money, and would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badeendje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
#132 of 254 in Lisbon
481 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Belmonte
Casa Belmonte
#27 of 255 in Lisbon
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#14 of 255 in Lisbon
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Whatever Art Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Lisbon Style
Lisbon Style
#28 of 255 in Lisbon
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residencial Estrela de Arganil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Vila Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Vila Nova

Address: Avenida Duque de Loule 111, Lisbon 1050-089, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $52 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Vila Nova 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residencial Vila Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Vila Nova Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing