We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not really an apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brown's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #20 of 494 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Good things first . Good location close to Rossio square . The room was clean & tidy . The problem is its not an apartment its a small room . Take out the apple mac computer & ipad & give me a kettle & a fridge most people travel with a laptop or tablet anyway these days .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenBoston1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 537 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

These are the best apartments I´ve ever stayed both in Lisbon and...in my life.
A great location - close to everyhting.
A wonderful interior design, kinda futuristic and functional, a nice view from the window and balcony. My room wasn´t too spacious but...did I need to play soccer in the room? =)
On the 0 floor there´s a cozy cafeteria.
I adore this app!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dimazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel is well equipped with computer and iPad provided. I booked the cheapest small double room but the room was in good size for backpackers like us.

The reception opens from 10AM-10PM so late and early check-in is possible with an extra fee of 30 Euros. If you leave the hotel earlier than 10AM, you are allowed to store your luggage at Brown's downtown hotel which is just 2-minute walk away where its front desk opens 24 hours. You just leave your room key inside the room upon check-out so it is possible anytime of the day.

The staff are friendly and efficient. The metro Baixa-Chiado station is just 1-2 minute on foot on the end of Vitoria street passing in front of the hotel.

I would have given the hotel better rating if there wasn't any strange loud thud sound any time we used the toilet. I was thinking that it was the sound of our neighbor closing their bathroom door aggressively without consideration or something fell down on the floor but it happened any time we used our toilet even in the middle of the night. There was also a weird sound of either the water pump or drainage after flushing toilet also. Moreover, it would be great if there were a small fridge in the room to cool our drink for hot summer days though.

The bathroom was see-through. We didn't have any trouble with it but anyone who's travelling with friends should take into account this issue before making reservation.

It was such a big surprise to see that they changed towels and made up room for us everyday. I didn't expect such thing from the so-called "apartment" though.

Now the hotel and Vitoria street are under construction so there might be some inconveniences accompanied but still it's a good hotel which worth trying.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kumaneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location of the hotel was excellent and it all looks very nice. We had the shower inside the room. Yes, i mean INSIDE the room literally...it was right next to the bed. This was actually funny and not really a problem for couples. But it should really by communicated up front!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a low floor, the elevator is very slow. Ask for a room with a seperate bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derekv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent location, near to metro and in the city center, just a walk distance from all attractions. Room very comfortable, nice design. Room equipped with Mac,IPad and internet access. Strongly recommended :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just checked in 15 June be warned that they are renovating the entire 3rd level. Expect dust and noise! Out side there is massive road works. I bet they don't offer us a discount for the level of noise and dust. Other wise, apartment is excellent.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Oxford4065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

These apartments are very well-situated in the Baixa, very close to the Baixa-Chiado Metro station and were not as expensive as many of the hotels in that area in Lisbon. The rooms are located above a coffee shop, and the reception desk is actually in the coffee shop. The room we had was nice and modern and included free wi-fi, a Mac computer, and an iPad. And even though these are apartments, we had maid service every day, which was a pleasant surprise.

However, I did have a few complaints about our particular room: the faucet in the bathroom is a really bad design and very difficult to turn on and off; and the shower is located in an exposed area of the room, so if you are sharing the room with a friend (like I was), you need to be careful where you walk in the room if someone is taking a shower. Plus, we had a bit of a ceiling leak on the first day, and we also experienced a lack of hot water one morning.

All in all, the positives far outweigh the few flaws, and I can recommend Brown's Apartments to anyone visiting Lisbon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aller et retour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Brown's Downtown Hotel
#63 of 255 in Lisbon
881 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#36 of 255 in Lisbon
849 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#47 of 255 in Lisbon
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#41 of 255 in Lisbon
354 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#30 of 255 in Lisbon
926 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Boutique Hotel

Address: Rua da Vitoria 88, Lisbon 1100-619, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 494 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: $86 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With elegantly decorated accommodation, Brown's Boutique Hotel offers a central location in Lisbon, a 5-minute walk from Chiado and Bairro Alto. It includes free WiFi access and designer furniture. All units are air-conditioned and include an iHome docking station, Nespresso machine, Smeg kettle and private marble bathroom. Some are equipped with an iMac computer and an iPad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brown's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baixa Brown`s Apartments Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing