We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite an enjoyabe meal”

As Salgadeiras Restaurante
Reserve with
As Salgadeiras Restaurante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 4,140 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quite an enjoyabe meal”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Came to this place mainly due to the rating and proximity of our hotel. Was very happy with the experience we had here. Started off with some white port which wasn't the best, but a nice change from regular port. Split the mussels which were enormous and very tasty. Then for the mains I had the filet mignon portuguese style, and my wife had the bull tenderloin. Unfortunately we weren't able to finish as we'd eaten tons of pastries during the day, but luckily they let us have a takeaway box so we can enjoy the rest of it tomorrow. The staff was excellent as was the ambiance. The red wine recommended was very as was the final glass of port in cigar shaped glasses. Thanks again to the staff, we had a great time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assalgadeiras, Owner at As Salgadeiras Restaurante, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hello Mr. Ryan,we are delighted to have enjoyed our food our space and our hospitality.I hope you enjoyed the candy the next day,thank you very much for your compliment.José António
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    237
    69
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
233 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and it did not disappoint. Warm ambience. Food was great. The service was friendly and professional - Luis, David and Bruno are a great team. We had a great wine recommendation for dinner and an amazing port suggestion afterwards - '69 "moon landing" - well worth the price! We'd definitely return - great place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rajithavinnakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assalgadeiras, Owner at As Salgadeiras Restaurante, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
thank you,we were very pleased when our clients praise us this way,thank you all,on behalf of the whole team .José António
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingør, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I can only agree with the previous remarks. It was by far the best food we had in our week in Losbon, and by far the most professional and pleasant staff. My husband and I shared a starter of cod carpaccio which was superb, afterwards we both had goat, and it was absolutely unforgettable. Also, the wine recommendations were excellent. If you're in Lisbon, don't miss this great place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dane52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assalgadeiras, Owner at As Salgadeiras Restaurante, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hello Good evening
I was very happy to have a last nigth so
pleasant in SALGADEIRAS
Thank You
José António
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great service and skillful kitchen”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had no idea where to go, and this place was one of our hotel's recommendations. Not their top recommendation, but this one sounded more authentic and down-to-earth than the other ones they suggested. The staff are experts-- expert at explaining the menu, expert at helping you choose, expert at making you feel like old friends and just generally making your evening pleasant. The dishes were unexpectedly subtle and complex-- granted, I'm not an afficionado of Portuguese cuisine, but this restaurant gave me a new appreciation of what's possible. Altogether a joyful evening with happy servers, tasty menu and great surroundings. (Also were pleased to hear no other English-speakers in the restaurant that night, mostly Portuguese)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernest S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assalgadeiras, Owner at As Salgadeiras Restaurante, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hello Good evening
I was very happy to have a last nigth so
pleasant in SALGADEIRAS
Thank You
José António
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I visited this restaurant with my friend, Lara, as recommended by our hotel and well it ws the best dinner and night out in Lisbon! We were greeted with a glass of wine and seated to our table. The food was delicious- i had the pork dish and it was delicious!! the setting of the restaurant was wonderful and romantic, and was a great start to a fab night out in Bairo Alto! The waiters in particular Luis was very attentive and friendly and had great suggestions of the best places to go in Lisbon! All in all it was a superb meal, it changed my life, and I would definitely return again =)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melissa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assalgadeiras, Owner at As Salgadeiras Restaurante, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
thank you,this kind of praise gives us strength to work more and better José António
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed As Salgadeiras Restaurante also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to As Salgadeiras Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing