We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont visit Lisbon without Lisbon Explorer's guidance”

Lisbon Explorer Private Tours
Ranked #4 of 709 Tours in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Private Tours For the Culturally Curious! Perfect for travelers, foodies and art lovers who want more than a mass tourism experience • Lively and knowledgeable experts • We are local scholars with a passion for the food, wine, culture and history of Portugal • Excellent English-speaking • Easy walks downhill, or luxury vehicles with heat and A/C • Insider tips on restaurants and places locals visit • FREE rides on historic trolleys • Access car-free historic quarters and go inside sights • No megaphones, headsets • Affordable. ----- To really know Lisbon one must go into the small maze-like streets of the city's old quarters, where automobiles are limited and real life unfolds in pedestrian friendly streets and squares. The young and vibrant guides and scholars who lead our tours are not part-time students or actors who memorize scripts, or offer free tours to large groups without advance reservations. We carefully choose historians who are talented at speaking on Lisbon's treasures, and the amazing stories beneath them. After each tour our staff is available to assist with free city maps, additional sights to see, and restaurant or shopping suggestions. We look forward to bringing Lisbon alive for you in truly amazing, historic and relevant detail.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Having Paolo from Lisbon Explorer as our guide made our visit to Lisbon an unforgettable one. He explained the why's and if's in such a logical and striking way that we kept remembering his comments well after we left him. I beleive seeing this historic city with just some dry information is a waste, and I suggest anyone who will come to visit Lisbon to take advantage of the wonderful guiding service Lisbon Explorer is offering. It's well worth what you will pay..

Date of experience: January 2012
4  Thank erdalIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"paolo scheffer"
in 128 reviews
"jewish history"
in 164 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 96 reviews
"walking tour"
in 142 reviews
"art historian"
in 21 reviews
"come alive"
in 46 reviews
"personal story"
in 11 reviews
"wine bar"
in 30 reviews
"his passion"
in 33 reviews
"story teller"
in 15 reviews
"outstanding guide"
in 11 reviews
"hour tour"
in 37 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 28 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 28 reviews
"great tour"
in 39 reviews
"three hours"
in 14 reviews
"beautiful city"
in 20 reviews
Filter

935 - 939 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

We chose the Jewish Lisbon walking tour and had a wonderful experience. Our guide, Paolo, gave us insight into the overall history of Lisbon and Portugal with the added jewish aspects. He showed us the sights of lisbon and the beautiful views but also told us the stories behind the places and monuments. We are a family with 3 boys, 8, 13 and 15, and he held their interest the whole time, particularly the teenagers. We have had many tour guides on our holiday but Paolo was in our number one group. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: January 2012
Thank mumanddrmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We left this tour for the last day of our stay in Lisbon as we wanted in depth information on Alfama and it's history. We were not disappointed! Enjoyed how our guide Paulo was able to make history so interesting and left us with some facts we were never have thought about. We signed up for a group walk but because it was low season it was just the two of us. We covered much more and appreciated that he willing to go the extra mile.

Date of experience: January 2012
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our experience with Lisbon was fantastic in every sense. From the very beginning, I was really pleased with how attentive and prompt Antonio (the manager) was in all our email exchanges. He took the effort to give us some general advice on travelling in Lisbon, precautions to take in the area we were staying, and detailed directions to our meeting point with Paulo. Kudos to Antonio for such great customer service.

When we were on our private tour with Paolo, it felt like we were brought on a tour by a long-time penpal, as he took the effort to understand our interests and point out the sights and places (including restaurants) which would interest us. Paolo is also such a great story-teller that we could also visualise the history of lisbon and the various places we visited play out right before our eyes.

We also had a great time with Rita on our Secret Sintra tour. What a charming place Sintra is! We really appreciated the trip to the Monteiro Carvalho mansion with Rita and her amazing recommendation to the restaurant G-spot :)

I was initially skeptical about spending so much on private tours but I am so glad we did. Thanks for Lisbon Explorer for helping us discover and fall in love with Lisbon.

2  Thank Shirleyjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I highly recommend taking a tour with Lisbon Explorers. It was very easy to book. The meeting spot was easy to find (even with jet lag...had just arrived from North America). And the guide, Paolo, was interesting, informative, entertaining and so very helpful. It was the best thing to do at the beginning of the vacation as he gave us so many helpful hints and tips about travelling in Portugal, as well as the best history lesson!!! Loved it!!

Date of experience: December 2011
1  Thank LTKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lisbon Explorer Private Tours also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Lisbon Explorer Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing