We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of GoCar Tours

GoCar Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Private Tour: Lisbon and Sintra Sightseeing Tour by Convertible Beetle
Ranked #62 of 446 Tours in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: GoCar is an entirely new way to explore a city. These nifty yellow convertibles talk to you and take you on a city tour you'll never forget. The advanced navigational capabilities of the GPS deliver an informative tour, high-lighting specific locations throughout Lisbon as you drive. Just follow the friendly audio directions and relax.Voted as one of the best tourism services available in Portugal in 2010
2 reviews
“Big fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We did the Belem tour on the segways and it was a blast! After almost 3 hours of sightseeing and a delicious pastry we actually didn't want to stop. Good job!

Thank Cookie-Monster201295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Did not like this - felt like punishment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I had to stop the vehicle as the directions were not very good. We could not turn around or go backwards. The noise and vibration and fumes were so bad - it was an abomination. I had stinging pain from the exhaust in my eyes and could not do much except return the vehicle to the shop. We luckily had brought our own map of Lisbon - otherwise we would not have been able to find our way back. Strictly avoid - it's misery!!!!

Visited July 2012
2 Thank mskatymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“so much fun......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We took a tiny yellow talking car out to the Alfama district. Couldn't stop laughing the whole way round and was probably quite dangerous on the road at first but soon got used to it. We did get a bit lost but the GPS soon recognised the location and re-directed us.
We felt this was good value for money and a great way to see Lisbon and the little tiny streets in the old town. The cars have a sensor that allows you into the restricted areas. The staff were very helpful.

Visited July 2012
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our party of 8 had soooo much!!! We loved being able to honk and wave at all the people on the streets...it was truly a blast.

Visited June 2012
Thank Teri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ruined my marriage”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

If you want to ruin your marriage, take your wife on this trip. Horrible suspension, gps, comfort, etc. you will spend more time arguing with one another about who's idea this was and how to get back to drop off that horrible machine. I had to use my own gps to get back. Don't you even think about doing this.

4 Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietário at GoCar Tours, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Hi Andrew

First of all i would like to apologize for your experience at Gocar Tours Lisboa.

We checked your booking to try to understand what could have been so wrong that would make you express your opinion in a hard way.
Your rental was made at 6 July and you were out for 90 minutes on a Gocar. Despite all the problems you reffer on your review you never tried to get in contact with the store to get any help despite having a cell phone and the number of store on both sides of the car. This could change your experience and we always breif our clients to call us in case of any problem. As you noticed Lisbon has been trhough major public contructions that gaves us some hard time concerning the Gps system. The problems have been solved and everything is running smooth now.
We have more than 100 reviews with 5 satrs and were voted as one of the best experiences to do in Lisbon By Turismo de Portugal so we honestly do what we can to provide to all our costumers the best experience getting to know Lisbon. To compensate for your experience we took 30 minutes out from your time ( 10 euros discount) and you were charged for the minimum fee possible compensating the time you were lost.

If you ever come back to Lisbon, please get in touch with us so we can offer you a free ride and hopefully provide you a great experience.


João Paiva Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GoCar Tours also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District

Been to GoCar Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing