We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
Ranked #23 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have never stayed here but have been in the Spa 3 times and keep coming back. Book a massage or a facial and you can use the thermo garden - inner swimming pool, sauna, turkish bath - the whole day. Treats include tea, juices, fruit and cookies. You can also pay for a meal.
It is expensive but perfect if you want to relax and pamper yourself.
Good staff but be prepared to have a list of products shown to you when you're paying.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CristinaLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing Lisbon and Altis Belém Hotel & Spa by Karin Herzxog for your Spa and relax holiday.

Also a big thank you for your fantastic review on this opinion survey site .

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

Even though it was one of the most expensive hotels I stayed it was a great place. Very modern, stylish, perfectly located by the river. Large rooms with large beds and large windows and large bathrooms - I really loved it. I really liked the surroundings of the hotel also - nicely designed.
Deffinitely worth considering.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pawelek777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for choosing Lisbon and Altis Belém Hotel & Spa for your holiday.

Also a big thank you for your positive review on this great On Line Survey.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here over night after flying into Lisbon on our way to the Algarve. We were given a warm welcome and were shown to our room by the reception staff. The room was on the second floor and had a lovely view of the bridge and water. The room was very spacious with a comfy bed and it was very quiet. As we arrived at 7pm we headed down to the bar for a drink and a snack. The caesar salad and toastie were lovely and just what we needed.

The breakfast the next morning was a great selection with everything from fruit, cereal, eggs, bacon to breads a meats.

Over all a very nice hotel which we would love to return to even if I was not sure about the black toilet paper.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s_j_gibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

It has been a great pleasure to receive your visit during your stay in Lisbon. Your choice made us happier.

On the behalf of our team a big thank you for the published review and service description.

We are very happy that you have chosen Altis Belém Hotel & Spa for your stay in Lisbon, we continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I recently spent five nights here and really enjoyed my stay. My room, Ethiopia, was large and quiet. Upon first entry I was slightly taken aback by how dark it was. That was before I got my keycard into the light switch which i could barely see. Still, the bathroom in black marble was very dark but it works so well. It has an effortless cool. The bed was large and comfortable. The room was maintained at an excellent temp.

The breakfasts were good with a wide variety of little things to try, which is always great fun. Vodka for breakfast anyone?!

The spa was really great. It's always hard to maintain the cleanliness in a spa, but these flet very clean. It's a shame you can't see the sunlight from the pool, but I understand there is a rooftop pool.

I had one dinner in the cafe area where breakfast is served. It was very good and the waiter's recommendation was spot on. On the downside it was almost empty the night I was there, just one other couple, so if you want atmosphere go into Lisbon. But if you want relaxing, well priced, good food try it.

Most importantly of all, I found the staff at this hotel to be really exceptional. Both in the restaurant, the bar, the spa and the front desk. Efficient, helpful, polite and smiling. I thank them for my stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManofIceni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa and for your positive comments on this respectful On Line Survey.

Our staff is feeding their engagement on messages like yours, again thank you on their behalf.

We look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

we had lunch on the terrace overlooking the rio tejo. stunnig view of the bridge and the monument. you can spend hours there watching life pass by. lots of people do pass by on their way to the torre belem, so great spot for people watching. had an excellent club sandwich and a beer. the waiters seemed to need some more time to adjust to the international clientele. all in all a place not to miss

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank kees s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

It has been a great pleasure to welcome you during your stay in Lisbon.

Thank you on the behalf of our team for the published review, comments and also for your preference. We took good note of your suggestions.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon as a Spa, Hotel.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Luxurious room (we got upgraded and our room was huge). Glorious views of the Tagus. The glass wall between the bathroom and bedroom made the room seem even bigger. The black loo paper was a lovely quirky touch. We had a great dinner in the restaurant which had beautiful views of the marina, and a lavish breakfast the following morning. All staff at the hotel were friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much for them. We were in walking distance of all the sights in Belem. We would love to go back for a longer stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Deena63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

It has been a great pleasure to welcome you during your stay in Lisbon.

On the behalf of our team thank you for the published review and comments and also for your preference, description and appreciation about the hotel location.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon as a Spa, Hotel.

Warm regards

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is an update on a previous post placed on 12 Oct 2013 which was subsequently withdrawn in order that our further considered views could be provided following our stay at the Altis Belem, Lisbon.

Some negatives - complimentary bottled water only provided on the 1st night and no complimentary coffee offered in room. There was a small expresso type of machine but charging €3.50 for a cup.
If you don't have a credit card, you have to pay your way when buying drinks within the hotel or taking a meal in the Mensagum restaurant, we provided a debit card, but they didn't let us use our room card to settle for drinks etc. I think this was lost in translation, subsequently this was confirmed to us when queried, we could have left a cash deposit instead.

Another concern was the screen / shade in our Aden room, this didn't work, so at nights with the lights on, passing people outside could clearly see into the room, we were told they would attend to this. Despite several requests, it wasn't until our last full day before they were able to offer alternative rooms. I think again, lost in translation, our concern was we weren't kept imformed and we had to keep asking them when the problem could be resolved.

Despite these issues which were embarrassing / a little annoying at the time, we were still very pleased with the location and meals we had in the hotel.

The room we had was a "white" room, glass 'walls' for the bathroom with spendid views of the River Tagus, a marina in front of us and a busy road & railway. Belem had excellent connections into the heart of the city by way of hop on / hop off open top Yelow Bus, trams & normal bus services.

We would have awarded 5 stars but with the negatives mentioned initially, we feel 4 is suitable, most of the staff were friendly & in the restaurant they looked after us very well.

If we returned to Lisbon, we would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure your shade / screen works in the room! The glass bathroom / shower is quirky but great, lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We thank you for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa during your stay in Lisbon and we have taken good note of your suggestions.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#9 of 255 in Lisbon
979 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Memmo Alfama Hotel
#13 of 255 in Lisbon
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,874 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#20 of 255 in Lisbon
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Belem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Belem Hotel & Spa

Address: Doca do Bom Sucesso, Lisbon 1400-038, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Belem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $145 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Belem Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa Hotel Altis Belem - Luxury & Design by the River Altis Belem Hotel & Spa is a 5 star design hotel in Lisbon, located in Belem overlooking the Tagus River, representing a contemporary view of the Golden Age of Discovery. Here you can find the gourmet Restaurant Feitoria (One Michelin Star) and the Spa BSpa by Karin Herzog. The theme of discovery is threaded throughout all of the hotel's 50 luxury rooms (including 5 suites) absorbing and enticing you to embark on an exotic journey displayed in a series of illustrated wall panels, giving each room a bespoke atmosphere. A design hotel in Lisbon that allows you to go on a journey from Mauritania on the West coast of Africa, through Arabia, India, Siam, Osaka and across to the other side of the world via Brazil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Altis Belem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altis Belem Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing