We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, great rooms, nice vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brown's Boutique Hotel
Ranked #23 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great rooms, nice vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Location is ideal. Arriving from the airport, you can take the metro to Baixa Chiado and you are steps away from the hotel. The iconic tram is a few streets away as is the water. The rooms are comfortable, well decorated and the iPad and iMac were such a treat and ending up being very useful. The cafe on the ground level gives a very relaxed atmosphere to the hotel with locals hanging with you at breakfast. The only note I would say is my room had a 'hotel' hairdryer, if you are a girl with long hair, you may want to bring your own. I am giving a five star rating because of of this for fantastic value. When I am next in Lisboa, this is my new home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    195
    56
    22
    14
See reviews for
35
285
32
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I would certainly recommend these appartments! As already mentioned in previous reviews very well located in the middle of Baixa, next to Rua Augusta which is a nice shopping street and very close to Pl. do Commercio where most busses and trams pass by. Only three blocks down you can hop on the famous tram 28 and 1 block to the side is the Metro station Baixa Chiado where you can take blue and green line or which you can walk through and take all 4 escalators up and be in upper Chiado in 5 min! Great coffeeshop downstairs with very nice carrot/nut muffin opens from 8am - 10pm and also houses the reception desk for the appartments. Extremely friendly and helpfull staff who assisted us in everything; printing boarding passes, late check-in and check-out; compliments!! Room was nice although WIFI was having some troubles reaching our room. But indeed Ipad beside the bed and IMac in the room. We also had a double balconny which is nice for opening the doors but very small to stand on. Rooms were clean and very nice decorated!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Positives: very central, next to metro, very close to sea and old town. Easy to get to from the airport. Apartment had Mac, iPad, good TV. My room was very big (contrary to some reviews but some rooms are much smaller) with a double balcony. Browns downstairs - amazing ham and cheese tostie! Excellent value when I booked it €65/night.

Negatives: the shower was in the room not the bathroom and was very dark (no light in it). The toilet wasn't that clean (due to masserator). The room wifi was hit and miss and my iPhone 5 would not connect to it.

Summary; I'd stay here again if I go back to Lisbon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the start of October.
Pros:
- good location, close to the Placa Comercial and the riverfront
- great bed, king size and really comfortable
- excellent satellite tv, with a number of channels in english
- good shower with decent water pressure
Cons:
- the kitchenette is very small and not that well equipped. no kettle, no toaster, no microwave. No dishwahing liquid or cleaning products provided. it would be fine for snacks, but making a meal here was a mission
- the aircon in our room wasn't working properly, so it got really hot in the room. the staff came to look at it but didn't think there was anything wrong
- the taps are really hard to turn on and off - a small thing, but got really annoying by the end of our stay
Weird:
- there was a record turntable in the room, attached to a Mac. Cool to have the Mac, which had some useful guides to the city on it, but the turntable took ip much needed space in the room.

Overall good stay but not great.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and that was a bit noisy. higher up might be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunseeka64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Location could not be better--just a few steps from the Baixa-Chiado stop, on the side of Baixa next to the Chiado/Bairro Alto.
I stayed in 207, which was really a hotel room rather than an apartment, complete with a record player (which I didn't have a chance to use, since, really, who goes on vacations to listen to records, but that's besides the point), mac computer, and iPad.
Great Wi-fi signal, a convenient coffee shop right downstairs with tasty pastries, and a great price.
Arrived early and the awesome Manuel (at least, I think that was his name--who was hilarious, spoke perfect English, and even had a great restaurant recommendation) even had a room available for me so I didn't even have to stick my bags in their luggage storage.

Downsides: Unconventional reception desk, located in the coffee shop and only open from about 10AM-9PM, so you're probably out of luck if you arrive outside those hours (I arrived at 9:30 and had a pastry and waited a bit).
The single room I was in was small, with the shower and toilet enclosure opening directly into the room, which was a little unusual.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Synne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in Brown's for 4 days and are very happy with location (walking distance from practically everything), service and the room: equipped with kitchen, washing machine, Ipad and Mac (just in case if you have two geeks in a family who forgot to take their gadgets along). Due to top location can get a little noisy on Friday night, but if you want to sleep then with windows closed you can definitely deal with it.
I totally suggest staying here!

Oh yes, and very convenient Brown's cafe downstairs to grab your morning coffee ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Although design of hotel seems to be very impresive, view failings spoil overall impression. Basically the room was just not cleaned or staff did not notice dust all around - maybe because there was hardly light and NO WINDOW! Room replacement for the one with window was extra paid;)
Ipad will not help - do the cleaning and finish interior precisely. After first night we transfered to Lisbon Short Stay Apartment just view steps away - stay there - no comparison to Brown's "deluxe no window apartment".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Downtown
Brown's Downtown
#58 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#48 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#44 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#27 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Boutique Hotel

Property: Brown's Boutique Hotel
Address: Rua da Vitoria 88, Lisbon 1100-619, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With elegantly decorated accommodation, Brown's Hotel & Apartments offers a central location in Lisbon, a 5-minute walk from Chiado and Bairro Alto. It includes free WiFi access and designer furniture. All units are air-conditioned and include an iHome docking station, Nespresso machine, Smeg kettle and private marble bathroom. Some are equipped with an iMac computer and an iPad. Kitchenette facilities are featured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brown's Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baixa Brown`s Apartments Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing