We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!! Great location and great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Imperial Guesthouse
Ranked #157 of 232 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome!!! Great location and great staff!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

If you want to be in the middle of the action, the location is amazing! And the new owners Pedro and Andre go above and beyond to make sure your needs are taken care of. It's a very clean, safe and friendly environment. We were sad to leave and will definitely come back! This place is awesome and the owners are so kind! Central to bus, train and metro!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank missmonkeypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    51
    27
    16
    15
See reviews for
14
77
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aljustrel, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great location, lovely people, comfortable space and friendly attitude towards the guests.

We are a one-liner kinda of couple and we love enriching experiences, even in hostels.
The city itself has quite the vibe and staying at the center of it all does help to organize your smooth but "dessassossegado" lifestyle, specially if you love hanging out at quite the spots like Príncipe Real, Gulbenkian, the Cinemathéque, Cais Sodré, etc.

This said, stay at this place at ease, all is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maiuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed in the Imperial Guesthouse for 4 nights and had a lovely stay.
Though I was first given a wrong room and there was a problem with the payment, everything was handled perfectly and the staff was super kind.

To be honest I was a bit worried about not having a toilet in the room, but the toilets were actually right outside my room, and there was no problem at all. I stayed alone in a nice renovated double room facing the backyard and had a small shower corner and a sink in the room.

Location is perfect; metro station right next to it and almost everything is at a walking distance. Very easy to get to from the airport as well!! I have no complaints whatsoever.. Totally recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

First this guest house is perfectly located on the "Restauradores" square. From there you can easilly walk in all the nice districts of Lisbon.
Second, the new management team (July 2013) is very friendly and they are rehabilitating all the rooms.
Of course it is a guest house, not a 5 stars hotel, then don't expect a swimming pool and a Spa.
The rooms are large and clean, the beds are good. Some rooms have a private shower, some don't. The prices are adapted to the equipement you have.
It is an excellent place to stay. Very good quality-location-price ratio.
JB

Room Tip: Rooms 411 and 410 have a balcony on the Restauradores Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We found the Imperial Guest House to be very central and convenient. The Aerobus stops just across the square and Rossio train station for trains to Sintra is one minutes walk away.
Well done, Pedro and Andre - the rooms that have been renovated are looking good and the bathrooms too. We loved the new kitchen and lounge area.
Good value for a central location, friendly and helpful owners and staff, clean rooms and public areas, good position for seeing all of Lisbon and wonderful views across Restauradores from the balconies.

Room Tip: ask about rooms - owners speak english.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This guesthouse was the perfect place to stay during my trip to Lisbon. It's clean, central and comfortable. The kitchen facilities are good (and included a free sample of the portuguese liqueur Ginja from the owner Pedro!) and the bedrooms are light and mine had a great view over the Avenida. It's right beside a metro station and the train station Rossio, which has trains going to Sintra. It was great value for money and I'd definitely recommend it to my friends and family if they visited Lisbon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Located at the "Champs-Élysées" of Lisbon, having as neighbors Rossio & Baixa-Chiado here I found a great place to stay.

I Finally found decent guesthouse private rooms at a decent prices and 5 star views!!!
Most of the rooms has balconies and stunning views to the Avenue!
The building has more than 100 years and the guesthouse keeps the simplicity and style of this type of architecture.

Highlights; Location, Cleanliness, Service (kudos to André & Pedro. Well done guys!)

Once in Lisbon, look for the Imperial Guesthouse! I would!
The stunning blue building, you can't miss it!

Thank you guys!

Room Tip: Look for the rooms with Avenue view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#24 of 232 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Artbeat Rooms
Artbeat Rooms
#34 of 232 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Baixa Guesthouse
#118 of 232 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brickoven Palace
#80 of 232 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Goodmorning Hostel
Goodmorning Hostel
#6 of 432 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Guesthouse

Property: The Imperial Guesthouse
Address: Praca dos Restauradores 78 | Baixa, Lisbon 1250-188, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Imperial Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Lisbon, The Imperial Guesthouse offers comfortable and affordable accomodation for travellers wishing to explore Lisbon and the surrounding area. We are located in the beautiful Praca dos Restauradores and our building overlooks the square. Most of our rooms are equipped with a private shower and wasbasin. Bathrooms are shared. Free WIFI access is available throughout the building. Getting to and from the Imperial couldn't be easier. The metro stops outside the building, as do most of the major bus routes in Lisbon. Rossio train station is less than a 1-minute walk away and offers. 30-minute connection to Sintra.Sao Jorge castle, offering paranomic views over Lisbon, is a 15-minute walk way from the Imperial, as well as the lively night time district of Bairro Alto. All of our staff speak English and are more than happy to advise you on what to see and do in Lisbon. The Imperial offers double, twin and triple rooms. We try to be as flexible as possible, so if you have any special requests please get in touch and we will try to accomodate them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Imperial Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing