We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of best hotels we ever stayed at..a surprising gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
Ranked #3 of 231 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Agoura, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of best hotels we ever stayed at..a surprising gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

This charming vintage sea captains house has been lovingly restored to its original splendor by Rui; and his team; and exceeds all expectations of quality, beauty; and warmth. Only 6 unique rooms; but all have great design features; unique bathrooms; highest quality towels, and service that exceeds any major chains. The breakfast creations are just sumptious; and the room overlooks the river.
A bit hard to find; as there is no signage; you need to call and get 'walked in' via voice tips..near the old Jewish quarter; great Fado music; shops, and food. easy walking to city center, and train stations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinetheConejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
287
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Renwick, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

It took us 5 min to find it ( we had to ask The restaurant next door!) but when a Georgeous man open the door to his house we were sold.
It's a private hotel with massive rooms, perfect service and close to the city center.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwanM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

One of the most interesting hotels I have ever stayed at. Lots of period charm and tasteful antiques. In a funky area of Lisbon with a range of bars and restaurants near by. Nice breakfast. Its a bit difficult to find but it's worth the effort!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purpledoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

What a beautiful place. Our stay was lovely. The rooms were huge and well decorated, virtually an apartment (Sonja Suite). The linens were crisp and clean and the towels were plush. The owner was very welcoming and made you feel like a friend staying in his home. Rui also had wonderful recommendations for our dinners. The breakfast was fantastic with breads, meats, cheeses, fruit, and eggs served on china. We highly recommend this place for something truly unique and personal.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senji1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

An amazingly beautiful place, and a fantastic location, where you can walk to everything! The house is just stunning and the host very helpful. I wish we had more than one night to enjoy the place!

Room Tip: Not every room is antique styled like the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sive99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed for one night but wished we could have stayed for much longer. I can only add to the praise being heaped on the Palacete by other reviewers here. The people are lovely, the building is stunning, the story of the renovation is fascinating, the room (we stayed in Suite Sonya) is beautiful, the breakfast is wonderful, the location is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSJS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

From Rui's meeting us on the street to carry our bags up the stairs to the Palace, we were treated as friends, albeit royal ones, throughout our stay. The Palacete is astonishingly beautiful and overlooks the water. Each room is stunning and has unique character and the blooming terraces are incomparable. The restoration of this Palace has clearly been a labor of love. They have combined the elegance of old Lisbon with a modern flair and 21st century style.
Our room was spectacular; elegant and huge with a terrace overlooking the ocean and a world class ultra modern bathroom.
I will admit it is a hard place to find but don't give up. The medieval neighborhood in which it lives is the best of Lisbon.
Rui was generous with information about the palace and the not to miss sites. He visited with us each morning as we dined on many course breakfasts served on antique china by the friendliest staff imaginable. He helped us with dinner reservations, even walking us to a nearby favorite restaurant Sunday night.
I am a traveller and this was the best place I have ever stayed. Go there.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pegitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei

Property: Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
Address: Travessa Chafariz de El-Rei 6, Lisbon 1100-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 6 amazing and luxurious suites with direct river views and in the heart of the city, this family house has the highest level of service, letting you feel at home from the moment you enter the front door. The excellence of the service and the comfort of the house brings light to the new Home Boutique Hotel concept.With distinctive and unique lounges with many different styles, the house has a range of possibilities to organize parties, press conferences, weddings, meetings, business meals and all kind of events.For those who prefer a more cozy and familiar ambience, either on business or leisure, the Palacete Chafariz D’El Rei is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacete Chafariz d`El Rei Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing