We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

As Salgadeiras Restaurante
Reserve with
As Salgadeiras Restaurante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 4,140 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

As Salgadeiras is located in Barrio Alto, a district with many restaurants and bars. The place is cozy, and it was busy so I recommend you to make a reservation. As starters we had shrimps with garlic butter, Melon carpaccho with ham and goatcheese, both excellent! As mains the lamb rack (see picture), and filet mignon with roquefort, both dishes well prepared and very tasty!

As dessert we had the chocolate souflet and chocolate chiffon, it doesn't matter which one you choose they are absolutely delicious. Both of them. So leave some space so you can have a dessert.

The wines are good! The service is excellent, the guys are polite, and so is Jose Antonio, the owner, a very kind and friendly person.

Absolutely wordt the visit in Lisbon!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assalgadeiras, Owner at As Salgadeiras Restaurante, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for your words in the name of all staff
MERRY CHRISTMAS
José António
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    237
    68
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montana Rose
Level Contributor
954 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Definitely worthy of a visit or two”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We ate here our last night in Lisbon and really enjoyed this dining experience. If we had stayed in Lisbon longer (or lived there), we'd definitely return just to try more of their starters and mains. It was difficult choosing what to order because all the dishes sounded so good - and looking around at other's meals - it all looked wonderful.

For starters we tried the cod cakes (lots of cod, very similar to a crab cake) and the octopus tartar (very tender pieces smothered in a tasty sauce)….soo delicious. For our main course, we decided to share the cod trilogy, since we love cod and wanted to try all their different styles. Amazingly, they all were quite different. They were all very good or excellent. Our favorite was the one we thought we like the least ('A Braz' style - it was truly excellent), the Salgadeiras style was a close second. Our least favorite was the Barrio Alto style (which was still very good just a bit drier and saltier tasting). I know it's a matter of taste preference, so I'm sure everyone has a different favorite. The trilogy is a lot of food for two people, and we couldn't finish it all - especially since we also had starters. For desert we split the soothing "lemon sorbet with vodka". We were also served a small glass of port. Overall, we felt the food was a very good value for money.

As far the restaurant itself goes…it truly has a wonderful atmosphere….rustic, yet romantic and elegant. It's a fairly small place so be sure to reserve a table if you don't want to be disappointed. The staff are great….they are very friendly, funny, helpful and appear to really enjoy their work. We felt like guests there - not just customers. The restaurant was completely booked when we were there, so sometimes the pace of service was a bit slow (so expect 2-3 hours for dinner). We weren't in a hurry, so it didn't bother us much, but others may not be so patient. 4.5 stars overall

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assalgadeiras, Public Relations Manager at As Salgadeiras Restaurante, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thanks for preference :)

We hope see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It should be better”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Celebrating a special ocasion I took may GF to what I beelived to be a great diner. But what we get was under our expectations. In fact, for such higt prices the food should be perfect. But it was just a good steak and an average cod. Only the deserts of the day were realy amasing, (as its price also were!). The place is nice as it was a old bakery and it is full of old things that are not enough to make a concept. The atmosphere does not deliver.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manecas62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assalgadeiras, Owner at As Salgadeiras Restaurante, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hello good afternoon
And curious each time we get close to the top spots appears always someone saying it wrong
We continue to do our job the best we can and can not us it no competition and our work,we accept all criticism less those meaningless nor constructive
We are aware that we can't please everyone,but we try
If You were in the Salgadeiras THANK You very MUCH for your visit
José António
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Lovely Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely little restaurant right in the heart of Bairro Alto. Couvert of black olives, garlic butter and tuna moose with bread were beautiful, as were the filet mignon steaks. We were recommended a beautiful red which complimented the food beautifully. Staff were very friendly and the restaurant is cozy and welcoming. Would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assalgadeiras, Owner at As Salgadeiras Restaurante, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi on my own behalf and on behalf of all the staff
THANK YOU VERY MUCH
José António
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best codfish ever”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This restaurant is excellent. Good food, wine and environment. The staff is really friendly and caring. Me and my family ate "Trilogia do bacalhau" and it was wonderful. In the end we even got as courtesy Port wine and "Pastel de Nata".

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FernandaPimenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assalgadeiras, Owner at As Salgadeiras Restaurante, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
On My own behalf and on behalf of everyone who works in this House
THANK YOU
José António
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed As Salgadeiras Restaurante also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to As Salgadeiras Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing