We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The highlight of our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lisbon Explorer Private Tours

Lisbon Explorer Private Tours
Ranked #1 of 88 Food & Drink in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Private Tours For the Culturally Curious! Perfect for travelers, foodies and art lovers who want more than a mass tourism experience • Lively and knowledgeable experts • We are local scholars with a passion for the food, wine, culture and history of Portugal • Excellent English-speaking • Easy walks downhill, or luxury vehicles with heat and A/C • Insider tips on restaurants and places locals visit • FREE rides on historic trolleys • Access car-free historic quarters and go inside sights • No megaphones, headsets • Affordable. ----- To really know Lisbon one must go into the small maze-like streets of the city's old quarters, where automobiles are limited and real life unfolds in pedestrian friendly streets and squares. The young and vibrant guides and scholars who lead our tours are not part-time students or actors who memorize scripts, or offer free tours to large groups without advance reservations. We carefully choose historians who are talented at speaking on Lisbon's treasures, and the amazing stories beneath them. After each tour our staff is available to assist with free city maps, additional sights to see, and restaurant or shopping suggestions. We look forward to bringing Lisbon alive for you in truly amazing, historic and relevant detail.
New york
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Do yourself a favor, book a tour with Lisbon Explorer. We were so lucky to have just the two of us with our guide Paolo for a wine tasting. Paolo should be cloned and sent off to major cities to do tours. His passion for his job is obvious, We felt lucky to have had him as our guide. We had an amazing night, wish I could do this tour once a week. Thank you Paolo and Antonio for this amazing experience we won't forget.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JUSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    19
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tour with Lisbon Explorer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We visited Lisbon in April 2014 and had an excellent tour of the Alfama district with our guide Justin. He had a wonderful knowledge of the history of Lisbon and its place in the world and made it come alive for us and our two teenagers. We toured the castle and walked through the winding streets of the old city district and learned about the rich history of Lisbon. We ended up in the best gelato shop in Lisbon (possibly the world) - Santini. Great tour, knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide and perfect introduction to this beautiful and fascinating city. I would highly recommend this tour!
.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Tour. You must do this. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We were in Lisbon on the day of the Champions League Cup Final so it was rammed with football fans from Madrid and around the world. Nevertheless, our guide Paolo took everything in his stride and effortlessly educated and entertained all 8 of us on the Tour (Hidden Lisbon). To say he had a wealth of knowledge would be a very significant understatement. Having lived in the States, his English was flawless and he dealt with questions patiently and expertly. If you're new to Lisbon I really cannot think of a better way to get acquainted with the city's vast history AND get recommendations on bars/restaurants/cool places to hang out. We even got a glass of the original Ginjinha bought for us! He went at a nice sedate pace so don't be put off by a 3-hour tour. I can't recommend Lisbon Explorer highly enough. We had a fantastic time.

Helpful?
1 Thank dgm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant tour of Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had 2 fantastic tours of Lisbon with Paolo from Lisbon Explorer (Jewish Lisbon and Alfama Tour). Both tours were excellent in both content and delivery. One encounters such a brilliantly engaging, knowledgeable and genuinely pleasant guide very rarely indeed. Paolo was able to recommend some good restaurants also and it was a genuine pleasure to talk to him about excellent food and wine of Portugal. We unhesitatingly endorse his tours and warmly commend him to you.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Galina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything worked out great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

It is a good feeling to make contact with a company and then have them do everything they said they were going to do!! This is exactly my experience with Lisbon Explorer...

Liliana was our guide.... Pretty great!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PriestOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lisbon Explorer Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Lisbon Explorer Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing