We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place I ever stayed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
Ranked #3 of 229 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place I ever stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

From Rui's meeting us on the street to carry our bags up the stairs to the Palace, we were treated as friends, albeit royal ones, throughout our stay. The Palacete is astonishingly beautiful and overlooks the water. Each room is stunning and has unique character and the blooming terraces are incomparable. The restoration of this Palace has clearly been a labor of love. They have combined the elegance of old Lisbon with a modern flair and 21st century style.
Our room was spectacular; elegant and huge with a terrace overlooking the ocean and a world class ultra modern bathroom.
I will admit it is a hard place to find but don't give up. The medieval neighborhood in which it lives is the best of Lisbon.
Rui was generous with information about the palace and the not to miss sites. He visited with us each morning as we dined on many course breakfasts served on antique china by the friendliest staff imaginable. He helped us with dinner reservations, even walking us to a nearby favorite restaurant Sunday night.
I am a traveller and this was the best place I have ever stayed. Go there.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pegitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    26
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
284
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

I stayed here with my partner for 5 nights at the end of January/beginning of February, and we both though it was probably the coolest place we've stayed out of all the trips we've been on. The setting is magical, the location is perfect and within walking distance of most things, and Rui, the friendly (and very handsome) co-owner was always eager to help us plan our days and give advice on anything we needed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

This place is absolutely exquisite. Vogue had decided to do a fashion shoot in one of the rooms when we were checking in (to give you an idea of how their interiors are styled).
The few rooms are stunning. Our room had a terrace and an enormous shower. All of the furniture was carefully selected and attention to every detail has been paid. Breakfast is served in a room fit for a queen. I couldn't possibly do this place any justice with a description so I am attaching photos.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sansterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

If you want a unique experience, try the Palacete. You will feel like you are staying a friend's magnificent home in Lisbon. You can stay at a beautiful hotel anywhere, but only in LIsbon can you have a special experience like this. With just a few rooms, you will feel like you have the Palacete to yourself. Grand and old-fashioned yet hip and modern in other ways, this "hotel" is a gem.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 5travelpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Memmo Alfama Hotel
#11 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#4 of 229 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei

Property: Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei
Address: Travessa Chafariz de El-Rei 6, Lisbon 1100-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 6 amazing and luxurious suites with direct river views and in the heart of the city, this family house has the highest level of service, letting you feel at home from the moment you enter the front door. The excellence of the service and the comfort of the house brings light to the new Home Boutique Hotel concept.With distinctive and unique lounges with many different styles, the house has a range of possibilities to organize parties, press conferences, weddings, meetings, business meals and all kind of events.For those who prefer a more cozy and familiar ambience, either on business or leisure, the Palacete Chafariz D’El Rei is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palacete Chafariz D'El Rei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacete Chafariz d`El Rei Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing