We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location”
Review of Artbeat Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Artbeat Rooms
Ranked #37 of 238 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a well-situated hotel tucked away right next to the Old Quarter of the city. We had the Picasso room and our daughter, an art student, asked for the Van Gogh room. So quirky, and great fun to sleep surrounded by 'great art'!! Wonderful hostess and host who were extremely helpful and sent us to lovely little restaurants. Breakfast - a self-serve affair - was easy and plentiful. A fan in the room would have been nice as it was terribly warm and muggy for the weekend - and I appreciate that probably no air conditioning could be installed as the hotel is in a heritage building. My only real complaint - the noise - was not shared by either my daughter (who wisely wore ear plugs) and my husband who can sleep through anything. However, the constant church bells, police / ambulance sirens, and people shouting was difficult to ignore - and yes, it was a weekend AND the Fado Festival, so I had no right to be annoyed! Parking was problematic as was actually getting to the hotel - but again, that's the price one pays for staying right in the middle of everything.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a corner room! (The Picasso is the only one - I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    26
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
95
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

A lovely surprise in the middle of the Downtown area. Francisco is so accomdating, keen to give you a Lisbon map and tell you about the bect places to go. : )
The Jackson Pollock door is a great way to enter into the B & B, a glimpse of what lies beyond!
The art inside has been done fantastically. We stayed in the Damian Hurst room which was awesome!! My favourite part were the yellow furry curtains which reminded me of Big Bird!!
We staued for three nights and it was a perfect place to cone back to and spend some time chilling between the day and the evening.
The great thing anout the Artbeat rooms is that it is funky, convinient and very clean as well as perfectly located!!!
Loved it, would thoroughly recommend and definitely go back again!

Helpful?
Thank davina78
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is the place you would like to stay during every citytrip you do !

The location of Artbeat is just perfect to walk arround Lisboa, metro, tram, bus, train are all close to the place, just perfect to visit the city and even go further to the beaches.

The place itself is just perfect and confortable, you just feel like visiting old friends, this is cosy and friendly.

Gosia welcomed us and took the time to give us her best advices about Liboa, the place to see, the place to eat, the place to drink and the insights about the city! Just let you drive by their advices, it's so good ;-)!

And the shared bathrooms are really not a problem, it was always available when we needed and very clean!

If we have to come back in Lisboa sometime, we will definetily come back to Artbeat !

Thanks!

Room Tip: The room Hirst was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I recently spent three nights in Artbeat and I have never experienced such hospitality and personal, good service in a hotel/hostel/b&b. Jage who works in Artbeat spent quite a deal of time giving me advise on where to go in the city - both tradional tourist spots and more personal favourites, looking for info for me, making bookings etc etc. The location is great in the very center of the city, the rooms are spacious, clean and charming with their different artist themes and balconies. Breakfast is ok but not that particular, but the kitchen facilities are good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Katarina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I brought my 17 year old son for a visit to Portugal (I'm 52) and we stayed at ArtBeat Rooms. Everything was fantastic! The staff could not have been nicer. It is kept incredibly clean. The location was perfect. We loved the room designs. We could not have asked for more!
In addition, one of the staff, Adrianne Zino, acts as an itinerary planner and guide advisor. She's incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about the country (and delightful) and steered us in wonderful directions! She helped make a trip go from good to great!!! Her email is ambzino@gmail.com

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights, and absolutely enjoyed it. The staff is very very friendly and helpful, provided us with many good ideas were to spent the evenings and made reservations for us in fado bars or restaurants. Rooms are super cosy, each room with a special music selection and balcony to have breakfast on. Great service, fruits and coffee for free, kitchen and bathrooms were very clean, central location. We felt very much at home and I will certainly come back to Artbeat Rooms next time in Lisbon. It was simply a very perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libreville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This week end I fell in love... with Lisbon, its day life, night life, culture and people, and Francisco and Gosia and their delightful apartment played a great part in it. Perfectly located with trendy and cosy rooms, the apartment itself was great, but F&G's advices and friendliness, even when arriving at 3.30 am on a delayed plane, made it that much nicer for us. When I go back, I'll certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoine828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#13 of 238 in Lisbon
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#8 of 446 in Lisbon
522 reviews
The Sky Lofts Lisbon
#28 of 238 in Lisbon
96 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 446 in Lisbon
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artbeat Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artbeat Rooms

Property: Artbeat Rooms
Address: Rua de Sao Nicolau 23 | 3rd E, Lisbon 1100-547, Portugal (Formerly Costta Rooms)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with Art in the very centre of old Lisbon. A truly Cheap & Chic concept for contemporary travellers. We are a new small and cosy Bed and Breakfast on the 3rd floor (with lift) of an 18th century charming building, located in Baixa. Our rooms are full of Art and colour and inspired in different Artists (Warhol, Basquiat, Picasso, Van Gogh, and Hirst. There is Free wireless Internet in all rooms. As we are no TV environment, we provide music and ART magazines, ART books and guides to borrow. We have a kitchen that our guests can use. The breakfast is included and can be served in your room, on the room balcony or in the common room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Artbeat Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing