We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food, spotty service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Cervejaria Pinoquio

Restaurante Cervejaria Pinoquio
Ranked #345 of 4,016 Restaurants in Lisbon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent food, spotty service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Came here for dinner on a Monday night and found that the restaurant had quite a few customers. I took a while to be seated and another while to be looked after. The outdoor seating and the view of the plaza were nice.

The food was decent with a good garlicky flavour. The portions were hearty and the the seafood and meat were done just right. Value was average.

My only issue with Pinoquio was that the service was inattentive and spotty at best, and we defaulted to Portuguese before English was spoken to us, so it didn't seem language was the problem. Overall, decent meal marred by questionable service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    498
    185
    90
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really good typical Portuguese restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had been here a couple of years ago and liked it so on a recent trip to Lisbon we went back and they remembered us. The food is simple but excellent ingredients and well cooked. The gambas a corda (fresh prawns simply boiled and served covered in rock salt) were fantastic and the pasta with seafood was spot on. Service can be a bit hit and miss and the NHS green paint on the walls a bit dated but we think it all adds to the fun. It's also very good value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jwctravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uzes, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The waiters all seem to have been here for years,and they seem to like it - so do the guests,many of them Portuguese,good food,reasonable prices,what's not to like?Good ambience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank drullputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, perfect restaurant, best seafood ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We loved this restaurant, It's 100 % Portuguese, staff is impeccable and food!!! we had clams with coriander and garlic, the combination was so so perfect, small shrimp from the coast with salt and pica pau (beef with garlic and laurel) with the best french fries you can imagine. Next day we started again with the clams and then had grouper in the oven, also a specialty. Then unfortunately we left, but will have to return for the seafood rice!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cabeça de garoupa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Predominantly a fish restaurant used by locals. Absolute have to on every visit. Perfect downtown location, simply designed with the small outside garden, always busy. Highly recommended yummy oven dish, baked jewfish head with potatoes and veggies. Slightly pricier place for Lisbon, but worth it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelKat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Cervejaria Pinoquio also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Cervejaria Pinoquio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing