We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic restaurant in Barrio Alto”

As Salgadeiras Restaurante
Reserve with
As Salgadeiras Restaurante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #144 of 4,680 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Reviewed January 1, 2014

A lovely, romantic restaurant in Barrio Alto. The earliest seating was 7:30 and we were the only ones there. Seems like the night gets busier much later in Lisbon on the weekends. Nevertheless, the service was excellent! The wait staff were attentive, charming and friendly and were more than willing to walk you through the menu and recommend wine pairings.

The food was also excellent! We recommend the Bacalhau Trio (salt cod) for two, which is a great way to sample a staple of the Portuguese diet done three ways. The scramble amazingly tasted like crab, even without any crab in it! We were so full afterwards that we couldn't have dessert but the waiter convinced us to have Pasteis de Nata fresh from the oven and it was incredible! One of the best pastels I have ever had!

Two notes: We had left something at the restaurant and had to return to retrieve it. The wait staff had already set it aside and were ready for us and handled it with much humour. Very charming! Second note: if you are walking, make sure to double check the route with your concierge to make sure that you take the gradual climb up to Barrio Alto. They call it Barrio ALTO for a reason.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assalgadeiras, Public Relations Manager at As Salgadeiras Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Hi,

Thanks for preference.

I hope see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 243 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

The restaurant is very popular, so you will need to make reservations. The food was very good. The best steak (and the most expensive) I had during my week in Lisbon. The restaurant is beautiful and is located in the most vibrant part of town. The service was disappointingly slow and indifferent - something that is easier to accept at a more inexpensive establishment. The Head Waiter was more concerned with maintaining an aura of exclusivity than actually taking care of guests. I am a big TA fan, but it was a bit annoying that just about everyone in the restaurant seemed to be fellow TripAdvisors. To sum it up: great food, ok service, cute decor, great location, but not many local diners.
Note to management: the lock on the door to the women's restroom was broken.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assalgadeiras, Public Relations Manager at As Salgadeiras Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Hi,

Thanks for preference.

I hope see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This restaurant serves traditional Portuguese dishes of the highest quality. Try the fish soup, the best I have ever had.
We had a long, leasurely dinner, great service, comfortable traditional environment.

Thank mp9542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assalgadeiras, Public Relations Manager at As Salgadeiras Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Hi,

Thanks for preference.

I hope see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Lovely local restaurant. Very helpful Service and the food was excellent. The wine was good and they gave us a complementary Port at the end of the meal.

Thank Geoff_W_Abbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assalgadeiras, Public Relations Manager at As Salgadeiras Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thanks for preference :)

We hope see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

A great place serving nice food at affordable prices. The exterior does not look too attractive (to be honest, like most places in Bairro Alto) but interior is really nice and romantic. Food was great, especially the lamb chops. One starter + 2 mains + 2 glasses of wine and you are looking at Eur 50 bill but definitely worth it. After food they also serve a simple port on the house. Don't go there before 8pm though or you risk to be the only one. Life usually kicks off around 8.30 pm and you definitely need to book at least in the morning if coming Thu/Fri/Sat. There are lots of bars around the area in case you need to spend some time before dinner. Overall, 9/10 restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank endis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assalgadeiras, Public Relations Manager at As Salgadeiras Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thanks for preference :)

I see that you know well Bairro Alto.

Next time you can visit the "Cultura do Chá". It's a place to drink a tea or eat a snack before lunch or dinner.

It's next to te restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed As Salgadeiras Restaurante also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to As Salgadeiras Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing