We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and convenient ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel
Ranked #33 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stay there for 4 nights during our first visit to Lisbon. The location is great. Short walks to Avenida da Liberdade and Marques de Pombal Square, but feels in a very peaceful, non-tourist neighborhood. A couple of local restaurants across the street are authentic, local and friendly.

The hotel staffs are mostly nice and helpful. We like the clean-line and tasteful interior designs. The hotel also displays a variety of unique art works near the reception desk and around the lobby. We asked where they are from. It turned out that they did this free for local disabled kids. A very nice way to show love and care. We bought three pieces of arts there. What great souvenirs to memorize this wonderful trip!

The only downside is that the hotel seems to struggle with their sewage system for a while. Our first room when check-in smell really bad. We informed the hotel. The manager came in with a maid immediately. After the cleaning work did not help much, they changed our room to a much better wing of the hotel and admitted that this has been an issue for a while.

Room Tip: Try to get a twin room or a suite with a bit extra cost. The double-bed room is much smaller and dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear "Brian M"
Thank you for taking your time to complete this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are also sorry about the smell of the first room, this is something that occurs when drains need to be unblocked and I can assure you there is no issue at all.
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 3,313 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

My friend and I stayed here but our shower was completely see through to the bedroom which made it very awkward for the both of us. i guess it would be okay if you were with your significant other......Also my bed was against a wooden platform (same height as bed) which made it difficult getting in and out. And the window was a bit of a joke.
The lady checking us in was unhelpful and not very pleasant; the other gentlemen was much nicer and offered to help us when the lady didn't.
Overall the hotel was okay and clean but I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCanadianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear "MCanadianTraveller"
Thank you for your comments. We were disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay - I can understand how the shower partition can be a little awkward for two persons, however, we also do have other rooms available without see through shower partitions and upon request, we can make them available. We were concerned to read about your check-in experience...As you will note from all the comments on Trip Advisor, this is not our usual standard - we have never had a comment about unpleasant staff.... Therefore, we sincerely hope that you will be able to reconsider if you are likely to return to Lisbon in the future...
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Rooms are perfectly functional - so you have to like that or go elsewhere. I did like it.

On the plus side: wireless is strong enough signal; coffee & tea can be prepared in the room; and they cleaned the room every day!

On the minus side: choice of teas = very limited; matrass was hard; and the main light above the table is simply not strong enough (for reading for example).

But overall: good choice. And: personnell are really helpful and friendly, and take their time to help you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superpaulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear "superpaulus"
Thank you for your comments pluses and minuses...with regards to the mattress, most of our guests like it but occasionally some might find it too hard, we can soften the mattress with special adapted mattresses on request...We are currently looking at the lighting above the table currently, thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Thank you for your comments about the staff, most encouraging! I hope next time we can be perfect!
Best Regards
Nick Roucos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Inspira. Many thanks to the staff - always very helpful. Special thanks to the young man that was attending to the bar in the afternoons. We think he was new to the job and we had a language problem but he tried very hard to serve us and we appreciate his effort. The hotell is in a great position - walking distance to Metro and parking underground a bonus

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear "lorraine s"
Thank you for your feedback - much appreciated.
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights and also made use of the treatments and the spa/jacuzzi. All in all, it was a very enjoyable, relaxing place to stay. The location was very convenient as well. The underground parking comes handy if you travel by car.

The staff was friendly and helpful. If you are into modern, clean hotels with fengshui interior, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris0979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear "Chris0979"
Thank you for your feedback and recommendation.
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel appears relatively new and certainly is very contemporary. The room was spacious and well appointed. The staff were helpful, attentive and efficient. Food at both breakfast and lunch was consistently good over a number of days. The location is quite central with easy access to metro stations and within walking distance of many places of interest. Overall - an easy place to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear "cpsz"
Thak you for your kind comments and recommendation.
Kindest regards from Sunny Lisbon!
Nick Roucos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel is well located just off the Avenida de Liberdade so you can walk from here to all the downtown areas. Bairro Alto can be reached by the funicular or a moderately steep climb. The rooms are well designed, neat and clean with a see-through shower area (loo separate), desk, area etc. The view from our room was into the hospital but their windows allow one to see into the wards only at night. We had real problems with the wifi for the first few days but after we wrote to the hotel manager, it was upgraded after which it worked very well. Breakfast is all buffet, varies little but is well chosen and covers all options. Nespresso machine and kettle in room. The public areas are striking and the architecture good. The aircon set on a low temperature kept the room cool when the temperatures hit the mid-30s. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baribegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspira1, General Manager at Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear "baribegum"
Thank you for your recent feedback further to your stay in Inspira Santa Marta.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and it will be a pleaure to receive you agian in the future!
Best Regards,
Nick Roucos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#42 of 255 in Lisbon
1,550 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,620 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#48 of 255 in Lisbon
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inspira Santa Marta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inspira Santa Marta Hotel

Address: R. de Santa Marta, 48, Lisbon 1150-297, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $99 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inspira Santa Marta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspira Santa Marta Hotel is a medium-sized, trendy 4 star hotel offering an urban retreat to those visiting Lisbon for business or pleasure. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, in Rua de Santa Marta, just off Avenida da Liberdade. With a contemporary decor, Santa Marta Hotel offers 89 rooms of different categories. Here lighting, color, sound, energy and materials have been carefully designed and put together according to the principles of Feng Shui. The rooms are equipped with integrated, cutting-edge technology allowing guests the freedom to remain in touch with business colleagues, family and friends and to access local information - all at the touch of a button or two. Whether visiting Lisbon on business or leisure, our aim is to provide our guests with a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inspira Santa Marta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing