We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Casa Santana”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
View from the living room
Relax in lofty comfort
Check your email with Lisbon spread out at your feet
View of the Tejo river from the living room
Another angle of the living room view
Sorry, we're rather in love with this view!
The open floor plan gives the house a feeling of space
Television with cable, guide books, other reading... and the basket has toys for those with kids
Detail of the living room rug and footrest
The sofa and entry hall
Living room as seen from the kitchen
Kitchen viewed from the living room
Detail of the kitchen azulejos
The welcome basket includes fresh bread and fruit, cheese and a bottle of Vinho Verde
The end table of the sofa folds out to become a dining table
The bathroom is equipped with a tub and shower
The bathroom is compact, but has everything you need
Another angle of the bathroom
The bedroom has a double bed and reading nook
The bedroom set is handmade, from the north of Portugal
Our linens are 400+ threadcount and the mattress is orthopaedic, with a pillow-topper
The reading nook in the bedroom
Detail of the bedroom decoration
Detail of the bedroom decoration
Overview of the bedroom
The livingroom sofa converts into two twin beds
Casa Santana, seen from the Rossio
A veiw of the neighbourhood
The walk down to the Rossio
Looking up into the historic neighbourhood
This 15th century convent means the whole neighbourhood is historically protected
This is the neighbourhood where the famous fado singer Amália Rodrigues was born
A plaque marking the house where Amália spent her early days
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ritta2014
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Casa Santana”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Santana. We were met by the owner of the property who was extremely helpful in getting us settled in. Prior to our arrival we had already received customized and detailed information about the area, instructions to the taxi driver in Portuguese and a map - all these elements meant we were really prepared for our stay.
The property itself was just lovely. Clean and well-equipped - no need to bring towels. There was also some toys for our 2-year old daughter and some refreshments in the fridge to get us started. The view was absolutely stunning and the location couldn't have been better. Really centrally based and a short walk to the river. Our departure was also pain-free, a taxi was organised to take us back to the airport and took the stress out of doing so ourselves on a Sunday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am so glad we helped your trip to go smoothly and that you felt welcome and at home while you were here. Please come and see us again if you are ever back in Lisbon... Best regards, Austin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonmaw...
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment itself was roomy and clean. The facilities though were not good. Standard double bed with 1 bottom sheet, 1 small top sheet, 1 much too small cotton blanket and a nice counterpane. Only one pillow (we both are used to two) and no spare sheets - we were there for a week, and had to wash our sheets after 3 days! There was spare bedding but no linen for it. The bathroom was tiny, bath very small with mildew on the grout, a toilet with a faulty flush button, and a shower over the bath with water only just hot enough - certainly not hot enough for a bath! One tiny bottle of shampoo and a small cheap soap were provided. The welcome pack consisted of a bottle of cheap white wine (not drunk!), 2 stale bread rolls, and three bits of not very fresh fruit and a (nice) cheese. The sofa in the lounge area was uncomfortable, it was actually a spare bed - not a place to relax, which as it rained really heavily whilst we were there didn't help our mood. Tiny TV with few satellite channels.The door locks on the outside door and the apartment door were very difficult to operate - even after a week we struggled to get in. There were steps down to the square past homeless squats and graffiti covered walls, - not nice. Two flights of stairs to the apartment, the first with a rusty stair-lift, We paid over 700 euros for 7 nights, and expected better for the money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Spacious, nicely decorated (except the bathroom)
Liked least: Lack of clean sheets
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2014
As I said when you left, I am very sorry that you did not have a better time here in Lisbon and that the weather was so poor.

I do wish you had asked us for extra sheets when you needed them: we are always happy to provide more, or to come in and change the linens if guests prefer. This is especially true in your case, since, as we found out later, you had been sick!

We try to be clear in our descriptions about the historic--even shabby chic--nature of our neighborhood, the size of our houses, and especially the size of the beds in both the living room (daybed) and bedroom, for which we provide measurements. The fact that the apartment is on the second floor is clearly stated, and the wheelchair lift is necessary for our disabled first-floor neighbor. However, I am sorry you were disappointed with these things.

The choices we make with respect to our welcome basket have evolved over time, mostly due to guest feedback and patterns of use, and will continue to do so. At this point, the toiletries are standard hotel size, the bread is always purchased on the day of arrival (my husband will allow nothing less--the Portuguese take their bread very seriously), and Casal Garcia, though not expensive, is my personal favorite Vinho Verde. I wish you had given it a try!

In response to your suggestions, we will begin stocking the houses with extra pillows, standard, rather than upon request. I cannot seem to replicate the problems you mention with the toilet flush button or the water heater, but we have scheduled work to touch up those areas of the tub grout that are stained.

I hope that your future travels are more agreeable, and wish you all the best.
Sincerely, Austin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
900ELG
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Amazing Hospitality, Quiet Apartment, Perfect Location”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Austin was so helpful and an amazingly gracious host. She greeted us when our taxi arrived, had yummy fruit, bread and cheese waiting for us, and was so willing to help coordinate adventures for us like surfing and kayaking.

The apartment was stunning! Pretty decorations, a nice kitchen that allowed us to go to the local grocery store, and the view was stunning. We opened up the blinds to see the entire city center of Lisbon. And the apartment is in a really quiet neighborhood, but extremely central to main attractions, the center of the city and public transportation.

Would absolutely recommend!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2014
Thank you! Your review was so sweet... and I am very glad that you enjoyed the apartment, the neighbourhood and the views. Please come and see us again. All the best, Austin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill D
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An authentic Lisbon experience”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a lovely week in Lisbon in this well equipped flat right in the heart of a vibrant Portuguese community. You get a wonderful welcome on arrival here with a short tour around the neighbourhood and really detailed help on how to get to the flat before you arrive. Austin and Jordan kept in touch to check all was well and even brought round extra pillows for us! Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2014
I'm so glad that you had such a good time in our adorable neighbourhood. Thank you for your lovely review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl201...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heart of Lisbon with fabulous reviews and beautifully furnished”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our one week stay in Lisbon was greatly enhanced by our selection of Casa Santana as our home base. From the initial reservations until our departure, we had nothing but positive experiences with the owner, and the apartment itself was perfectly furnished and equipped to make the most of our visit. A really convenient location for all the sites, tourist trams, shops, restaurants and bars, Casa Santana is tucked up a hill on a quiet street yet has amazing views of the city toward the river, the Baixa and even the castle on Alfama. While the surrounding buildings are a little dingy, Casa Santana is very modern, with high standards of furnishings. décor, shower, bath, kitchen, appliances, wifi, TV, towels and linens. Austin does a superb job of preparing you and welcoming you to this apartment. She provides all the accoutrements to make you feel at home, with herbs, spices, oils, and all the little things that you do not want to have to stock up on but need for feeling at home. Austin welcomes you with wine, cheese, bread, and fruit to enable you to settle in immediately. Her advice on local shops and restaurants is perfect, non-intrusive but very helpful. We spent 4 weeks in Europe on this trip renting 2 other apartments in Paris and Provence, and this rental was by far and away the best in value, experience, comfort and views! We are encouraging family and friends to visit Lisbon and stay at Casa Santana or any of Austin's other properties to make the most of their visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! I am glad that we were a high point in your trip. Please come and see us again; having guests as charming as you is always a high point for us, too...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne B
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be better!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

As a solo traveller going to school to learn portuguese for 1 month, Casa Santana was the perfect choice. Centrally located, it was easy to visit, to walk to school, to just hand around.
Everything you need is already in the apartment. Small, cozy, confortable. All you need is to buy groceries and of course some wonderful portuguese wine! You even have a welcome basket full of goodies upon your arrival! I loved the whole Lisbon experience and would do it again and again.
No hesitation in choosing Casa Santana! Go for it. Cheers!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Awesome location
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We enjoyed having you, and would love to welcome you back again, if you ever happened to be in Lisbon. Best regards, Austin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Reviewed January 10, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed having you stay with us, and would love to see you again. Best regards, Austin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing