We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and friendly helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inspira Santa Marta Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inspira Santa Marta Hotel to your Saves list
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. de Santa Marta, 48, Lisbon 1150-297, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #30 of 239 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
East Peckham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great hotel and friendly helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The facilities at the Inspira Santa Marta are very good. The hotel was busy in numbers but you wouldn't have noticed it with the time and level of service given in all areas of the hotel. Everyone spoke very good english at the hotel so we didn't have any problems in getting help, directions or any service. The rooms were well designed and equipped. The glass shower enclosure in the bedroom had a colour tinted screen so I'm guessing the reservations previously noted by some reviewers had been taken into account and acted upon. It isn't possible to see the person in the shower from the bed (without a lot of effort!). The restaurant (called Open) served excellent food. The staff were very attentive and offered help with wine choices or clarity with the menu. We chose to have a cocktail on our last night there (look out for the buy one get one free offer!), and Ana from the restaurant came to the bar to make them for us. Her admission that she very rarely made "Cosmopolitans" didn't show, as they were the best ones we'd had for a long while. By chance she then served us in the restaurant for our meal, and suggested an excellent wine to go with our fish dishes. Not the most expensive one on the list by a long way, but the right choice of wine for sure. Superb service, so thanks Ana. The restaurant is also used for the breakfast area. Open style buffet breakfast, with a very good choice. Fruit, cereals, cold meats, breads, cooked items such as bacon, eggs, mushrooms etc. all available and replenished regularly. The Gym, Steam Room, Sauna, and Jacuzzi were all free for residents, so we tried them out one afternoon after a long walk round the city. All were in good working order, and the choice of machines in the gym were impressive. The massage treatment area was also very good. The treatment rooms were spotless, and the massages were very good too. Lisbon is quite hilly, and the hotel is just off the main Avenida De Liberdade. It's a bit of a slope from the there to the hotel, but once there, it is possible to walk south to the main squares without going back up the slope by using the small side roads.
Useful tip - It's very easy to use the Metro to get to the hotel from the airport. About 20 minute ride with one change of line. The metro is well signed and easy to get around with your bags.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear "Paul M"
Thank you for your gratifying feedback. We hope to welcome you back some day!
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    814
    105
    18
    8
See reviews for
252
1,351
82
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Good reviews prompted our stay at the Inspira Santa Marta hotel and we can only concur with all that's been said. It is a lovely place to stay and a very convenient location.
I would really like to mention the helpfulness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble which included booking our onward train journey to Porto.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BurleighBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear "BurleighBoy"
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in the hotel.
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredensborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's not a 5 star hotel, but compared to other 4 star hotels (I've visited) it's very good. Location is good, within walking distance to Down town or take the nearby metro, which will take you to just about anywhere you want to go in Lisbon. The hotel is obviously aimed primarily at couples, and I was there with my smal son, however the very competent and friendly staff makes a stay for anyone pleasant. The breakfast buffet is allright, and the restaurant is good ( I wouldn't say gourmet level, but the ambition is clearly high), with a few but well prepared dishes. The rooms are equipped with free Wifi, tea & coffe,so you can have a nice break at you room, and there's also a small jacuzzi and sauna, which both can fell crowded if you are more than 4 persons, but still a nice feature for another nice break, which sums it up.
This hotel is a nice break, and I would definitely consider going there with my wife (and as a Family) if we are going for a city break in Lisbon another time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VLauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear "VLauman"
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back with your family some time in the not too distant future.
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed 4 night in this great hotel. The staff were very friendly, our room was very comfortable and even when our shower blocked ,we were upgraded to a lovely suit with no fuss,which had everything we needed. The free wifi in the hotel was really useful and all mod cons in the rooms.
We had a meal in the open restaurant which was first class but the place lacked atmosphere which is a pity. Breakfast great, but not sure about the bar.
Would recommend and would definitely stay again if lucky enough to go back to lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear "Brian S"
Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel. We appreciate the time and trouble taken!
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed three days in one of the suites. The space of the room is enormous, got separate living and sleeping areas. Two separate toilets, very nice shower and a bath in the sleeping area (not really practical).
Had dinner in the restaurant at the night of arrival. Kitchen is very good!

Room Tip: Take a suite if one's available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear "Wil P"
Thank your for the great feedback further to your recent stay. We are glad you enhoyed the Suite!
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cádiz-Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Best experience in Lissabon. Beautiful design and comfortable clean rooms with all that you need for a relaxed stay. Everybody was most helpful and very friendly. I would recommend it to everyona visiting Lissabon. We will certainly go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZefiZan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear "ZefiZan"
Thank you for your great feedback...we look forward to welcoming you back some day!
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed this hotel. As others have mentioned the rooms are very modern with all the conveniences you require. Water, tea and nespresso all free in the rooms is a nice option. They also included a free ten minute massage in the spa and free cocktails in the bar. Staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arigold365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear "Arigold365"
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#18 of 239 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#15 of 239 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#31 of 239 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Porto Bay Liberdade
#19 of 239 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#111 of 239 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inspira Santa Marta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inspira Santa Marta Hotel

Property: Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Address: R. de Santa Marta, 48, Lisbon 1150-297, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 239 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inspira Santa Marta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel is a medium-sized, trendy 4 star hotel offering an urban retreat to those visiting Lisbon for business or pleasure. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, in Rua de Santa Marta, just off Avenida da Liberdade. With a contemporary decor, Santa Marta Hotel offers 89 rooms of different categories. Here lighting, color, sound, energy and materials have been carefully designed and put together according to the principles of Feng Shui. The rooms are equipped with integrated, cutting-edge technology allowing guests the freedom to remain in touch with business colleagues, family and friends and to access local information - all at the touch of a button or two. Whether visiting Lisbon on business or leisure, our aim is to provide our guests with a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Inspira Santa Marta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing