We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Ranked #35 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The location is good, near to Avenida Metro stop and Avenida Liberdade which is a great walking route to all local points of interest, but off the main road so no bad street noise.

We were greeted at reception by a very welcoming woman who took time to show us our location on a map and offer various bits of advice about the hotel and area. All odd the staff were lovely and helpful during our stay.

Our room was narrow but had everything we needed and lots of nice touches like the very comfortable chair, coffee machine, fridge, safe, and gadget panel for connecting to the TV. Air-con was very useful for cooling the room. The complimentary in-room WiFi was used a lot!

Much has been said about the unusual, semi-transparent shower wall, but I thought it was good to see some new ideas in hotel room design and neither of us were bothered by it. The shower itself is excellent, simple controls and great pressure, a dream to use. The hotel forgot to restock towels one day but a call to reception and they sent up a full set in minutes. The light settings in the room are quirky and easy to get to grips with.

Breakfast was large and with many options, cold meats and cheeses, a huge fruit salad option, bacon, small sausages, scrambled egg, beans, toaat, numerous rolls and pastries, various fruit juices, cereals, yoghurt, coffee, teas etc - all fresh and breakfast was always enjoyable, although the room does get a bit crowded! We ate dinner here one night and it was very good too. The waiting staff are great, eager to help.

I have two minor gripes with the room, the main one was that you cannot close the door without slamming it, this leads to a lot of unnecessary noise and our neighbours next door kept unusual hours so the door slamming from them was quite annoying, but not their fault! Perhaps it is a security thing but you should be able to use the handle to quietly close the door from the outside to avoid all this slamming!

This issue extends to the toilet cubicle door, no handle at all here so you have to pull it shut causing a lot of pointless noise, weird!

But overall it was a very good experience and I would definitely stay here again, it is great to see a hotel break out and do something different in terms of the rooms and design in general, we see plenty of soulless, identikit hotels on our travels and it is refreshing to stay somewhere different that shakes things up and is unique but also guest focussed, so well done to the Inspira for the fresh ideas and excellent service!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FullBellyFull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear "FullBelly..."
We would like to thank you for such praise and positive feedback. We are glad that you liked the hotel concept and the service. Regarding the two issues you brought up, the room door issue can be easily fixed by tightening the springs. With regards to the wc door, we will investigate this issue and try to find a solution.
Thank you once more for this great feedback and we hope to welcome you back some day to the hotel!
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,630
    1,048
    134
    22
    8
See reviews for
345
1,727
115
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

The location is great, right near Marques do Pombal square and two metro stations. It's a newer hotel and seems it. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are clean, modern, and comfortable. Very much recommended if you are looking for a nice place to stay in central Lisbon

Only minor negatives are that it is on the costly side. Overall you get good value considering though other hotels include breakfast in this price range. Also, my room didn't have such a great view as it was the alley and ground level between the hotel and the hospital but not really a major issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanzerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear "tanzerian"
Thank you for your feedback. It is encouraging to have your recommendation. With regards to the cost, during July and August, we have special offers in which we include breakfast on our website. Thank you once more for your recommendation.
Best Regards
Nick Roucos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Inspira Santa Marta Hotel is an excellent hotel in an excellent and quiet location. It's location is just 2 blocks from one of Lisbon's main avenues and close to many great restaurants. The hotel is luxurious and clean. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. When I return to Lisbon, I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkeleyEconomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear “BerkeleyEconomist”,

We are so happy to know that you had a wonderful stay at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel!

Thank you very much for this encouraging comment which gives us the daily necessary motivation to keep up the good work!

We look forward to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed for five nights in early June, bought on a deal where the room was around £90 incl breakfast. When reception found it was my birthday, they sent up a bottle of champagne, which was lovely. Rooms are on the small side, but perfectly good for a city centre stay. The breakfast is really good, in a lovely room. Location is in a side street off Liberdade, which is a tree-lined boulevard in the city centre, although to get to most attractions you have to walk about 20 mins or so into town (and beware the hills!). Couple of cheap eating options nearby. Would highly recommend the Clube de Journalistes for a special dining out expereince, although it is on the other side of town. Lisbon is worth a few days, although to be honest not much more - loved the Belem art gallery and day trips to Cascais and Sintra. Hated the almost constant pestering in the streets from drug dealers trying to push coke/hashish, etc. Lisbon really needs to do something to get rid of them

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear “Patrick C”,

We are really grateful to read your review regarding your stay at our Urban Oasis and thank you once again for choosing us to celebrate such a special date!
We are happy to know that we met up your expectations! It is very rewarding for the whole team to read that our simple gestures are worthy of your recognition!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you again!
Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel in May. The room was very nice with plenty of space and storage. The bathroom set up is unusual but works well. Staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast excellent. Immediate area around hotel rather run down but this was not a problem and it is possible to walk into the city center in less than 30 mins.
We had one evening meal which was a disappointment but others in our group ate on a different night and were satisfied. We subsequently ate elsewhere in the evening and would particularly recommend Luzzos pizzaria across the road.
The hotel wifi was very good even in the bedroom.The light switches less straightforward but you get used to them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear “Graham N”,

We really appreciate your kind review regarding Inspira Santa Marta Hotel.

We are pleased to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay from the room design to the pleasant staff. Regarding your experience in our restaurant, we are really sorry to hear that it was not according to your expectations and we would really appreciate it if you could send us an e-mail with more detailed information.

Our guests’ opinions and suggestions are the most important way for us to improve our service and to exceed the expectations of all our customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I liked the hotel. Very good located. Nice restaurants in the area. Quiet room. Not so important, but I also liked that they have international TV-channels. WiFi is for free and quick, liked that, too. Free sauna and Whirlpool in a small but nice area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlepippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear “Littlepippi”,

Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel !

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and all the hotel facilities.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed at Inspira March 2014 for a week. On arrival the staff were most helpful and having arrived early took care of our luggage until the room was ready. When we were taken to our room we were surprised by how small and dark it was. There was very little room to hang up clothes and no drawers for tshirts etc. We were further surprised when having been put in a room on the first floor someone walked past our window, as the outside street is a hill. We were going to be given another room but again it was small and dark so we were offered a suite at reduced cost but still expensive. We could have stayed in the Sofitel for the same cost as this hotel. The bar was often unstaffed at night and the breakfast was not the best we have ever had, especially in what boasts itself as a 4 star hotel. The staff, as stated earlier were really good but were left to field all the complaints, management involvement would have been appreciated. In our opinion this is a hotel for business conferences and anyone with a family would struggle in the normal rooms offered. If you are staying more than 2 nights this is not the hotel you should be thinking of staying at.

Room Tip: Request a top floor room and if your budget allows go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear “Scott1418”

Thank you for your feedback and for the praises regarding our staff.

We are sorry to hear that your experience was not according to your expectations.

Regarding the storage space, we opted to have more open space in the room considering the low duration of the stay of the majority of our guests. However, we also have available deluxe rooms and suites where the storage space is bigger and more adequate for long stays as our staff suggested. We are aware about how it is difficult to please all our guests preferences and our staff is well prepared to offer the adequate solutions to make our guests ‘stay a memorable moment. So after we were made aware of your disappointment concerning the room, we showed you another one on a higher floor as well as we made available one of our suites for a very special price and it seemed to be well accepted by you.

Our management team is daily pleased of having an active and focused on the client management approach as you can see through the comments to our guests’ feedback written by me or by the general manager.

Regarding the lack of bar staff, we are working to ensure that it will not happen again! Concerning the breakfast, due to our concept of sustainability, we do not concentrate so much on variety as our focus is more on quality and fresh products.

Therefore, we really hope you are able to reconsider you opinion and we would grateful of being again your first choice on your next visit to Lisbon.

Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Vincci Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#22 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#27 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inspira Santa Marta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inspira Santa Marta Hotel

Property: Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Address: R. de Santa Marta, 48, Lisbon 1150-297, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inspira Santa Marta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel is a medium-sized, trendy 4 star hotel offering an urban retreat to those visiting Lisbon for business or pleasure. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, in Rua de Santa Marta, just off Avenida da Liberdade. With a contemporary decor, Santa Marta Hotel offers 89 rooms of different categories. Here lighting, color, sound, energy and materials have been carefully designed and put together according to the principles of Feng Shui. The rooms are equipped with integrated, cutting-edge technology allowing guests the freedom to remain in touch with business colleagues, family and friends and to access local information - all at the touch of a button or two. Whether visiting Lisbon on business or leisure, our aim is to provide our guests with a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inspira Santa Marta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing