We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local charm”
Review of Madragoa Cafe

Madragoa Cafe
Reserve with
Madragoa Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 4,235 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $12 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Madragoa Cafe is a place where you can find a traditional Portuguese cuisine, where the products used are fresh and Portuguese. The predominant wines are from the Douro region, however it is possible to find wines from other regions. The dishes are a selection of some of the best that each region of Portugal has to offer. The desserts are traditional and some are made at the restaurant. The affection with which clients are received, that comes from the heart. See you soon!
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local charm”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Antonio and Cristina provide a fantastic, authentic Portuguese dining experience. Cristina was especially attentive in providing an exceptional vegetarian meal. The menu has several vegetarian items, but be sure to ask about the options for vegetarian entrees.
My travelling companion enjoyed a fabulous seafood entree.
We will definitely go back if we are in Lisbon in the future.
Thanks for a great dining experience Antonio and Cristina!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KOG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    191
    51
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“What a gem and so reasonably priced!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We read about this wonderful cafe on Trip Advisor and it certainly lived up to it's excellent reviews. The atmosphere is very welcoming and intimate. The menu was fully explained to us in English as was the wine list. Our mains were excellent and well presented. We were offered desert which we shared and this was also very tasty. While we were there quite a few people came and the same service was offered to everyone with an explanation of the menu and the wine list. Definitely worth putting on your dining out list if in Lisbon. If they weren't closed on a Tuesday we would have gone back again for dinner to try other offerings from their menu. We actually had to ask if he had under charged us when we received our account!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dh282828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food Made With Love”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I were visiting Lisbon and the concierge of our hotel highly recommended this place, so we decided to give it a try. The food was outstanding. We shared the most delicious sardines and grilled prawns for appetizers, and a Cataplana (which had fresh seafood and potatoes) and a Cod dish for entrees. The whole meal was amazing from beginning to end. The prices were reasonable and the owners offered the most outstanding service I have had in a restaurant, to the extent that I went back the day after with friends (our friends agreed they had an amazing experience as well). Moreover, the day that we were sitting out on their terrace we were lucky enough to listen to life Jazz music while we were enjoying our meal. Without a doubt this restaurant was one of the highlights of our trip to Lisbon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colombo_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful Home Cooking”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The discovery of Madragoa Cafe has been the culinary highlight of my stay in Lisbon. I virtually never return to the same place to eat twice on a short stay - but in this case I am. The special Bacalhau Madragoa is amazing - an invention of the cook, who is there due to her passion for food and entertaining her 'guests'. You really shouldn't miss the home-baked chocolate cake either, but then I think it's one of those rare places where everything on the menu is delicious. I certainly recommend booking, as Madragoa Cafe is becoming more popular and seats are few... enjoy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveller T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lisbon Restaurant Gem”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We dined at Madragoa Cafe in late May 2013. Located on a quiet street, we liked the charming decor and friendly welcome by the owners/chef Antonio and Cristina when we arrived. The food was local, inovative, well presented and delicious. The owners gave us a tour of the small kitchen and showed us various family antiques. It was one of the best meals of our trip with savory and satisfying cuisine, enjoyed in a cozy, casual environment. Prices were very modest. Location: Rua da Esperanca, 134; Phone 213 978 567; madragoacafe@gmail.com. Steve & Janet from Seattle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madragoa Cafe also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Madragoa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing