We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Madragoa Cafe

Madragoa Cafe
Reserve with
Madragoa Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #113 of 4,224 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $12 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Madragoa Cafe is a place where you can find a traditional Portuguese cuisine, where the products used are fresh and Portuguese. The predominant wines are from the Douro region, however it is possible to find wines from other regions. The dishes are a selection of some of the best that each region of Portugal has to offer. The desserts are traditional and some are made at the restaurant. The affection with which clients are received, that comes from the heart. See you soon!
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The atmosphere, the food, the wines, the deserts, the service, the location, everything is just great! I spent a wonderful time in one of the most charismatic restaurants of Lisbon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luizadedisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    191
    51
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“Madragoa...”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Eating in Madragoa was more than just having some food , it was an event. A beautiful little place in a lovely neighbourhoud, Portuguese in every sense. The house wine was very good and the "bacalhau" delícious.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodolfo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Cristina Pereira and Antonio Enes run a delightful little place in the Madgragoa section of Lisbon. We heard of the place through TA. Unfortunately, based on advice from the concierge we did not make a reservation (it was a weekday) and we had to wait a fair bit (it is a small place -- about 7 or 8 tables). But the evening was thoroughly enjoyable for three reasons. First Cristina and Antonio love what they do and make you feel at home. Second, the place has charm and exudes warmth and hospitality. Finally, the food is excellent. We had a codfish starter and veal for the main course (we had already had a fair amount of seafood by this point) -- but I wish I'd tried the cataplana also.Good luck, Cristina and Antonio!--Nazir

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nazzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One good place to go”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The first advice i will give you, is forget about the street and the situation,
Yes from outside it doesn't look as one of the best restaurant of Lisbon..
And it is probably not one of the best restaurant of Lisbon... But for sure, it is a very very good restaurant...
The food is well done, the products are fresh, the smile and the service is one of the best of Lisbon.. they really receive you.. nearly as they will receive someone at home..
It is a typical Portuguese food, but very well done..
So i had a very good moment, we were 7 at the table and the restaurant were full and it was just like as we were alone... Beautiful..
Last but not least, the price.. you can barely leave your wallet at the hotel ! They offer a very good price for their cuisine..
You probably need a taxi to get there so i only will give you one advice,
Make a reservation !!! a small phone call, helps !! Otherwise you will be as many people we saw saying 'Oooh it's full'
enjoy your meal !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gvincke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Definitely worth a visit..”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We are a young couple from Sydney and had just arrived in Lisbon...we were also a little hungry! This place was great...not only were Cristina & Anthony very welcoming, they also went out of their way to ensure we understood the menu as well as suggest a few of their recommendations. The food was delicious and we ended up chatting away to them well after the doors had closed. It was a great introduction to Lisbon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daniel4862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madragoa Cafe also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Madragoa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing