We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place”
Review of Lisbon View Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lisbon View Hostel
Ranked #327 of 515 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The only good thing I can tell about this place that it has good location. Everything else were disappointing.
Room, linens and towels were incredibly dirty. Linens and towels are used to be white but now it's grey and completely worn out.
We supposed to have breakfast included into price. It was a joke. They had instant coffee on the kitchen, cheapest bread and jam. That's it. I don;t know who could eat it for breakfast.
Shower is so small you cannot fit it without trouble though I am very slim.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexLop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 8 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hostel looks like a flat divided into several rooms, some with bathrooms, some without. Everything is very basic: the breakfast is free but you don't have a lot of choice, the furniture in the room is essential (neither a wardrobe), you have to ask for towels.
The location is pretty good, but you are in Rossio, so if you wanna walk around Lisbon prepare yourself to climb the hills cause Rossio is on the level of the river Tejo.
The value is good, but it should be a bit cheaper cause it doesn't offer so much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrSignorAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lisbonview is well situated, right in the centre of Lisbon and it's close to the tram and metro lines. The rooms are simple but clean and there's a free basic breakfast available (toast, jam, cereal, tea, coffee, milk), it's also very reasonable priced.

However, there are several small, irritating problems. The entrance is very hard to spot (even after 3 days I often walked past it) and the light in the stairwell wasn't working. The lock on the door to our room was a bit broken and usually required around 5 minutes of key-jiggling to get it open or to lock it. No water comes out of the shower unless you hold it about half a metre from the ground, which made washing a very awkward and uncomfortable procedure. Having only one bathroom for 8 or 9 rooms also means you sometimes have to wait quite a while to use it. Also the staff, although very friendly, are almost never there and they have very little information about attractions and no maps.

All in all though, these were only minor problems and may have already been fixed. I would recommend Libsonview, especially to anyone travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

i stayed at the hostel in January 2013. The location is perfect - in the city centre and everything is in walking distance. Very helpful staff. This is more like a serviced apartment where the rooms in an apartment are rented out. but would definately fit the budget. There is no staff round the clock but when ever they are there -they are happy to answer your questions. The breakfast is quiet limited but you have an option to cook by yourself(no need to buy milk, cornflakes , Bread, jam, butter which is already available). I forgot my watch when i checked out but the staff kept it safe until i picked it up after 2 days.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Hemanth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Pat-Grid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alazam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#159 of 255 in Lisbon
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#81 of 255 in Lisbon
2,096 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,900 reviews
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#137 of 255 in Lisbon
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon View Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon View Hostel

Address: Rua dos Fanqueiros 277, Lisbon 1100-230, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 515 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Lisbon View Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing