We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beauty”

Ajuda National Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.64*
and up
Lisbon All in One Hop-On Hop-Off Bus and Tram Tour with River Cruise
Ranked #27 of 422 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is a collection of decorative arts including furniture, tapestries and statues in an unfinished palace.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beauty”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I visited it through Joana Vasconcelos' work and the palace is pretty amazing. As a portuguese, I think the city must give importance to this national treasure. The palace construction was never finished and the back of it gives a bad image of this beauty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RDias15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    256
    47
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A definite must. Also an art exhibition was going on within the palace. teh female artist used ordinary objects to create her masterpieces. For instance she used pots and lids to create huge towering stilleto heels in one of the main rooms. The palace itself is breath-taking. But the exhibition added to it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RIKIVOGEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Took public transport to get there (as all other attractions, they have stops really close to this palace). But me and my family were the only ones there. Felt like you found a precious place to visit forgotten by tourists. I loved it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nandabordoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Current exhibition made this visit for me.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The palace it's self is a nice place. However the current exhibition by Joana Vasconcelos made this visit a four star. Open fron march to 25 August well worth a visit. The queues are very long, however we paid the extra €5 each for express. Well worth it. Joana flare for displays made with everyday items is amazing, a defenate wow factor for me. the palace its self is not unlike most of the local ones. Rich in colour, dark to protect from the sun, which is understandable. I enjoyed the visit. Not sure if I would have scored it four without the exhibition, maybe a 3.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mmgilbert10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
181 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Beyond your wildest dreams!!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Oh, my. We almost missed this magnificent palace. We'd been to Sintra, we've seen Versailles, and only because we chanced into a tourist office that was hawking an art show that is taking place inside the palace did we see the palace itself. Room after room is on view, with no one pushing you through or over-managing your time. Pay special attention to the pietra dura table in a room on the second floor. Also, don't miss the corner Asian (Chinese/Japanese) room with the silk ceiling made to look like woven bamboo. The furniture, tromp l'oeil/grisailles ceilings, inlaid carved floors and lovely guards on hand make this a spell-binding experience for a very modest price. Some repairs are needed, but this is an absolutely magnificent place. Enjoy the 700-meter climb up out of Belem, or take the 729 bus to get to this gem. A fantastic garden affiliated with the palace is on the way up the hill.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmilyMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ajuda National Palace also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Ajuda National Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing