We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Portugese Restaurant”
Review of Madragoa Cafe

Madragoa Cafe
Reserve with
Madragoa Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #119 of 4,178 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $12 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Madragoa Cafe is a place where you can find a traditional Portuguese cuisine, where the products used are fresh and Portuguese. The predominant wines are from the Douro region, however it is possible to find wines from other regions. The dishes are a selection of some of the best that each region of Portugal has to offer. The desserts are traditional and some are made at the restaurant. The affection with which clients are received, that comes from the heart. See you soon!
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Portugese Restaurant”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great little Portugese Restaurant. Lovely couple running the place.

Book as the place is small.

Menu in Portugese but the husband translates (very quickly!)

Started we had ham and cheese platter (sheeps cheese is an unique taste and there was quite a lot of it)

Salmon and pasta for main with lovely flavours.

the wife said she would do a mixture of pudins for us as we didn't have room for one each, so she put 6 different puddings on a plate for the 6 of us, and they were devine!

Very reasonable and was a great find. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience of portugese food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    770
    189
    51
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The epitome of customer service”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I are on the first stop of our honeymoon and have never been to Portugal, let alone Europe. After a late nap from jet lag we woke up starving and found Madragoa Cafe on trip advisor. We did not know they closed at midnight and showed up after 11 o'clock. Even though they told us they could not cook a new dish for us (which we understood), they offered us their dish of the day that was already made, a table, a warm smile and welcomed us into what felt like their home. In America we would have had the door slammed in our face, but even with our bad timing and telling them we only had 30 euros (we were hoping for credit) they still said, "take a seat" with a smile and offered us course after course of Bread, house wine, cod and potatoes a fresh garden salad and a slice of chocolate cake. We stayed well beyond their midnight closing time sharing a warm conversation and many gratitudes for their kindness. Long story short, if you are in Lisbon, want a home cooked authentic meal, want to speak directly to the owners/chefs/hostesses/servers then you must meet this all in one duo who will welcome you into their restaurant and fill your bellies with Portugal's best. They took a night that could have ended with a very sour walk to the McDonalds down the street and changed it into an amazing experience that we will never forget. Just don't follow our example and remember, no credit cards, they open at 7:30 and they prefer reservations. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colemarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Reading the reviews below, we obviously didn't have a typical experience at this restaurant, but I think it is worth mentioning. When we arrived at around 8pm the restaurant was busy, a number of groups had arrived simultaneously. It took around half an hour for our order to be taken. Unfortunately, it was a further 1.5 hours before my wife received her starter at 10pm. The main courses didn't arrive until after 10.30. To be fair, the waiter apologised around 10pm but was unable to hurry the kitchen much. The food was fine, but not worth the wait. I would have walked out earlier, but my wife was desperate to eat something. An American couple in the corner appeared to have a completely different experience, receiving a number of dishes while the rest of the restaurant waited for theirs. There didn't appear to be much logic to this.

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel, as well as on here, so obviously this was a bad night, but I would strongly advise diners to avoid it if it looks busy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank Sr_Moreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadragoaCafe, Proprietário at Madragoa Cafe, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Sr_Moreno
As stated in your review, this was not a typical experience and we agree.
Nevertheless, we do not agree with your assessment because you liked the food, liked the place just did not liked the wait time, which in our opinion does not seem to warrant a "Terrivel".
In fact, your request has taken longer than normal, that is why we apologized at the time. We took you a starter so that you could be eating something during the waiting time.
Also as mentioned, the restaurant was full, several people had arrived at the same time, which of course, creates a delay in the execution of the orders and generates some confusion.
You also refer that there were people who had a very differente experience from yours, which is perfectly normal and natural. You just need to read the various reviews that have been made in relation to our restaurant.
Regarding time, we do not agree with you because you have arrived after 20:00 and the food arrived at your table before 22:30.
We think your final assessment does not reflect the total of your experience, because we believe that your "terrible" does not apply in this case.
However, opinions are personal and in places like TA you can have yours without bodering with the bad you're doing to other people.
We hope to serve you better at the next opportunity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous meal in Lisbon!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Cristina and Antonio were the best hosts we could have imagined. When we sat down, Cristina walked us through the entire menu in English so we knew what our options were. She answered all of our questions. Then Antonio came over to explain the wine. We went with cataplana, a seafood stew, wish they assured us would be enough for 2. It was enough for more than 2. It was delicious! Cristina and Antonio continually walked around the restaurant to make sure everyone was enjoying their meals and to speak with them. She cooks all the food herself. They are so friendly and the restaurant has a lovely atmosphere. At the end of the meal, we tried a port wine made from Antonio's family and a house made "hot water" drink. We decided at the last minute to go for dessert and couldn't choose which, so Cristina prepared us a dessert sampler. The restaurant was so accommodating and delicious, and we hope to go back when we are in Lisbon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fair experience”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I tried this restaurant using a voucher bought from a website. It is a typical Portuguese restaurant, where the food tastes really good, the staff is warm and welcome and prices are fair (even without the voucher). Definitely worth a visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Xprodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madragoa Cafe also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Madragoa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing