We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations in every way, wonderful room, and wonderful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
Ranked #29 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I hadn't requested a suite, but arrived to find my sister who had arrived before me, in the Hot Tub on the terrace of our room.
I had asked her to join me for her birthday celebration, she was in the Hot Tub with a glass of champagne.
The suite was a total surprise, and the Hot Tub overlooking the Tagus River, was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Facing the Targus and the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srowlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. It has been a great pleasure having you with us. Also on the behalf of our staff I thank you for your published comments on this opinion site. Recognition is always very welcome.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Service has a very high standard in this hotel. The lady from the frontdesk even joined us to the train station to organize tickets to Cascais.
The room had a very comfy bed with a big nice shower and bad. Breakfast also perfect, a wide variety of dishes.
Only negative point may be the atmosphere in the hotel which may me be a little un personal/empty. However this is what you can expect from a "design" hotel.
Spa was also very nice with a good indoor swimming pool.
Overall, when you want a design hotel with a five star rating, this is the best hotel in Belem/Lissbon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMAA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. It has been a great pleasure having you with us,

Also on the behalf of our Reception team I thank you for the kind published comments.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Amazing hotel and food. Do NOT miss the morning breakfast. Also take the red hop-on hop-off bus (ask the staff for a ticket when you arrive) which has a stop right near the hotel. It will take you all over Lisbon so there will be no need for a cab unless you leave the hotel at night. Also do not miss the spa! The hotel staff let us use the hotel facilities and spa until late in the afternoon because our flight was not until 8 pm which was really helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. It has been a great pleasure having you with us,

Also on the behalf of our staff I thank you very much for the kind published comments, recognition helps on motivation.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and the hotel met our expectations in every way. We had come for a family break, although my husband was there on business as well, and we wanted somewhere where my teenage daughter could enjoy some sunshine after being ill for several months. We were very lucky with the weather, and spent a lot of time on the lovely sunbathing deck (the outdoor pool was open on our last day but still too cold to swim in as it was April) where we had the most gorgeous views of the Tagus, the Belem Tower and the Discovery monument. The hotel is in a wonderful location, Belem is full of things to see, including the beautiful monastery and church, and taxis into Lisbon are only 5-10 euros. It was lovely to be able to stroll around by the river. Everything was fabulous, including our spacious rooms overlooking the marina with glass doors that pulled right back, black marble bathrooms, cafe with outside terrace serving wonderful food, bar with lovely lounging seats and a stunning view, and an amazing spa with large and relaxing indoor pool. The beds were so comfortable we didn't want to get up, with beautiful linen. Breakfast was amazing, we had lots of lovely snacks and lunches, and one delicious dinner. Staff are wonderful, everyone was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. As we had an early flight and missed breakfast the hotel provided four delicious boxes with juice, rolls and fruit. We were very sad to leave and intend to come back for another visit as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. It has been a great pleasure having you with us,

Also on the behalf of our staff I thank you for the kind published comments.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as part of our first night of our 2 week honeymoon in Portugal. We had wanted to stay at this hotel since we found it in our hotel searches, as it looked beautiful and seemed to have a very romantic location. The hotel and our room totally met and exceeded our expectations.

We are both from Miami, Florida and so modern, stylish luxury is something we are used to. And yet the style and look of the hotel was very impressive and well designed. The modern design of the hotel however was also very comfortable, which was very important to us for our first night of our honeymoon, only 3 nights after our wedding.

We landed in Lisbon at 6 AM and thus arrived at our hotel extremely early. Though we were not able to check in right-away, we did eventually check-in early at 12 PM. The hotel staff was very kind, hospitable, and welcoming. They invited us to have breakfast in the hotel, as they knew we had just landed for our honeymoon.

The breakfast was the best part of our stay at the hotel. Our whole hotel experience was very positive, but the breakfast was by far the best part of our experience. We are both "foodies" and so the breakfast buffet spread was a gourmet offering of an amazing series of delicious foods. Imagine smoked fish, delicious fruit salad, gourmet scrambled eggs and sausage, a variety of gourmet cheeses, an amazing baked goods spread, and even delicious vodka to compliment a series of juices and teas. We loved our breakfast experience both days.

The actual hotel room we stayed in was a pleasure to stay in. Our hotel staff received us with a little extra TLC as we mentioned that it was our honeymoon. We were greeted with a wonderful gourmet bubbly and chocolate treat.

The hotel's location is also great within the City of Lisbon. This hotel is technically located in the City of Belem, which is right next to Lisbon. It was a great place to spend our first night during our Lisbon vacation, as it was a calm, waterfront location that allowed us to walk around the quieter town of Belem. Belem has wonderful streets to walk, with some beautiful national palaces, a beautiful church and monastery, and the Lisbon area's most popular baked treats purveyor.

We loved Altis Belem and look forward to returning to stay there.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skilo1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. It has been a great pleasure having you with us on this very special occasion.

Also on the behalf of our staff I thank you for the kind comments your published comments and suggestions help us to motivate our team and fine-tune our services to ensure we make every stay a memorable one.

Only we would like to inform you that Belém is a very noble neighbourhood of Lisbon on the way out of the city to the coast area, that is located as you have very well noticed at 10 minutes from the city center.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

one night during a business trip and impressed by the design of the hotel and the rooms. Black, white, square shapes...
fantastic room and glas walls in bathrooms. great view on the marina, fresh juices for breakfast and discreted and efficient service.
fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. It has been a great pleasure having you with us,

Also on the behalf of our staff I thank you for the kind comments your published comments and suggestions help us to motivate our team and fine-tune our services to ensure we make every stay a memorable one.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed 5 nights so this is a very thorough review !!

Was delighted to be able to book a room here for 5 nights using airmiles and some cash and was not disappointed. This is a very contemporary stylish minimalist hotel with a great setting overlooking the Tagus in Belem. It's a little bit out of town but a 10 minute taxi ride brings you quickly to the heart of Lisbon; and there's plenty to do close by - Torre de Belem, Jeronimos Monastery, Modern Art Collection, Padrao de Descrubimientos, the Docas area and just hanging out along by the river. We enjoyed the space and the closeness to the water. The hotel itself has 2 restaurants plus the bar area for eating, and a Spa. The rooms are fab with big bathrooms featuring a full glass wall into the room and out towards the view. They are spotless. The maids are so friendly and work very hard at tidying up your holiday stuff and clothes with no fuss. Upgrade yourself to the larger balcony rooms facing directly towards the river and you will not be disappointed. I can see why some people have complained about road and rail noise since some rooms are definitely impacted by their proximity to the road and train line.

The food is good - breakfast a delight; and in more warmer weather it would be easy to be outside by the river / marina soaking up the rays with your coffee and croissant in hand. There is also a michelin starred restaurant on site - though this is a serious investment and a little over-creative for my liking. Head towards the Docas are for the Piaza di Mare and 5 Oceanos - more relaxed, and still very tasty.

There is a beautiful SPA on site with some wonderful treatments, a small gym and a stunning indoor pool, as well as a roof top plunge pool for the warmer weather (great view too). The SPA is expensive yes but the quality and care of the staff makes you feel great afterwards !!

The reception and restaurant staff are good - some excellent, all very friendly and very curteous. They are young, which adds a vibrancy to the hotel, although I wasn't always confident of the knowledge of the reception team for really great places to eat in Lisbon - they seemed to refer to cards they had rather than expert knowledge and experience i.e. I have a card here vs. oh yes sir, I have eaten there but I would recommend this place...

I just felt the hotel lacked a bit of soul / atmosphere. You could only really eat and rink outside in really dry and warm weather - surely there must be an opportunity to shield off some of the outside bar and restaurant area with some extra glass as windbreaks or more permanent roofing for the bar area, in order to attract some passing trade as well as encourage guests to be outside. And the "lounge area" felt very disappointing. TVs here and there and the furniture precisely arranged to look more like an airport waiting area than a chill out lounge area. There's plenty of chill out music being played (note to hotel - please see if you can buy more than 1 CD - after 5 days I must have heard the same tune 10 times !!) but a lack of a sunny chill out are for me - this is what left me a little flat....

Room Tip: Upgrade to the luxury balcony rooms or ask for a room as close to the river waterfront as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShugsyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anabela B, Gerente geral at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We are delighted by your choice and preference.for Altis Belem Hotel & Spa during your visit to Lisbon

Your detailed testimony and opinion published on this site are so important for our business as for our staff motivation, thank you again.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#10 of 255 in Lisbon
1,003 reviews
memmo Principe Real
#14 of 255 in Lisbon
211 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Memmo Alfama Hotel
#11 of 255 in Lisbon
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Liberdade
#25 of 255 in Lisbon
1,007 reviews
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#74 of 255 in Lisbon
266 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Belem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Belem Hotel & Spa

Address: Doca do Bom Sucesso, Lisbon 1400-038, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Belem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#26 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $172 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Belem Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa Hotel Altis Belem - Luxury & Design by the River Altis Belem Hotel & Spa is a 5 star design hotel in Lisbon, located in Belem overlooking the Tagus River, representing a contemporary view of the Golden Age of Discovery. Here you can find the gourmet Restaurant Feitoria (One Michelin Star) and the Spa BSpa by Karin Herzog. The theme of discovery is threaded throughout all of the hotel's 50 luxury rooms (including 5 suites) absorbing and enticing you to embark on an exotic journey displayed in a series of illustrated wall panels, giving each room a bespoke atmosphere. A design hotel in Lisbon that allows you to go on a journey from Mauritania on the West coast of Africa, through Arabia, India, Siam, Osaka and across to the other side of the world via Brazil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Altis Belem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altis Belem Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing