We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Excursion We Have Ever Taken”

Lisbon Explorer Private Tours
Ranked #1 of 101 Food & Drink in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Private Tours For the Culturally Curious! Perfect for travelers, foodies and art lovers who want more than a mass tourism experience • Lively and knowledgeable experts • We are local scholars with a passion for the food, wine, culture and history of Portugal • Excellent English-speaking • Easy walks downhill, or luxury vehicles with heat and A/C • Insider tips on restaurants and places locals visit • FREE rides on historic trolleys • Access car-free historic quarters and go inside sights • No megaphones, headsets • Affordable. ----- To really know Lisbon one must go into the small maze-like streets of the city's old quarters, where automobiles are limited and real life unfolds in pedestrian friendly streets and squares. The young and vibrant guides and scholars who lead our tours are not part-time students or actors who memorize scripts, or offer free tours to large groups without advance reservations. We carefully choose historians who are talented at speaking on Lisbon's treasures, and the amazing stories beneath them. After each tour our staff is available to assist with free city maps, additional sights to see, and restaurant or shopping suggestions. We look forward to bringing Lisbon alive for you in truly amazing, historic and relevant detail.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Excursion We Have Ever Taken”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Paolo Scheffer is an amazing tour guide and through him, my husband and I saw Lisbon as an insider. Our small group of 6 people took public transportation to get around the city. We sampled Lisbon's famous custard tarts and benefited from Paolo's extensive knowledge of Lisbon's history, culture and people. We travel often and this excursion was the best we have ever taken. I only wish a tour guide of his caliber could be in every city we visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    954
    21
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Amazing Day with Paolo Scheffer”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

A fellow traveler on the Adventure of the Seas had told us about booking the day with Paolo on our trip in Lisbon and we decided to go along.

Paolo met us at the ship and said that he wanted us to experience Lisbon like the locals, so we started out taking a public bus into the center of the city. What fun.

Paolo is just an amazing guy.....and guide. A Portuguese native, he was educated at NYU and speaks English flawlessly. Some University is missing the boat, big time, by not having Paolo on their staff. He is an Art Historian and would make one of the most interesting professors I have ever seen. Did I say he is amazing?!!

Paolo took us on a walking tour of Lisbon. It was supposed to be a 3 hour tour and turned into nearly 5 hours. He not only showed us the "touristy" highlights of the city, but things that most of our shipmates never saw. We not only saw historical buildings, but Paolo really gave us a great picture of how the people in Lisbon live.

If you are going to Lisbon and want to experience the history AND local flavor, you can't go wrong with Paolo. Excellent day!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only book paolo scheffer, no one else”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were a party of four with limited time in Lisbon. We wanted a tour of the capital, preferably with some Jewish history included. I found the reviews on paolo and succeeded in booking him at short notice. It was the best choice we could EVER have made ... Paolo does not only know the history of the Portuguese Jewish community in minute detail but you feel as though you are living it with him. He takes you to little known places of relevant historical value, he has countless stories and theories derived from years of study and he just makes you want more and more. We recommend him as a must have part of your trip and we can't wait to return and book him again. He is wonderful company and you feel you have a new good friend by the end of the tour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Way to See Lisbon”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Here is another review in praise of Paolo Scheffer. We had asked for a Jewish tour of Lisbon and after reading the reviews requested Paolo. What a wonderful experience. His knowledge of Portuguese history is extraordinary and his presentation and enthusiasm made the three and a half hour tour fly by. My only regret is that we couldn't spend more time with him.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nmfMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paolo Scheffer is peerless”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My daughter and I just completed a tour of Lisbon with Paolo Scheffer. The tour, and Paolo, were beyond comparison. It was the best, most educational, and engaging tour I have ever taken. As an historian and teacher of art and history, Paolo had a limitless grasp of Portuguese history, from Roman times to the present, and brought it to life for us. Our tour consisted of only three persons, one of whom was Jewish, so we were the benefactors of an emphasis on Jewish history in Portugal and especially Lisbon, which was riveting. In addition, Paolo had great recommendations for eating and shopping. Can't recommend more highly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lisbon Explorer Private Tours also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Lisbon Explorer Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing