We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FANTASTIC STAY”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Looking south from the terrace, over the Baixa, to the Tejo River
Bilros style headboard
Main floor bathroom
Cookbooks in the kitchen
One last look at the views from the house...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kathryn C
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
“FANTASTIC STAY”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our family of four adults stayed 6 nights at Casa Villa Serra. Austin met us upon our arrival and gave us an orientation tour of the neighbourhood which was most helpful. We were also welcomed with some fresh fruit, rolls, orange juice and a bottle of wine, it was so appreciated!

The kitchen, bathrooms and laundry room are all stocked with everything you may need at your disposal. The house is lovely with spectacular views from every room and coffee on the terrace every morning was wonderful. The home is quite a climb up the hill but there is a funicular you can use which takes you within a few blocks of the house and taxis are very reasonable. The views of the city are worth the climb!

We also enjoyed being out of the tourist area but yet close enough that it takes only a few minutes to reach the square below to catch the subway. Our highlights were joining the neighbourhood Fado night and experiencing Portugal's big win at Euro 2016! Both were nights to remember.

Our only regret is having to depart, hopefully we can return to your lovely home one day. I cannot recommend this townhome enough ....we loved every minute of our stay.

Thank you Austin and family.

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2017
I'm glad you enjoyed the house, the views and the city. May all your trips be as charming! Best regards, Austin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation home”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a wonderful experience, staying at the Casa Villa Serra. We were 4 adults, a young child and a baby. The layout of the home was perfect for us, with two bedrooms and a bathroom in the lower level and another bedroom with bathroom on the main level. This meant our parents did not hear the baby crying in the middle of the night! :)

The apartment was very clean, the beds were very comfortable, and they had lots of extra items which we really appreciated (i.e., extra pillows, blankets, towels, a fully equipped kitchen, a washer and dryer, and so on). Austin also made sure to include lots of extra items for the children, which we also appreciated.

Overall, we were very comfortable here and would recommend this vacation home.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2016
Thank you for your recommendation and your kind comments. We do think that Casa Villa Serra is ideal for extended families travelling together because of that mix of privacy and togetherness.
Good wishes for all your future travels!
Best regards,
Austin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiAnF
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed November 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely place to stay and an excellent location. I cannot but highly recommend Casa Villa Serra. The house boasts character and is remarkably spacious even in the company of three young children. The hillside location ensures truly magnificent views (day and night!). To my mind the slope -where the house is situated on- isn't posing any real problems: if you can walk Lisbon, you can get there easily enough. Many good restaurants and efficient public transport in the vicinity. The hospitality of the Kleber family is a great asset too. We felt very welcome and definitely hope to return. Thank you very much Austin and Jordan!

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation. I am so glad you were comfortable and that you enjoyed your time in Lisbon and at Casa Villa Serra. Please do come back and see us; we'd love to have you stay with us again! Best regards, Austin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andy12342...
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed one week at Villa Serra on our recent trip to Lisbon and Portugal. We give it high marks for comfort, space, location and views. Austin was a wonderful host providing terrific service. The apartment is high above Lisbon, with great views, in a wonderful quiet neighborhood with easy access to local grocery stores and restaurants. At the same time it has excellent access to all the well-known, tourist-oriented neighborhoods, sections and sights of Lisbon. We highly recommend Villa Serra.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views
Liked least: Nothing although be ready for hilly walks from downtown up to the apartment.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you had such a good time at Casa Villa Serra. We hope to see you again someday, and until then, Godspeed in all your travels! Austin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince196...
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, well-equipped, tremendous service, good location”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of parents, young adults, and teens loved this rental. It is very clean, unusually well-stocked, and has many features that help make it better than the typical rental. The laundry room is great- it used to be a kitchen so it has sink, counters, cabinets and everything you need (detergent, ironing board). The kitchen looks tiny in the pictures but it actually has a lot of storage. We had the cooking class and had everything we needed to make a 4 course meal and set a lovely table. There are many guidebooks- you won't need to bring one. They even lend you a mobile phone and a laptop. The wi fi works. The sofa bed is actually comfortable. The bathrooms are modern, although they could use some ventilation. The views from the deck and all the windows are simply amazing. As others have noted, the only down-side is the space is on 3 levels and is located at the top of a steep hill, so it is fine for able-bodied folks, but not for those who can't handle stairs.

We truly enjoyed the outstanding service and hospitality provided by Austin and her family. She booked a surfing trip, a cooking class, made restaurant reservations, called the taxi for our return to the airport, and gave us a very helpful walking tour to get us oriented. Everything they recommended was excellent. The friendly support was like a bed and breakfast, but with a lot more privacy. I was also impressed by the way Austin communicated by email, phone, and text. The arrival instructions were very detailed and helpful, and they were sent a month ahead. Everything was handled with professionalism and friendliness.

We had a terrific vacation due in large part to how well this rental worked out. I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great service, views, wi fi, well- stocked kitchen, nice towels and sheets
Liked least: Uphill walk every time you return
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am so glad you all had a good time and enjoyed our recommendations and the classes. We're always thrilled to know we've made a difference (for the better!) in peoples' vacation. We hope to see you again, if you're ever in Lisbon.
Best regards, Austin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crimson44
Hvar, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Home Away From Home”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I found Visiting Portugal mentioned on the Fodor Talk Forum and was able to verify its rave reviews here on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed! Their largest rental, a 3 bedroom 2 bath home on 3 levels, was perfect for two couples. The bathrooms are not ensuite so each couple used a bedroom and bathroom on a different floor, which allowed us all privacy. There are two flights of stairs, so this home is not great for the disabled. Otherwise, it is quite perfect. The terrace was a lovely spot for breakfast and for "sundowners" in the evening. The kitchen is well-equiped and a small grocery store is within a couple of blocks, making it easy to eat in after a long day of sightseeing. Upon checking in, the refrigerator was graciously stocked with some breakfast basics so that we did not have to shop immediately. The home is in good repair and is furnished with nice linens. Wireless internet is available in every room and a laptop is provided. The CD player was even equipped with fado music!

Like San Francisco, there are many hills in Lisbon. Casa Villa Serra sits on the top of one of them. The views are awesome. And the climb up from Rossio Square is certainly do-able for most. Taxis are reasonable and we often journeyed "home" in one, although it was certainly not necessary. I have had two knee replacements and found the hills very manageable.

My contact with Visiting Portugal with entirely with Austin Kleber da Silva Mota, daughter of owners Deb and Jordan. (We met the charming Jordan on our last day.) Austin is very responsive to e-mail and is very helpful. She met us at the property when we arrived and walked us around the neighborhood, showing us where to shop and the best restaurants for authentic food. We gave her a security deposit. How nice that she was willing to accept dollars as the deposit was returned when we left for the airport and we were not left with an excess of Euros. Austin was great to work with! I would rent from her again.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space and the view from the terrace is lovely.
Liked least: We had to be aware of one step down into the living room. Easy to forget.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2013
Thank you for another "rave" review! :)

It was wonderful to have you stay with us, and I am so glad that you enjoyed both Lisbon and the house. The terraces really are wonderful when the weather is nice.

Please do come and stay with us again!

Best regards,
Austin

P.S. We're looking into solutions to make that pesky step down to the living room more obvious!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B
Cottekill
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This wonderful home is a little piece of heaven in Lisbon, Portugal. Austin, Debbie, and Jordan are the epitome of "fantastic" hosts. I became ill upon arrival to Lisbon and had to go to the hospital. Austin and her brother met the rest of my family at the taxi and helped them with all the bags. They helped my family get settled in and kept in touch with me until I was able to get to the house. The house is simply "heaven." The amazing view and peace and quiet helped me convalesce until I felt better. You can want for nothing in this house. From the beds all the way down to the linens, everything is luxurious. Staying in one of their houses is like staying with family. This house is worth every penny and more. Go there on your trip to Lisbon and you will see what I mean. You will definitely want to go back. - Be sure to take Austin's advice. This wonderful home is located at the top of one of Lisbon's hill areas (similar to San Francisco hills) and is not good for those who have difficulty walking...

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing location, hosts, and views.
Liked least: Nothing...
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2013
Nancy, thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm glad we were able to help make you feel at home while you were sick, and that you had a nice stay in spite of your illness. I hope you can come visit us again, under better circumstances!

All the best,
Austin
VisitingPortugal.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing