We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Ranked #33 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and great service”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

It's a difficult decision to give this hotel "only" four stars rather than five. My experience was five-star, but this is because we received an upgrade to a suite, which was amazing: living room with separate powder room, huge bed; and beautifully laid out bathroom with separate shower and cool (though not so practical) circular tub, another toilet, and dual vanities. With the room I had booked this would have been more of a four-star stay, and it's probably not reasonable to assume that you'd always get upgraded.

The hotel is about a 10-minute walk to the center of the city, and it's very close to the main shopping street. There are certainly hotels more conveniently situated for tourists, though I didn't mind the short walk (as long as the weather is good).

The service at the hotel was friendly and helpful. Any question or request for the staff was met with a caring attitude. As an example, I called in advance to ask how much a taxi should cost from the airport. I was told no more than €15, and if we were asked for more than that, to have someone from the hotel talk to the driver. When our cab driver tried to cheat us (which is apparently very common in Lisbon), someone from the hotel quickly came out and talked to the driver, and we were charged the correct amount.

I found breakfast at the hotel somewhat disappointing. Not a great selection, and the coffee was bad. Also as opposed to the hotel staff, the staff in the restaurant were not very friendly or competent, e.g. they were very slow in wiping and placing new settings on tables after guests left.

The stay at Inspira was fantastic, but I'd probably explore other options unless it was guaranteed there'd be a suite upgrade.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cillierabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear “cillierabbit”,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel!

It is very rewarding for us to know that our amazing suite contributed to make your stay better. We are also pleased to learn that you overall enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words on our location and service. In fact, our team constantly strives to achieve a high level of service and we are very proud of your recognition!

Regarding the breakfast, we aim to provide quality and fresh ingredients and sufficient variety rather than quantity.

Thank you for your suggestions! Unfortunately, it is to not possible to assure you an upgrade on your next stay, however I hope that you can reconsider your opinion and choosing us again on your next visit to Lisbon!

Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,796
    1,136
    143
    24
    8
See reviews for
396
1,882
125
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Pretty much perfect. Wonderful design concept of the room and rest of the hotel, one of the best hotel breakfasts we can remember and excellent, reasonably priced restaurant. Always helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterjohnstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear “peterjohnstoke”

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay.

It is such an enormous honor to be descripted by our guest as “pretty much perfect”! I really want to thank you sincerely on behalf of all the staff, your comment is without doubt a great source of motivation to the whole team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Like Koen67 my first impression was a stylish modern city centre hotel in a location handy for the Lisbon city centre. The staff were very welcoming (we were part of a Riviera Travel tour and were staying 3 nights) the first impression of the room was "this looks good" then came the niggles - 1st: How do you store a weeks worth of clothes when there was only room for 4 hangers and very little drawer space? 2nd: Nice bathroom - with frosted glass walls and a gap between the room and the bathroom near the bed???? (at least there was a solid door on the WC). My partner and I are very comfortable with each other - but we like to bathe in private (most of the time). 3rd: The lighting - good idea but needs refining! Especially the bathroom - I had to guess when shaving my left side) Now the good points - the room was comfortable and well equipped (the Nespresso - ideal for coffee addicts like me) Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and a good fruit selection(but please move the coffee urn to a safer place!) We did not have lunch/dinner in the hotel - but fellow Riviarites praised the food. The fitness/Spa centre more than adequate. In summary a fine hotel if you are travelling on business and alone - but if travelling as a couple with a reasonable amount of luggage - be prepared to compromise - it will be worth it!

Room Tip: I guess if you are prepared to pay the extra - you get a bigger room with more storage space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Einrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear “Einrac”,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your detailed opinion regarding your stay at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel.

We are truly happy to know that the comfort of the room, the quality of breakfast and our wellness area were worthy of your praise.

Regarding the storage space, we opted to have more open space in the room considering the low duration of the stay of the majority of our guests. However, beyond the standard rooms category we also have available deluxe rooms and suites where the storage space is bigger and more adequate for long stays. Concerning the clothes hangers, the reception is able to provide more when requested. In respect to the glass of shower, we have some rooms where it is totally opaque and if we have the honor of welcoming you again, we will have all the pleasure to assign you a room according to your preferences!

Thank you for all your suggestions which are very important to us in order to improve our standards and the quality of our service!

Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Really nicely designed hotel, which is clear as soon as you enter the reception area. The room are was very nicely designed, however slightly unpractical : no room to store your luggage, not enough storage rooms for your clothes, a very nice open bathroom concept but not enough light and no pegs to hang the bathrobes... A lot has been thought about the looks, but less about the practicalities.

A special feature is the lighting in the room : no individual switches, but the architects has chosen for "light moods" in the room. Consequence of this all is that, if you want to go to the restroom at night while your partner is sleeping, there is no option to switch on the light in the restroom only... (who invents this kind of concept ???)

But let it be clear : we enjoyed this hotel very much, despite the little unpractical elements. And I would definitely recommend it. A nice plus was the Nespresso facility in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear “Koen67”,

Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Regarding the lighting system, we are currently analyzing ways to make this system more user friendly. However, there is an option named “Wc night” that allow our guests to switch on the lights of restroom during the night without disturbing anyone. Regarding storage space, this was a dilemma we had at design staged and we opted to have more open space inside the room by having less storage space which would otherwise clutter it. However, we have our Deluxe Rooms which are bigger and more adequate for longer stays as they have more storage space. We will take in consideration all your suggestions!

Thank you once again for your recommendations! We hope to welcome you again in a near future!

Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Have excellence experience overall. Very nice, modern and clean room. Great location. Only 10 mins walk to major sites. Friendly and helpful staff. Special thanks to Carla for her kind help. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank May H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear “May H”,

Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing feedback! We are delighted to read your recommendation and to know that you had an excellent stay. In fact, providing to our guests a stay that exceeds their expectations is our main goal and we are glad and proud to know that it was achieved during your stay. We will share with Carla your opinion, she will be delighted to read it!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a not too distant future!

Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Inspira is well situated for the tourist. It is very near the centre of the City but in a quiet street. There are 2 Metro stations within 5 minutes walk and the main station to the Coast and Sintra us just another 5 minutes walk away.
The room we stayed in was a decent size and very clean. And we couldn't hear any other guests (and there were plenty staying!). The reception team were particularly friendly and always had time if you wanted to check things out (we were keen to go to a Benfica match and the woman we asked, who was a supporter, gave us great advice on what to do).
We would definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc-Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear “Marc-Mary”,

We are really grateful for this wonderful review. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our team as well our location and cleanliness of the room. It is truly important for us to be conscious about our guests’ feedback and it is such a pleasure to read reviews like the one you wrote.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herault, France
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well situated within walking distance of the centre of Lisbon. The room (I had requested a quiet room, and it was) was excellent not withstanding the quirks mentioned by others. The rooms are spacious and in my view, the most serious 'quirk' is the tiny space for hanging clothes. Breakfast is good, we didn't eat in the hotel in the evening. The free WIFI is fast.

The multilingual staff were just outstanding, both before arrival, as we arrived and throughout our stay, advising, suggesting and booking a taxi. We discussed the room shortcomings with the receptionists and they listened and passed on our suggestions. We understand that they have an upgrade programme underway.

Having read TA reviews before I booked, I wasn't sure that the hotel would suit us, but it did and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LifeinHerault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, Gerente de relações com clientes at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear “LifeinHerault”,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this amazing review! We are truly delighted about your recommendation and to know that you consider your room as excellent and the service of our staff as outstanding! We will share with the whole team your kind feedback, because it will be certainly an honor for all of them to read it! Regarding storage space, this was a dilemma we had at design staged, we opted to have more open space inside the room by having less storage which would otherwise clutter it.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Sara Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Marques
#24 of 251 in Lisbon
271 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#23 of 251 in Lisbon
874 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#29 of 251 in Lisbon
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,528 reviews
Vincci Liberdade
#14 of 251 in Lisbon
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inspira Santa Marta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inspira Santa Marta Hotel

Property: Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Address: R. de Santa Marta, 48, Lisbon 1150-297, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inspira Santa Marta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel is a medium-sized, trendy 4 star hotel offering an urban retreat to those visiting Lisbon for business or pleasure. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, in Rua de Santa Marta, just off Avenida da Liberdade. With a contemporary decor, Santa Marta Hotel offers 89 rooms of different categories. Here lighting, color, sound, energy and materials have been carefully designed and put together according to the principles of Feng Shui. The rooms are equipped with integrated, cutting-edge technology allowing guests the freedom to remain in touch with business colleagues, family and friends and to access local information - all at the touch of a button or two. Whether visiting Lisbon on business or leisure, our aim is to provide our guests with a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inspira Santa Marta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing