We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overprized...”

Restaurante Adega do Ribatejo
Ranked #3,471 of 4,140 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $19 - $26
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
638 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“Overprized...”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This restaurant is focused on how to get as much as possible money from the customers but not pleasuring them.OK,fado concert was nice but you don't feel comfortable there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pawel_hbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    48
    30
    39
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A Shallow . . .”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

. . . but not really mean tourist trap. There is certainly no gangsters' rip off but Restaurante Adega do Ribatejo is a shallow tourist trap as most things are mediocre or below - except the prices. The worst is the poor food. For tourists the restaurant still has an acceptable ambience and nothing is really wrong with the service and there is also an acceptable fado music - but everything is grossly overpriced and quite probably living just from tourists who do not know better but would most probably never return. Neither would I. But there would be more than 6 billion other people on earth to go through it - if there was no Tripadvisor...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Easy_Flying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend an evening”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a fun spot for a reasonably-priced meal and a good round of entertainment. The food is fair, but there are a few nice selections that are tasty. The reason to dine here is the fado. The staff take turns belting out a tune (including the owner) and one guest singer turned out be as good a fado performer as any I've ever seen. There are plenty of fado restaurants in the neighborhood and most are outrageously expensive. If your budget is modest, this is a great choice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RodgerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So sad to see it go this way...”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I've been coming to the Adega Do Ribotejo, on and off, for about 25 years now. I remember discovering the place on a cold mid-week night in March on a business trip and being enchanted with the bustling atmosphere and the way the cook and waitresses would take turns to sing Fado to the clientele who were mainly Portuguese... always a good sign. But alas, no more... it is now listed in the "Rough Guide" and it is cashing in on its reputation. 78 Euro for a single course, two bottles of house wine meal is just taking advantage. It still has traces of the original about it, and I loved the atmosphere of gentle chaos and amateur singing.... But no more, this is our last time. So sad to see it go this way.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DaveySheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like a mafia-restaurant”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We told the taxidriver to bring us to a medium-cheap restaurant maybe with fado. We were brought There in 5 minutes, but i was shocked when i saw the driver had known the owner- i felt like i had been sold on a market like a sheep. The owner gave us a table, he brought everything although we hadn't sat down. So we did it. There were some starters ( nothing special, some ham, some cheese, some bread, some butter). Then we took pork with fries. Nothing special. 13€ was much, but we didnt want to search again. The fado was loud but not good. My sister (7 years) said: what cat is singing there :) when the waiter brought the bill, i was shocked: 133€ : two porks, one fish, one beef, a plate with fries for my sister. Meats 13€, and the first shock were the 8,50 for the fries. Then the show went on. 10€ for ham, 10 for cheese, 10 for simple bread, 8 for BUTTER. 25€ for a bottle ow houswine?! 15 euro for 3 cokes and 2 waters. When we controlled the bill, we saw that there were 4 € for a dessert we never had and they wanted 3 euro too much on top of that. When they wanted to sell a fado cd, it was enough. We Paid the bill qnd left the restaurant. It was our fault, we knew, but in an pther restaurant, we Pay 60% of that. The food also hadnt been the best, but that was not the point. The point was that we felt kidded, sad (we wasted a hole evenIng with that) and we knew we had made a big tourist mistake, somethong like that mustnt happen to sUch expierienced travelers like us. My tip: search a family restaurant in alfama: cleaner, cheaper, better food. Sorry for grammatik- and wordmistakes, i know, my english is not the best and this was written on a smartphone :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeDalton7460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Adega do Ribatejo also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Adega do Ribatejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing