We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food but”
Review of La Paparrucha

La Paparrucha
Reserve with
La Paparrucha is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #205 of 4,183 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $41
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: La Paparrucha was the first restaurant in Lisbon entirely dedicated to Argentinean cuisine. Our main attraction is meat grilled on the traditional Parrilla, however the concept has evolved offering our customers a variety of suggestions such as pastas and fish. Because a unique meal deserves a matching atmosphere, get ready for a fabulous and unforgettable panoramic view of Lisbon. Duo to a welcoming atmosphere, La Paparrucha is an informal and exquisite gathering space, where you can comfortably be any time of year. Alone or with a group of friends, on the terrace you will enjoy pleasant outdoor moments of relaxation and at the bar one can enjoy a drink and taste the famous empanadilhas. Visit La Paparrucha and have a unique meal
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice food but”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

It was very nice food and good service in this restaurant.
Kind of creative meals are very wel cared and good harminised taste makes us enjoyed.

However, the space of this restaurant is very limited, therefore you have to bare many staffs going and passing around you all the time and it was very unconfortable to stay enjoying meal peacefully.
It it entirely depending on where you seat but there is not many tables avilable, so be careful to ask which table you can get.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Best Tables

Helpful?
Thank Koval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    394
    122
    59
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Too Bad... Owners Should Listen Up!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Maybe I should have read the TA reviews first but this place is in my `hood and I knew it had nice fews so after a long work day and wanting to relax with a good meal, decided spontaneously to give it a try.

First, it's funny that reviews are mixed about staff. I thought they were the best thing about this place, as view is nice but definitely not the best in the city. The maitre'd was happy to oblige to my request for an aperitif on their terrace overlooking the city even though the sun had just about set and everyone else (tourist crowd eating earlier) was already in the restaurant. What really impressed me was the waiter who came out to coax me inside as it was getting cool, and when I begged another few minutes outside, brought a shawl to arrange over my knees.

On moving inside, found a nice little "prato mixto" of rolls, cured chorizo, the ubiquitous but yummy cheese, tapenade and a nice garlicly spread waiting on the table -- a bit more generous than the average standard bread-and-cheese extra many restaurants here deliver -- and some charge for. But wait for it news on that...

I too have spent some time in Argentina and went to La Paparrucha primarily because I wanted a fix of red meat. Ordered the rib-eye and batatas fritas -- and to be honest, the very nice young waitress subtly tried to warn me against the latter, explaining they were "sliced thin and very crispy" so obviously not frites/fries -- a small green salad and a half-bottle of red wine.

Steak was ok -- cooked rare to order -- but I found it bland. Under-seasoned? After adding some fresh-ground pepper, still bland. Piri-piri sauce and "hot" pepper sauce served on the side were also both bland -- not at all what I remembered being served in BA with meat. Lovely waitress kindly brought me some of house "pepper sauce" -- also quite bland -- cream and pepper, I think. And the batatas fritas? Served slightly warm, they were potato chips (crisps, to you English) and not at all what you want with a steak.

Wine was, as promised, nicely full-bodied. A Douro, should have noted the name.

Anyway, it was an ok meal but when I received the bill and saw the starter plato mixto was charged at $8.50 euro (which is what I've paid for some nice lunches here in Lisbon), I was a bit turned off. For some standard cheese, 8 slices of (ok, good) chorizo and some spreads I'd barely touched? And none of which I'd actually ordered, even though I expected to be charged something for it. A bit rich. And the staff obviously thought so too, altho of course they can't agree really.

Terrific staff and nice venue but the kitchen and philosophy towards customers rather a disappointment. Too many other good restaurants in Lisbon to return here, unfortunately.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SolaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Authentic Argentinian steak”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Came here for valentines day. I lived in buenos aires for a few months a couple of years ago and this is the best steak I've had outside Argentina. Very authentic, melting in the mouth, fantastic chimi churi suc.

A little bit Ricky but worth every penny.

Should be number 1.

Ask for a tale by the window for the views. Lovely.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImAlwaysOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food with even better views.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had not booked, yet were made to feel very welcome on a Saturday evening. Relatively expensive, but entirely worth the visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 30-years-experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Good lunch buffet with great views”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The lunch buffet has a lot of choices, including a variety of meats, salads and desserts that were at least good quality, though not excellent. Also included in this price fixed lunch for 12.50 Euros is a drink, such as a glass of good wine, and coffee or tea. The restaurant, which is located on the edge of Bairro Alta overlooking Baixa, has a wonderful view of the Baixa and Castello, if you get one of the tables near the window.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toron2nians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Paparrucha also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to La Paparrucha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing